2015, Sun, Oct 04

Tatort: Schlachtfeld. Readings and discussions about the First World War

With Burghart Klaußner, Ulrich Matthes, Jörn Leonhard, Rüdiger Kruse MdB, and Jan Ehlert

Crime Scene: Battlefield | Ulrich Matthes & Burghart Klaußner | Ulrich Matthes: Photo private, Burghart Klaußner: © Max Parovsky

Crime Scene: Battlefield | Ulrich Matthes & Burghart Klaußner | Ulrich Matthes: Photo private, Burghart Klaußner: © Max Parovsky

A fascination with violence, destruction as a motor for renewal, border crossings and despair at the senselessness of war. Texts from poets, artists and intellectuals, from war opponents and war enthusiasts, from followers and doubters of the years 1914–1918. The kick off for a series of readings and discussions, developed by Sonja Valentin, curator, Hamburg.

World War I in literature: In 18 nation-wide events, actors like Ulrich Matthes, Burghart Klaußner, Ulrich Tukur, Oliver Mommsen, Elisabeth Brück, Barbara Auer, Sophie Rois and Nicole Heesters lend their voices to writers and intellectuals from 1914 to 1918, those against the war and enthusiastic supporters, silent supporters, and doubters. With the start of 100 Years of Now, Ulrich Matthes and Burghart Klaußner read from journals, letters, and novels of European and non-European writers, and link positions of the time to current debates. Following the reading, a panel with Freiburg historian Jörn Leonhard will deepen our engagement with a war that occupied more artists and writers than almost any other, and today, against the backdrop of current developments, encourages us to look at questions of political and civilian responsibility in new ways.

Burghart Klaußner, actor, Hamburg, Ulrich Matthes, actor, Berlin, followed by a discussion with Jörn Leonhard, historian, Freiburg, Rüdiger Kruse MdB, Hamburg

Moderator: Jan Ehlert, NDR Kultur, Hamburg


Biographies

Jan Ehlert studied journalism and media sciences at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. He has worked for Norddeutsche Rundfunk since 2007, focusing on literature and society. He produced a number of programs last year for the radio station NDR Kultur to commemorate the First World War. He can also be heard regularly as the host of the program Klassik à la Carte. He received the media award of the Kinderhospizstiftung (children’s hospice foundation) for his journalism in 2012.

As an actor, Burghart Klaußner has worked for nearly every major German-speaking theater. Most recently he received the 2012 German Theater Award DER FAUST for his portrayal in Death of a Salesman. He is also well known for his work in many films such as Good Bye, Lenin!, The Reader, Requiem, The Edukators and The White Ribbon. In 2005 and 2010 he was named Best Actor at the German Film Awards. He plays the lead role in the current film The People vs. Fritz Bauer. In addition to his work as an actor, since 2006 Burghart Klaußner has directed plays at the Hamburg Kammerspiele, the theaters in Bochum, Dresden and others. His productions include Thomas Bernhard’s Der Ignorant und der Wahnsinnige with Otto Sander and Yasmina Reza’s God of Carnage (German premier). His own play Marigold premiered in January 2009.

Rüdiger Kruse MdB (CDU) has been a member of the German Bundestag since 2009, prior to which he served as a member of the Hamburg Parliament for eight years. Since 1989 Kruse has held the office of Hamburg director of the nature conservation society Schutzgemeinschaft Deutscher Wald. In 2015 he was made parliamentary group representative for the maritime economy. As rapporteur for culture and media on the German Bundestag’s Budget Committee he has successfully campaigned for an increase in the annual culture budget in parliamentary consultations. Rüdiger Kruse was instrumental in launching the project 100 years of Now.

Ulrich Matthes has been a member of the ensemble of the Deutsches Theater since 2004. He has received a number of awards including the 2004 Gertrud Eysoldt Ring for outstanding acting performances and the Theatre Prize Berlin by Preußische Seehandlung Foundation. In 2005 and 2008 he was chosen Actor of the Year by the journal Theater heute, in 2008 he received the German Theater Award DER FAUST for his title role in Jürgen Gosch’s production of Uncle Vanya. He was awarded the Grimme Prize and a Golden Camera as best national actor for his role in the television crime thriller Tatort: Im Schmerz geboren. He has been the director of the Performing Arts Section of the Berlin Academy of Arts since 2012.

Jörn Leonhard holds the chair for western European history at the Albert-Ludwig-Universität Freiburg since 2006, before he was director of the School of History at Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies(FRIAS) and visiting fellow at the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University. Since 2002, he has been a fellow of the Royal Historical Society London and since 2015 a member of the Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften. Among his most important publications is Die Büchse der Pandora. Geschichte des Ersten Weltkriegs, Munich 2014.

Sonja Valentin studied journalism and German and English language and literature in Hamburg and London. Following her studies she participated in a number of theatre and film projects, amongst others with Karin Beier, Peter Zadek and István Szabó. After way stations at the Goethe-Institut in London and the Vienna Burgtheater she worked as an artistic director at theatres in Hamburg, London and Berlin. In October her book “Steine in Hitlers Fenster“ - Thomas Manns Radiosendungen “Deutsche Hörer!“ 1940-1945 (“Stones in Hitler’s Window” – Thomas Mann’s radio broadcasts “German Listeners!” 1940-1945) will be published.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

So, 04. Oktober 2015

Tatort: Schlachtfeld. Lesungen und Gespräche zum Ersten Weltkrieg

Mit Burghart Klaußner, Ulrich Matthes, Jörn Leonhard, Rüdiger Kruse MdB und Jan Ehlert

Tatort: Schlachtfeld | Ulrich Matthes & Burghart Klaußner | Ulrich Matthes: Foto privat, Burghart Klaußner: © Max Parovsky

Tatort: Schlachtfeld | Ulrich Matthes & Burghart Klaußner | Ulrich Matthes: Foto privat, Burghart Klaußner: © Max Parovsky

Gewaltfaszination, Zerstörung als Motor für Erneuerung, Grenzüberschreitungen und die Verzweiflung an der Sinnlosigkeit des Krieges: Texte von Dichter*innen, Künstler*innen und Intellektuellen, von Kriegsgegnern und Kriegsbegeisterten, von Mitläufern und Zweifelnden aus den Jahren 1914 – 18. Auftakt der Lese- und Diskussionsreihe, entwickelt von Sonja Valentin, Kuratorin, Hamburg.

Der Erste Weltkrieg in literarischen Zeugnissen: In 18 bundesweiten Veranstaltungen geben Schauspieler*innen wie Ulrich Matthes, Burghart Klaußner, Ulrich Tukur, Oliver Mommsen, Elisabeth Brück, Barbara Auer, Sophie Rois und Nicole Heesters Dichterinnen und Intellektuellen, Kriegsgegnerinnen und Kriegsbegeisterten, Mitgerissenen und Zweifelnden aus den Jahren 1914 bis 1918 ihre Stimme. Beim Auftakt zu 100 Jahre Gegenwart lesen Ulrich Matthes und Burghart Klaußner aus Tagebüchern, Briefen und Romanen europäischer und außereuropäischer Autor*innen und setzen damalige Positionen in Bezug zu aktuellen Debatten. Ein Expertengespräch mit dem Freiburger Historiker Jörn Leonhard im Anschluss an die Lesung vertieft die Auseinandersetzung mit einem Krieg, der wie kaum ein anderer Künstler*innen und Literat*innen seiner Zeit beschäftigt hat und der – vor dem Hintergrund gegenwärtiger Entwicklungen – dazu auffordert, Fragen nach politischer und ziviler Verantwortung neu zu stellen.

Burghart Klaußner, Schauspieler, Hamburg, Ulrich Matthes, Schauspieler, Berlin, anschließende Diskussionsrunde mit Jörn Leonhard, Historiker, Freiburg, Rüdiger Kruse MdB, Hamburg

Moderator: Jan Ehlert, NDR Kultur, Hamburg

Biografien

Jan Ehlert studierte Publizistik und Medienwissenschaften an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Seit 2007 arbeitet er für den Norddeutschen Rundfunk, mit dem Schwerpunkt Literatur und Gesellschaft. Für den Radiosender NDR Kultur hat er im vergangenen Jahr mehrere Sendungen zur Erinnerung an den Ersten Weltkrieg produziert. Außerdem ist er regelmäßig als Moderator in der Sendung „Klassik à la Carte“ zu hören. Für seine journalistische Arbeit wurde er 2012 mit dem Medienpreis der Kinderhospizstiftung ausgezeichnet.

Burghart Klaußner war als Schauspieler an nahezu allen bedeutenden deutschsprachigen Bühnen engagiert. Zuletzt erhielt er für seine Darstellung in Tod eines Handlungsreisenden 2012 den Deutschen Theaterpreis DER FAUST. Dazu ist er durch zahlreiche Filmarbeiten bekannt, wie u. a. Good Bye, Lenin!, Der Vorleser, Requiem, Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei und Das weiße Band. 2005 und 2010 bekam er den Deutschen Filmpreis als Bester Schauspieler. Zurzeit ist der Film Der Staat gegen Fritz Bauer mit ihm in der Hauptrolle zu sehen. Zusätzlich zu seiner Arbeit als Schauspieler führt Burghart Klaußner seit 2006 Regie, u.a. an den Hamburger Kammerspielen und an den Theatern in Bochum und Dresden. Zu seinen Inszenierungen gehören Thomas Bernhards Der Ignorant und der Wahnsinnige mit Otto Sander oder Yasmina Rezas Der Gott des Gemetzels (deutsche Erstaufführung). Im Januar 2009 feierte sein selbst verfasstes Stück Marigold Premiere.

Rüdiger Kruse MdB (CDU) ist seit 2009 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestags, war zuvor acht Jahre lang Mitglied der Hamburgischen Bürgerschaft und ist seit 1989 Geschäftsführer der Schutzgemeinschaft Deutscher Wald in Hamburg. Seit 2015 ist er Beauftragter seiner Fraktion für die maritime Wirtschaft. Als Berichterstatter für Kultur und Medien im Haushaltsausschuss des Deutschen Bundestages engagiert er sich jedes Jahr erfolgreich in den parlamentarischen Beratungen für die Erhöhung des Kulturetats. Das Projekt 100 Jahre Gegenwart wurde dank seines Engagements ermöglicht.

Ulrich Matthes ist seit 2004 Ensemblemitglied am Deutschen Theater. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter 2004 den Gertrud-Eysoldt-Ring für herausragende schauspielerische Leistungen sowie den Theaterpreis Berlin der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung. 2005 und 2008 wurde er in der Zeitschrift Theater heute zum Schauspieler des Jahres gewählt, 2008 erhielt er den Deutschen Theaterpreis DER FAUST für die Rolle des Wanja in Jürgen Goschs Inszenierung Onkel Wanja. Für seine Rolle im Tatort Im Schmerz geboren wurde er mit dem Grimme Preis und als bester Schauspieler national mit einer Goldenen Kamera ausgezeichnet. Seit 2012 ist er Direktor der Sektion Darstellende Kunst der Akademie der Künste, Berlin.

Jörn Leonhard ist seit 2006 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Westeuropäische Geschichte an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, war zuvor Direktor der School of History am Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) und Visiting Fellow am Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University. Seit 2002 ist er Fellow der Royal Historical Society London und seit 2015 ordentliches Mitglied der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften. Zu seinen wichtigsten Publikationen gehört Die Büchse der Pandora. Geschichte des Ersten Weltkriegs, München 2014.

Sonja Valentin studierte Germanistik, Anglistik und Journalistik in Hamburg und London. Nach dem Studium folgten diverse Theater- und Filmprojekte, u.a. mit Karin Beier, Peter Zadek und István Szabó. Nach Stationen am Goethe-Institut in London und am Wiener Burgtheater arbeitet sie als Dramaturgin an Theatern in Hamburg, London und Berlin. Im Oktober erscheint ihr Buch „Steine in Hitlers Fenster“ - Thomas Manns Radiosendungen „Deutsche Hörer!“ 1940-1945.