2015, Sat, Oct 03

The Next War

With Judith Raum and Marina Gržinić

Can the present be conceived of as a pre-war period? Or has the “next war” already begun? What must the European understanding of history clear away in order to look the present squarely in the face? Where are the new imperial rivalries and collective projections heading?

Europe, Racialization, Coloniality: The Problem of the Present for Future Scenarios

Marina Gržinić

Marina Gržinić will talk about a trajectory of Europe that develops in a process of steady and brutal racializations under the “invisible” hand of the Western canon. This is today clearly envisioned by the refugee situation in Europe. But already in 1915, nine months after the beginning of WWI (sometimes called “The war to end all wars”) W.E.B. Du Bois wrote his article “The African Roots of War”. In it he tells clearly about links between racism, war and empire that lead to WWI. As early as in 1915, DuBois and other readers of his text (for example, Howard Winant) had interpreted the First World War as a race war. From there is a direct link to a present Europe of racialization and coloniality. As Fanon stated some decades later in 1961 in his book “The Wretched of the Earth”: “Europe is literally the creation of the Third World. The riches which are choking it are those plundered from the underdeveloped peoples […] And when the head of a European nation declares with hand on heart that he must come to the aid of the unfortunate peoples of the underdeveloped world, we do not tremble with gratitude.” Or as stated by Ann Laura Stoler at issue here “is neither stubborn ignorance nor sudden knowledge… on the contrary, it reflects on the conceptual processes, academic conventions, and affective practices that both elicit and elude recognition of how colonial histories matter!” in present Europe and EU and for future scenarios.

am of the opinion strike is useful (2015)

Judith Raum with Susanne Sachsse

In her artistic research, Judith Raum has explored the German influence on the economy and culture of the Ottoman Empire in the years before World War I, looking especially for narratives of alternative economies and local resistance against rationalization and modernization. In 1888, Deutsche Bank, just recently founded, was awarded the concession to build the Anatolian Railway and later the Baghdad Railway, evoking a whole series of colonial and capitalist phantasies. In a new lecture performance, Judith Raum explores the habitus of various figures in the Anatolian Railway strike of 1908. With sculptural acts and in dialogue with the actress Susanne Sachsse, she reacts to historical photographs, drawings, and letters and in so doing creates a labyrinthine network of links between aesthetic, social, economic, and colonial history. The gestures and the rhetoric of power, as they appear in the Anatolian Railway project, become an expression of a defeasible economic principle that did not end with the colonial era, but continues today.


Biographies

Marina Gržinić is a philosopher, artist and theoretician. She is a researcher at the FI SRC SASA (Research Center of the Slovenian Academy of Science and Arts) Ljubljana and professor at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. She has published ten books (monographs and translations), both at home and abroad. In 2014, in collaboration with Šefik Tatlić, she co-authored a book Necropolitics, Racialization and Global Capitalism: Historicization of Biopolitics and Forensics of Politics, Art, and Life (2014).

Judith Raum lives and works in Berlin. After studying art in Frankfurt and New York, she completed her masters in philosophy, art history, and psychoanalysis at Universität Frankfurt with honors. Her work seeks out the symbiosis of artistic and scientific formats of knowledge, and includes performance lectures, artistic works based on detailed research, and aesthetic engagements with philosophical issues. The works of the current Villa Romana fellow have been shown in solo shows at SALT Beyoğlu, Istanbul (2015) and at Heidelberger Kunstverein (2014). Her recent book Eser was published by Archive Books in 2015.

Susanne Sachsse is an actor and director. In the 1990s she was a member of the Berliner Ensemble where she worked with Heiner Müller, Robert Wilson and Einar Schleef. In 2001 she co-founded the CHEAP artists’ collective, with which she developed performances for the HAU/Berlin, the Steirischer Herbst festival and the Donaufestival. Since then Sachsse has worked in a variety of performance, film and art contexts, for example with Yael Bartana, Bruce LaBruce, Phil Collins, Keren Cytter, Vaginal Davis, Katya Sander and Vegard Vinge. In 2014 she played the lead role in LaBruce’s award-winning film adaptation of Schönberg’s Pierrot Lunaire. Sachsse’s first video work Serious Ladies (2013) was initially presented as an installation at KW Berlin and then shown by galleries and at a number of international film festivals. She is currently working on her first feature film entitled Original Sin.

Sa, 03. Oktober 2015

Der kommende Krieg

Mit Judith Raum und Marina Gržinić

Ist das Heute als Vorkriegszeit zu denken? Oder hat der „kommende Krieg“ längst begonnen? Womit muss europäisches Geschichtsverständnis aufräumen, um der Gegenwart ins Gesicht zu blicken? Wohin führen neue imperiale Rivalitäten und Kollektivprojektionen?

Europe, Racialization, Coloniality: The Problem of the Present for Future Scenarios

Marina Gržinić, Philosophin, Künstlerin, Theoretikerin, Ljubljana, Wien

Marina Gržinić spricht über einen Kurs von Europa, der sich in einem Prozess ständiger und brutaler Ethnisierungen unter der „unsichtbaren“ Hand des westlichen Kanons entwickelt. Dies wird heute durch die Situation der Geflüchteten in Europa in besonderer Klarheit vergegenwärtigt. Bereits 1915, neun Monate nach Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs (manchmal als „Krieg, der alle Kriege beendet“ bezeichnet,) schrieb W.E.B. Du Bois seinen Aufsatz The African Roots of War. Dort beschreibt er präzise die Verbindungen zwischen Rassismus, Krieg und Imperium, die zum Ersten Weltkrieg führten. Schon 1915 interpretierten Du Bois und Leser*innen seines Textes (später beispielsweise Howard Winant) den Ersten Weltkrieg als einen Rassenkrieg. Von dort gibt es eine direkte Verbindung zum gegenwärtigen Europa der Ethnisierung und Kolonialität. Wie Frantz Fanon einige Jahrzehnte später in seinem 1961 erschienen Buch Die Verdammten dieser Erde schreibt: „Europa ist buchstäblich die Schöpfung der Dritten Welt. Die Reichtümer, die es würgen, sind diejenigen, die von den unterentwickelten Völkern geplündert wurden [...] Und wenn das Oberhaupt eines europäischen Staates mit der Hand auf dem Herzen erklärt, dass er den unglücklichen Völkern der unterentwickelten Welt zu Hilfe kommen müsse, dann zittern wir nicht vor Dankbarkeit.“ Oder, wie es Ann Laura Stoler ausdrückt: Es geht hier „weder um stures Unwissen noch um plötzliches Wissen ... reflektiert werden hier vielmehr die konzeptuellen Prozesse, akademischen Konventionen und affektiven Praktiken, die sowohl verbergen als auch aufdecken, weshalb koloniale Geschichte bedeutsam ist!“ – im gegenwärtigen Europa und der EU und auch für zukünftige Szenarien.

am of the opinion strike is useful (2015)

Judith Raum, Künstlerin, Berlin, mit Susanne Sachsse

Judith Raum hat in einer künstlerischen Recherche die deutsche Einflussnahme auf die Wirtschaft und Kultur des Osmanischen Reiches in den Jahren vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg untersucht und dabei besonders nach Erzählungen von alternativen Ökonomien und lokalem Widerstand gegen Rationalisierung und Modernisierung gesucht. 1888 erhielt die damals noch junge Deutsche Bank die Konzession zum Bau der Anatolischen Eisenbahn und später der Bagdadbahn, was eine Reihe von kolonialen und kapitalistischen Phantasien auf den Plan rief. In einer neuen Lecture Performance folgt Judith Raum dem Habitus unterschiedlicher Akteure im Streik der Arbeiter der Anatolischen Bahn von 1908. Mit skulpturalen Handlungen und im Dialog mit der Schauspielerin Susanne Sachsse reagiert sie auf historische Fotografien, Zeichnungen und Korrespondenzen und lässt so ein labyrinthisches Netz von Zusammenhängen zwischen Ästhetik, Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Kolonialgeschichte entstehen. Die Gesten und die Rhetorik der Macht, wie sie im Anatolischen Bahnprojekt aufscheinen, werden zum Ausdruck eines – angreifbaren – wirtschaftlichen Prinzips, das nicht mit der Kolonialzeit geendet hat, sondern bis heute andauert.


Biografien

Marina Gržinić ist Philosophin, Künstlerin und Theoretikerin. Sie forscht am FI SRC SASA (Forschungszentrum der Slowenischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste) in Ljubljana und ist Professorin an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien. Sie hat in Slowenien und im Ausland insgesamt zehn Bücher (Monografien und Übersetzungen) veröffentlicht und gemeinsam mit Šefik Tatlić das Buch Necropolitics, Racialization and Global Capitalism: Historicization of Biopolitics and Forensics of Politics, Art, and Life (2014) verfasst.

Judith Raum lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Nach ihrem Kunststudium in Frankfurt am Main und New York schloss sie 2006 ihren Magister der Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte und Psychoanalyse an der Universität Frankfurt mit Auszeichnung ab. Ihre Arbeit sucht die Symbiose aus künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen (Erkenntnis-)Formaten, umfasst Performance Lectures, künstlerische Arbeiten, die auf detaillierter Recherche basieren, und ästhetische Auseinandersetzungen mit philosophischen Fragestellungen. Die Werke der aktuellen Villa-Romana-Stipendiatin wurden u. a. in Einzelausstellungen im SALT Beyoğlu, Istanbul (2015) und im Heidelberger Kunstverein (2014) gezeigt. Ihre Publikation eser ist 2015 bei Archive Books erschienen.

Susanne Sachsse ist Schauspielerin und Regisseurin. In den '90er Jahren war sie u.a. Mitglied des Berliner Ensembles, wo sie mit Heiner Müller, Robert Wilson und Einar Schleef gearbeitet hat. 2001 co-gründete sie das Künstlerkollektiv CHEAP, mit dem sie u.a. Performances für das HAU/Berlin, den Steirischen Herbst und das Donau Festival entwickelt hat. Seitdem arbeitet Sachsse in verschiedenen Performance, Film- und Kunstkontexten u.a. mit Yael Bartana, Bruce LaBruce, Phil Collins, Keren Cytter, Vaginal Davis, Katya Sander und Vegard Vinge. 2014 spielte sie die Hauptrolle in LaBruces preisgekrönter Verfilmung von Schönbergs Pierrot Lunaire. Sachsses erste Video Arbeit Serious Ladies (2013) ist zuerst als Installation in den KW Berlin ausgestellt worden, und wurde danach in Galerien und auf mehreren internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an Ihrem ersten Feature-Film Original Sin.