2017, Sat, Sep 16

Unsmooth, Broken Flow of Travels

With Yazid Anani, Boris Buden, Zeynep Çelik and Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani

Many clues are left along the railway tracks: they can be found in Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express of 1934; Raymond William’s Border Country of 1960; the British miners’ strike of 1926; the German archaeological excavations carried out in the Ottoman Empire; and Chinese investment interests in Pakistan. These clues are crucial for uncovering new details about the accumulation of capital and its intrinsic links to colonialism, nationalism, and global imperialism.


Boris Buden
From Orient to Archaeology: A Railway through Time
lecture

The life and work of a writer can map a vast territory. Such is the case with Agatha Christie, who made the so-called Orient Express famous. Not only as a fictional crime scene, but also as a metaphor for cultural space, it was the subject of an exhibition and a book titled Agatha Christie und der Orient (1999). The English title, though, reads differently: Agatha Christie and Archeology (2001). This slight shift in meaning has far-reaching consequences. As Johannes Fabian and Edward Said noted, Europe does not like to share time with its “Other.” Travelling to the East meant travelling to the past, fully in accordance with the interests of capitalist exploitation. But what do European travel itineraries and cultural production follow today in the “age of commemoration” when Europe prefers to see itself in the past? Does it mean that contemporary capitalism is closer to the past more than ever before?

Zeynep Çelik
Railways and the Politics of Archaeology
lecture

Museology and archaeology occupied a privileged place among the wide-ranging Ottoman reforms that took place from the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War, intertwining cultural policies with political, ideological, administrative, economic, and technological initiatives. Within this broad framework, the link between antiquities and railway construction in the Eastern Mediterranean provinces of the empire will be examined from several perspectives, among them legal restrictions, specifications in railway concessions given to foreign companies, growing control over European archaeologists by locals (including construction workers), implications for the transportation of antiquities, and facilitation of travel, hence enhancement of tourism.


Yazid Anani
an imaginary train ride, 1926
lecture performance

An imaginary train journey on the Hijaz Railway across the landscape of Palestine in 1926: the journey unpacks travel narratives that describe the changing landscape seen through the windows, and presents conversations between several passengers who get on and off the train at different stations. These travel narratives reveal intimate stories of precious objects carried by travelers, transcribing testimonies on the social and political landscape. An imaginary train ride as a way of looking at the future renders an anachronistic trajectory between multiple histories and mythologies against the current confinement of Palestinian geography.


Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani
Afterlives of Imperial Formations
lecture performance

Because of the emerging China–Pakistan Economic Corridor, which is reviving the Karachi railways, Pakistan is witnessing the resurgence of the colonial railway infrastructure in the present time. This presentation offers two forms of engagement with the topic: one is an attempt to read and understand these imperial formations; the other is the resistance and refusal of it. The first is the symbolic attacks on the railway carried out by separatists in Sindh and Balochistan, following a long tradition of nationalist resistance to the colonial infrastructure. The second is the repurposing of the ruins of the railway into public spaces by the communities living around them. The relationship of these will be explored within the context of both a history of colonial-era violence on the railway as well as the contemporary moment of resurgence in the infrastructure—creating a new wave of displacements, occupation, and environmental degradation.

Part of After the Wildly Improbable, curated by Adania Shibli

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 16. September 2017

Unsanft gebrochener Fluss des Reisens

Mit Yazid Anani, Boris Buden, Zeynep Çelik und Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani

Entlang der Gleise sind die unterschiedlichsten Spuren zu entdecken: Sie finden sich in Agatha Christies Mord im Orient-Express von 1934, Raymond Williams Border Country von 1960, im englischen Bergarbeiterstreik von 1926, in deutschen archäologischen Ausgrabungen im Osmanischen Reich und chinesischen Investitionen in Pakistan. Solche Hinweise helfen, Details über die Akkumulation von Kapital neu zu entschlüsseln und über dessen Verbindung zu Kolonialismus, Nationalismus und globalem Imperialismus.


Boris Buden
From Orient to Archaeology: A Railway through Time
Vortrag

Leben und Werk einer Schriftstellerin können ein unermessliches Territorium abdecken: So bei Agatha Christie, die dem Orient-Express zur großer Popularität verhalf. Nicht nur als Tatort eines fiktiven Verbrechens, sondern auch als Metapher für einen Kulturraum, wurde er zum Thema einer Ausstellung und eines Buches: Agatha Christie und der Orient (1999). Der englische Titel lautet allerdings etwas anders: Agatha Christie and Archeology (2001). Die unscheinbare Bedeutungsverschiebung hat weitreichende Konsequenzen. Laut Johannes Fabian und Edward Said verortet sich Europa nur ungern in derselben Zeit wie sein „Anderes“. Gen Osten ziehen war immer eine Reise in die Vergangenheit, im Einklang mit den Interessen kapitalistischer Ausbeutung. Doch welcher Idee folgen Reiserouten und Kulturproduktion heute, im „Zeitalter des Gedenkens“, in dem sich Europa gern im eigenen Gestern spiegelt? Ist der moderne Kapitalismus näher an die Vergangenheit gerückt als je zuvor?


Zeynep Çelik
Railways and Politics of Archaeology
Vortrag

Museologie und Archäologie nahmen in den weitreichenden Reformen des Osmanischen Reiches ab der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg eine privilegierte Stellung ein. Sie verbanden Kulturpolitik mit politischen, ideologischen, administrativen, ökonomischen und technologischen Initiativen. In diesem Kontext soll die Verbindung zwischen Antiquitäten und dem Eisenbahnbau in den Provinzen des östlichen Mittelmeerraumes aus unterschiedlicher Perspektive näher betrachtet werden. Dabei gilt ein genauerer Blick den rechtlichen Bedingungen und Spezifikationen in den Konzessionen an ausländische Unternehmen sowie der zunehmenden Kontrolle, die vor Ort, unter anderem von den Bauarbeitern der Bahn selbst, über die Archäologen ausgeübt wurde. Erörtert werden weiterhin die Konsequenzen für den Transport der Antiquitäten und die Förderung des Reisens und damit des Tourismus.


Yazid Anani
an imaginary train ride, 1926
Lecture Performance

Eine imaginäre Reise mit der Hedjaz-Bahn durch das Palästina des Jahres 1926, erzählt mit dem Blick aus dem Fenster auf die vorüberziehende, sich verändernde Landschaft. Die Gespräche zwischen den Passagier*innen, die an verschiedenen Bahnhöfen zu- und aussteigen, ihre vertraulichen Geschichten über wertvolle Gegenstände, die sie bei sich tragen, werden zu Zeugnissen der gesellschaftlichen und politischen Landschaft. Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Beschränkung der palästinensischen Geografie ist an imaginary train ride eine Einladung zu einer anachronistischen Tour durch vielfältige Historien und Mythologien: eine fiktive Zugfahrt als Möglichkeit, in die Zukunft zu schauen.


Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani
Afterlives of Imperial Formations
Lecture Performance

Mit der Entstehung des chinesisch-pakistanischen Wirtschaftskorridors und der damit einhergehenden Wiederbelebung der Karachi-Bahn kehrt Pakistan zum kolonialen Eisenbahnsystem zurück. Zwei Formen der Auseinandersetzung mit dieser Entwicklung sind denkbar: Die eine versucht, diese imperialistischen Strukturen zu lesen und zu durchdringen, die andere besteht in Ablehnung und Widerstand. Die erste Form manifestiert sich in der Umwidmung der Ruinen der alten Bahn, die von den Gemeinden heute als öffentlicher Raum genutzt werden. Beispiel für die zweite Form sind die symbolischen Angriffe auf die Bahn, die Separatist*innen in Sindh und Balutschistan verübten – in der Tradition des nationalistischen Widerstands gegen die Infrastruktur der Kolonialherren. Ihr Verhältnis zueinander soll im historischen Kontext der Anschläge auf die Bahn in der Kolonialzeit und in der aktuellen Wiederherstellung der Infrastruktur diskutiert werden – die ihrerseits eine neue Welle von Verdrängung, Besetzung und Umweltschäden mit sich bringt.

Teil von After the Wildly Improbable kuratiert von Adania Shibli