2015, Sun, Oct 04

The Hour We Knew Nothing of Each Other – An Observation of Time

With Björn Meyer and Marina Galic

Peter Handke: Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten | Thalia Theater, Hamburg | Photo: Armin Smailovic

Peter Handke: Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten | Thalia Theater, Hamburg | Photo: Armin Smailovic

Snapshots of Europe in the present and its historical constitution: absurd, comic and poetic encounters.

A theatre experiment: With their collected interviews, video recordings, text fragments and personal impressions of Peter Handke’s “Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten,“ performed at the Thalia Theater in May 2015, the young directors Giacomo Veronesi und Johanna Witt describe their attempt to reconstruct an event, the fleeting character of Europe and myth formation. In 1991 Peter Handke employed his poetic observations of a European market square as the basis for a stage play which completely dispenses with dialogue. 24 years later the directors Tiit Ojasoo and Ene-Liis Semper re-interpreted this play, bringing it to the stage in Hamburg with a 46-person ensemble of actors, dancers and musicians. Out of this project a performance for the Haus der Kulturen der Welt has been created with two actors from the Hamburg cast, Marina Galic and Björn Meyer, which explores the border between art, reality and subjective perceptions through the ages, throwing new light on 100 Years of Now.

Theater performance by Giacomo Veronesi and Johanna Witt, Thalia Theater, Hamburg, based on Tiit Ojasoo’s and Ene-Liis Semper’s production of the theater play of the same name by Peter Handke. Dramaturgy: Sandra Küpper, text version: Christian Winkler, stage design: Nursel Kilinc and Imke Ludwig. Featuring Björn Meyer, Marina Galic, actors, Hamburg

A coproduction of Haus der Kulturen der Welt with Thalia Theater Hamburg as part of 100 Years of Now


Biographies

Marina Galic attended the Otto Falckenberg School in Munich between 1994 and 1998. Since then, she worked at the Schauspielhaus in Zürich, performed under Thomas Ostermeier in the Baracke of the Deutsche Theater in Berlin and followed him to the Schaubühne in 1999. Between 2002 and 2009 she worked at the Bayerische Staatsschauspiel in Munich. In 2004 she received the advancement award for young actors from the Verein der Freunde and in 2006 the Bavarian art advancement award. She has been a regular member of the ensemble at Thalia Theater since the 2009-2010 season where she plays Solveig in Peer Gynt (director: Jan Bosse), Brünnhilde in the Ring after Wagner and Hebbel (director: Antú Romero Nunes) and in Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten by Peter Handke (director: Tiit Ojasoo/Ene-Liis Semper).

Sandra Küpper studied drama, journalism and German at the universities of Leipzig and Vienna as well as dramaturgy in Hamburg. While still a student she worked with directors Roger Vontobel, Christine Eder, Hanna Rudolph and Friederike Czeloth. Between 2006 and 2009 she was the dramaturge under artistic director Anna Badora at the Schauspielhaus Graz where she also works regularly with Tom Kühnel and Suse Wächter. She has been the dramaturge at Thalia Theater since the 2009-2010 season and works here chiefly with the directors Antú Romero Nunes, Kornél Mundruczó and the director team of Tiit Ojasoo and Ene-Liis Semper.

Björn Meyer studied at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg and performed in many student projects at Thalia Theater, St. Pauli Theater and Kampnagel. He was in a number of works in collaboration with the director Johannes Ender, such as Das Duell, Der Schimmelreiter and KarlMaySelf. Björn Meyer also acts often in film and television productions. He has been a regular guest at Thalia Theater for some time, acting in the Thalia soap Rennbahn der Leidenschaft by Christian Winkler, in Die Wilde 13 by Olivia Wenzel (director: Jan Gehler), Bei den wilden Kerlen (director: Christina Rast) and in Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten by Peter Handke (director: Tiit Ojasoo/Ene-Liis Semper).

Giacomo Veronesi studied economics in Havana, Hong Kong and Milan, where he was trained as a director at the Paolo Grassi Academy. He realized freelance projects outside of conventional theaters and took part in residency programs in Italy and Switzerland. Together with Anatoly Vasiliev he acted in France and Poland in a four-year project about the plays and novels of Noble prizewinner Luigi Pirandello with more than 100 international artists. He has been assistant director at Thalia Theater since the 2014-2015 season.

Christian Winkler studied German in Graz, cultural management at Goldsmiths College in London and dramatic writing at uniT. In 2007 he received the Retzhofer literature award and in 2012 the literature scholarship from the City of Graz. He was then invited to the Werkstatttagen am Burgtheater, to the hotINK festival in New York and to Text trifft Regie at the Staatstheater Mainz. He received an award from the Berlin Schaubühne for his play In den Arkaden in 2010. In 2012, his Räuberzelle got the critics’ prize for best radio play. He has created a number of theatre projects together with Franz von Strolchen, such as Stammtisch – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 1 (2014), Maidorf – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 2 (2016) and Fictional State – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 3 (2015). His 13-part series Rennbahn der Leidenschaft ran at Thalia Theater in Hamburg in 2013.

Johanna Witt studied Communication and Cultural Management at Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen. While at university she organized the seekult students’ arts festival and also produced her own theater project. After internships at Thalia Theater under Jan Bosse and Leander Haußmann, she has been an assistant director at Thalia Theater since the 2014-2015 season. She produced the Thalia soap Rennbahn der Leidenschaft #3.2 at the Gauß Garage and organized readings for the Kulturlandschaften series.

So, 04. Oktober 2015

Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten – Eine Beobachtung der Zeit

Mit Björn Meyer und Marina Galic

Peter Handke: Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten | Thalia Theater, Hamburg | Foto: Armin Smailovic

Peter Handke: Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten | Thalia Theater, Hamburg | Foto: Armin Smailovic

Momentaufnahmen des Europas der Gegenwart und seiner historischen Verfasstheit: absurde, komische und poetische Begegnungen.

Die performative Installation Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten – Eine Beobachtung der Zeit basiert auf Peter Handkes gleichnamigem Theaterstück. Die Regisseur*innen Giacomo Veronesi und Johanna Witt befragen damit das Europa der Gegenwart und seine historische Verfasstheit. In absurden, komischen und poetischen Begegnungen zweier Schauspieler*innen entstehen Momentaufnahmen, die Umbrüche markieren und Vergangenes, Gegenwärtiges und Zukünftiges miteinander verweben. Auf diese Weise entfaltet sich nicht nur ein Pastiche, das den kontinuierlichen Wandel und die Flüchtigkeit der europäischen Realität in den Blick nimmt. Es ist zugleich eine Performance, die die Wahrnehmung für die Endlichkeit der Dinge schärft und Techniken der Zeit mit den Zuschauern erprobt.

Theaterperformance von Giacomo Veronesi und Johanna Witt, Thalia Theater, Hamburg, nach Tiit Ojasoos und Ene-Liis Sempers Inszenierung des gleichnamigen Theaterstücks von Peter Handke. Dramaturgie: Sandra Küpper, Textfassung: Christian Winkler, Ausstattung: Nursel Kilinc und Imke Ludwig. Mit Björn Meyer, Marina Galic, Schauspieler*innen, Hamburg

Eine Koproduktion vom Haus der Kulturen der Welt im Rahmen des Projekts 100 Jahre Gegenwart mit dem Thalia Theater Hamburg.


Biografien

Marina Galic besuchte von 1994 bis 1998 die Otto-Falckenberg-Schule in München. Seither war sie am Schauspielhaus in Zürich engagiert, spielte bei Thomas Ostermeier in der Baracke des Deutschen Theaters in Berlin und folgte ihm 1999 an die Schaubühne. Von 2002 bis 2009 war sie am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel in München engagiert. 2004 erhielt sie den Förderpreis des Vereins der Freunde für Nachwuchsschauspieler, 2006 den Bayrischen Kunstförderpreis. Seit der Spielzeit 2009/2010 ist sie festes Ensemblemitglied am Thalia Theater und spielt u.a. Solveig in Peer Gynt (Regie: Jan Bosse), Brünnhilde im Ring nach Wagner und Hebbel (Regie: Antú Romero Nunes) und in Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten von Peter Handke (Regie: Tiit Ojasoo/Ene-Liis Semper).

Sandra Küpper studierte Theaterwissenschaften, Journalistik und Germanistik an der Universität Leipzig und Wien sowie Dramaturgie in Hamburg. Noch zu Studienzeiten arbeitet sie u. a. mit den Regisseuren Roger Vontobel, Christine Eder, Hanna Rudolph und Friederike Czeloth. Von 2006 bis 2009 war sie unter der Intendantin Anna Badora feste Dramaturgin am Schauspielhaus Graz. Dort arbeitet sie außerdem regelmäßig mit Tom Kühnel und Suse Wächter. Seit der Spielzeit 2009/2010 ist sie feste Dramaturgin am Thalia Theater und arbeitet hier vor allem mit den Regisseuren Antú Romero Nunes, Kornél Mundruczó und dem Regieteam Tiit Ojasoo/Ene-Liis Semper.

Björn Meyer studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg und war bereits in mehreren Studienprojekten am Thalia Theater, St. Pauli Theater und auf Kampnagel zu sehen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Johannes Ender entstanden zahlreiche Arbeiten, u.a. Das Duell, Der Schimmelreiter und KarlMaySelf. Außerdem spielt Björn Meyer auch immer wieder in Film- und Fernsehproduktionen. Am Thalia Theater ist er inzwischen regelmäßiger Gast und u.a. in der Thalia Soap Rennbahn der Leidenschaft von Christian Winkler, in Die Wilde 13 von Olivia Wenzel (Regie: Jan Gehler), Bei den wilden Kerlen (Regie: Christina Rast) und in Die Stunde da wir nichts voneinander wußten von Peter Handke (Regie: Tiit Ojasoo/Ene-Liis Semper) zu sehen.

Giacomo Veronesi studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Havanna, Hongkong und Mailand. Dort folgte an der Paolo Grassi Academy seine Regieausbildung. Er realisierte freie Projekte außerhalb konventioneller Theaterschauplätze und nahm an Residency Programmen in Italien und der Schweiz teil. Zusammen mit Anatolj Vasiliev arbeitete er als Schauspieler in Frankreich und Polen an einem vierjährigen Projekt mit mehr als 100 internationalen Künstlern zu den Stücken und Novellen des Nobelpreisträgers Luigi Pirandello. Seit der Spielzeit 2014/15 ist er fest als Regieassistent am Thalia Theater engagiert.

Christian Winkler studierte Germanistik in Graz und Kulturmanagement in London am Goldsmiths College, sowie Szenisches Schreiben bei uniT. 2007 erhielt er den Retzhofer Literaturpreis, 2012 das Literaturstipendium der Stadt Graz. Es folgten Einladungen zu den Werkstatttagen am Burgtheater, zum hotINK-Festival New York und zu „Text trifft Regie“ am Staatstheater Mainz. Für das Stück In den Arkaden erhielt er 2010 den Stückepreis der Berliner Schaubühne, für Räuberzelle den Kritikerpreis für das beste Hörspiel 2012. Verschiedene Theaterprojekte entstehen, gemeinsam mit Franz von Strolchen, u.a. STAMMTISCH – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 1 (2014), MAIDORF – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 2 (2016) und FICTIONAL STATE – Trilogie des Zusammenlebens Vol. 3 (2015). Ab 2013 ist die 13teilige Serie Rennbahn der Leidenschaft am Thalia Theater in Hamburg zu sehen.

Johanna Witt studierte Communication and Cultural Management an der Zeppelin Universität in Friedrichshafen. Während ihres Studiums organisiert sie u.a. das studentische Kulturfestival „seekult“ und realisiert in diesem Rahmen ein eigenes Theaterprojekt. Nach Hospitanzen am Thalia Theater bei Jan Bosse und Leander Haußmann ist sie seit der Spielzeit 2014/15 feste Regieassistentin am Thalia Theater. Sie inszeniert in der Gauß Garage die Thaliasoap Rennbahn der Leidenschaft #3.2 und organisierte Lesungen der Reihe „Kulturlandschaften“.