2016, Thu, Apr 14

The Scenario Mode

The Scenario Mode | © Nina Jäger 2016

The Scenario Mode | © Nina Jäger 2016

The scenario has become a mode of knowledge of the first order. Thinking and navigating in socio-technical scenarios—scenarios of the technosphere—has long been an indispensable means to hypothesize upon, imagine and eventually design, the (deep) future.

In fact, “running in scenario mode” seems to be the way in which contemporary existence, through the vision of this exploratory practice and tool, exemplifies learning and researching in and on the Anthropocene itself. This evening deals with the trans-methodical arrangement of scenario building and analysis and its specific formatting through institutional and media-basedinfrastructures. It examines the question of how intelligibility is arranged, trimmed, and codified so that stable scenarios may emerge, temporarily, to provide raw data for empirical voids. What, then, is the architecture, efficacy and viability of this form of knowledge that treats the unknown as a known? And to what extent does scenario science promote the formation and strengthening of the technosphere itself, perpetuating existing technical and mental infrastructures?

With Peter Galison, Sander van der Leeuw, Claire Pentecost and Sebastian Vehlken

7 pm
Sebastian Vehlken: The Alternative Futures Approach —Modelling the Unthinkable

Scenario techniques are mediators of crises. This holds true for historical examples like the Thinking About the Unthinkable (H.Kahn) of atomic warfare or the Limits to Growth (D. Meadows et al), as well as for contemporary discussions about climate change. Scenarios generate “hypotheticalnarratives dealing with the causation, initiation, course and termination of future crises” (B. Bruce-Biggs). Central to such ‘synthetic histories’ (C. Pias) is their specific Eigenzeit, a course open for all sorts of “bizarre actions” (H. Kahn) which links the “broad present” (H.-U. Gumbrecht) to a plurality of possible futures. Instead of proposing a right way into a better future, scenario techniques heighten the awareness for the contingencies, the bifurcations, and the precipices lurking ‘on the way’. My presentation will pick out five historicalscenes which are exemplary for this mode of futurological exploration—down to computer simulations, the ubiquitous ‘scenario-media’ of today.

7.30 pm
Containment
Directors: Peter Galison & Robb Moss, Japan/USA 2015, 81 min, English version.
With an introduction by Peter Galison

Left over from the Cold War are a hundred million gallons of radioactive sludge, coveringvast radioactive lands. Governments around the world have begun imagining society 10,000 years from now in order to create monuments that will speak across the time. Part observational essay filmed in weapons plants, Fukushima, and deep underground—and part graphic novel— Containment weaves between an uneasy present and an imaginative, troubled far future.

9.15 pm
Running in scenario mode: On the sustainability of scenario modelling
Discussion with Peter Galison, Sander van der Leeuw and Claire Pentecost, moderated by Sebastian Vehlken

What is the current status of scenario analysis and what does this highly codified mode of knowledge production import for creating sustainable futures? As a tool to investigate long-term dynamics of the human-environment relationship, scenario modeling is central to get from speculation to foresighted steering. But as a decision-making framework with its own mediatic data basis and socio-technical quantification strategies, does scenario science also perpetuate existing conditions and trends? Does it promote self-fulfilling propheciesof a self-maintaining technosphere? As a sustainability science what, then, is the sustainability of the scenario mode itself?

Do, 14. April 2016

The Scenario Mode

The Scenario Mode | © Nina Jäger 2016

The Scenario Mode | © Nina Jäger 2016

Das Szenario ist zu einem Wissensmodus ersten Ranges geworden. In soziotechnischen Szenarien – Szenarien der Technosphäre – zu denken und zu navigieren, ist längst ein unverzichtbares Mittel geworden, um Hypothesen über die (ferne) Zukunft anzustellen, dieselbe zu imaginieren und zu entwerfen.

Tatsächlich scheint der Lauf „im Szenario-Modus“ ein bestimmender Typus zeitgenössischen Daseins zu sein: als explorierende Praxis und Werkzeug ist er beispielhaft für die Art und Weise des Lernens und Forschens im und am Anthropozän. Dieser Abend widmet sich dem trans-methodischen Arrangement der Szenarienbildung und –analyse sowie ihrer spezifischen Formatierung durch institutionelle und medienbasierte Infrastrukturen. Wie wird Nichtwissen angeordnet, getrimmt und kodifiziert, so dass stabile Szenarien entstehen können, die – zumindest eine Zeit lang – Rohdaten für empirische Leerstellen zur Verfügung stellen? Was ist die Architektur, Wirksamkeit und Lebensfähigkeit dieser Wissensform, die das Unbekannte als Bekanntes behandelt? Und bis zu welchem Grad befördert die Szenarienwissenschaft die Formierung und Stärkung der Technosphäre selbst, indem sie existierende technische und mentale Infrastrukturen aufrechterhält und befördert?

Mit Peter Galison, Sander van der Leeuw, Claire Pentecost, Sebastian Vehlken

19h
Sebastian Vehlken: The Alternative Futures Approach – Modelling the Unthinkable

Szenarientechniken sind Medien der Krise. Dies gilt für den Atomkrieg oder die Grenzen des Wachstums (D. Meadows et al) ebenso wie für heutige Kontexte wie den Klimawandel. Sie entwerfen „hypothetische Narrative für die Initiation, den Ablauf und die Beendigung zukünftiger Krisen“ (B. Bruce-Biggs). Als simulierte Erzählungen mit einer Eigenzeit, in der alle möglichen „bizarren Handlungen“ (H. Kahn) eintreten können, verschalten sie die „breite Gegenwart“ (H.-U. Gumbrecht) mit einer Pluralität möglicher Zukünfte. Nicht die Prognostik für den richtigen Weg in eine bessere Zukunft steht im Mittelpunkt, sondern die Sensibilisierung für die Kontingenz, Verzweigungen und Abgründe auf solchen Wegen. Vehlkens Vortrag skizziert anhand von fünf exemplarischen Szenen die Geschichte dieser futurologischen Explorationstechnik – bis hin zu Computersimulationen, den heute allgegenwärtigen Szenario-Medien schlechthin.

19.30 h
Containment
Regie: Peter Galison, Robb Moss. Japan/USA 2015, 81 min, englische Originalfassung.
Mit einer Einführung von Peter Galison

Als ein Überbleibsel des Kalten Krieges bedeckt radioaktiver Schlamm riesige Flächen verseuchten Landes. Regierungen weltweit haben begonnen, eine Gesellschaft in 10.000 Jahren zu imaginieren, um Monumente schaffen zu können, die über solche Zeiträume hinweg ihre Aussagekraft bewahren. Teils beobachtendes Essay mit Aufnahmen aus Waffenfabriken, in Fukushima und tief im Untergrund, teils Graphic Novel, verbindet Containment eine Gegenwart des Unbehagens mit der Voraussicht auf eine ungewisse ferne Zukunft.

21.15 h
Im Szenario-Modus: Über die Nachhaltigkeit von Szenarienmodellen
Gespräch mit Peter Galison, Sander van der Leeuw und Claire Pentecost, moderiert von Sebastian Vehlken

Was ist der aktuelle Status der Szenarienanalyse und worin liegt die Bedeutung dieser hochkodifizierten Form der Wissensproduktion für die Schaffung nachhaltiger Zukünfte? Als Werkzeug zur Erforschung von Langzeit-Dynamiken der Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen ist das Modellieren von Szenarien zentral, um von der Spekulation zur vorausschauenden Steuerung zu gelangen. Aber verstetigt die Szenarienwissenschaft in ihrer entscheidungsmächtigen Rahmensetzung – mit ihrer eigenen medientechnischen Datengrundlage und ihren soziotechnischen Quantifizierungsstrategien – nicht bereits bestehende Verhältnisse und Trends? Befördert sie letztlich self-fulfilling prophecies einer sich selbsterhaltenden Technosphäre? Ist die Szenarienwissenschaft als Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaft selbst nachhaltig?