2016, Fri, Apr 08

Opening | Prompters of the Subtext

With Bernd Scherer (HKW), Christina Weiss (Schering Stifung), Marcel Beyer (curator, writer)

Prompters of the Subtext

Workshop discussion with Hans-Jörg Rheinberger and Hanns Zischler

In 1969 two students from Berlin set out to translate De la grammatologie from the French philosopher Jacques Derrida, still virtually unknown in Germany—a joint undertaking which to this day has left its mark throughout the humanities.

After 45 years, the historian of science and molecular biologist Hans-Jörg Rheinberger and the writer and actor Hanns Zischler re-examine their translation of Derrida’s Grammatology — “Because our German has improved.”

The writer and curator Marcel Beyer lives in Dresden. He writes poetry, novels, essays and libretti. In 2008 he was a guest of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin, in 2015 a fellow of the research group Bild Evidenzat the Freie Universität Berlin. In 2016 he held the Frankfurt poetry lectures at Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. He most recently published the volume of poems Graphit (2014) and the essay compilation Sie nannten es Sprache (2016).

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger is a molecular biologist and science historian. He studied philosophy, linguistics and biology in Tübingen and Berlin. He is an honorary professor for science history at the TU Berlin, Dr. h.c. at the ETH Zürich, a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of the Sciences and the Leopoldina and is a former director of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin. His current focus is on the history and topicality of experimentation as a way of life and the relationships between the arts and sciences.

Hanns Zischler works as a writer, actor, photographer and translator. He holds no degrees, but merely listened and attempted to make use of the stimuli he received at his own discretion. He has acted in films for cinema and television since 1967. His writings include the essay Kafka geht ins Kino (1996), Nase für Neuigkeiten – Vermischte Nachrichten von James Joyce (with Sara Danius) and the short story Das Mädchen mit den Orangenpapieren (2014). In 2009 he received the Heinrich Mann Prize from the Berlin Academy of Arts. He has held photography exhibitions in Cologne, Berlin, Munich and Chaumont-sur-Loire. In 2006 he founded the publishing company Alpheus Verlag.

Fr, 08. April 2016

Eröffnung | Souffleure des Subtexts

Mit Bernd Scherer (HKW), Christina Weiss (Schering Stifung), Marcel Beyer (Kurator, Schriftsteller)

Souffleure des Subtexts

Werkstattgespräch mit Hans-Jörg Rheinberger und Hanns Zischler

1969 machen sich zwei Berliner Studenten daran, De la Grammatologie des hierzulande noch kaum bekannten französischen Philosophen Jacques Derrida zu übersetzen – eine Gemeinschaftsarbeit, die bis heute überall in den Geisteswissenschaften ihre Spuren hinterlässt.

Nach 45 Jahren nehmen der Wissenschaftshistoriker und Molekularbiologe Hans-Jörg Rheinberger und der Schriftsteller und Schauspieler Hanns Zischler ihre Übersetzung der Grammatologie erneut in Augenschein – „Weil unser Deutsch besser geworden ist.“

Der Schriftsteller und Kurator Marcel Beyer lebt in Dresden. Er schreibt Gedichte, Romane, Essays, Libretti. 2008 war er Gast am Max Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Berlin, 2015 Fellow der Kolleg-Forschergruppe Bild Evidenz an der Freien Universität Berlin. 2016 hielt er die Frankfurter Poetik-Vorlesungen an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. Zuletzt erschienen der Gedichtband Graphit (2014) und die Essaysammlung Sie nannten es Sprache (2016).

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger ist Molekularbiologe und Wissenschaftshistoriker. Er studierte Philosophie, Linguistik und Biologie in Tübingen und Berlin. Er ist Honorarprofessor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der TU Berlin, Dr. h.c. der ETH Zürich, Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften sowie der Leopoldina und ehemaliger Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Berlin. Seine gegenwärtigen Interessensschwerpunkte sind die Geschichte und die Aktualität des Experiments als Lebensform und die Beziehungen zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften.

Hanns Zischler arbeitet als Schriftsteller, Schauspieler, Fotograf und Übersetzer. Er hat kein Studium absolviert, sondern lediglich gehört und die dabei empfangenen Impulse nach eigenem Gutdünken für sich zu nutzen versucht. Seit 1967 wirkt er in Kino- und Fernsehfilmen als Darsteller mit. Geschrieben hat er u. a. den Essay Kafka geht ins Kino (1996), Nase für Neuigkeiten – Vermischte Nachrichten von James Joyce (mit Sara Danius) und die Erzählung Das Mädchen mit den Orangenpapieren (2014). 2009 erhielt er den Heinrich-Mann-Preis der Berliner Akademie der Künste. Er hatte Fotoausstellungen in Köln, Berlin, München und Chaumontsur-Loire. 2006 gründete er den Alpheus Verlag.