2015, Sat, Oct 03

Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier | Vincent: Krieg und Gegenwart

F.S.K., Trümmer

Trümmer | From left to right: Tammo Kasper (bass guitar), Paul Pötsch (vocals, guitar), Helge Hasselberg (guitar), Max Fenski (drums) | © Constant Formé-Bècherat

Trümmer | From left to right: Tammo Kasper (bass guitar), Paul Pötsch (vocals, guitar), Helge Hasselberg (guitar), Max Fenski (drums) | © Constant Formé-Bècherat

F.S.K. pays homage to the futurist Luigi Russolo and his “art of noise,” which integrated the noise of industrial cities and the new war machines of the First World War. In their contemporary punk rock opera, the post-punk band Trümmer pursues the path of a young man in the armed conflicts of the present.

Vincent: War and the Present (premiere)

Vincent is in his mid 20s and lives in Berlin. He drifts between parties, drugs and gallery openings, everything appears to be in motion. However, he is standing still. In their punk rock opera Vincent, Trümmer follow the story of someone who went out into the world and never came back. Someone who got caught up in a conflict that no longer has any fronts, where existence and (non)belief are placed in question. The live performance of a concept album with ten newly composed songs on the seductive power of radical ideologies in a present without utopias.

Music and text: Trümmer
Vocals & guitar: Paul Pötsch
Bass guitar: Tammo Kasper
Guitar & synthesizer: Helge Hasselberg
Drums: Maximilian Fenski
Stage: Ariane Litmeyer & Anna-Lena Völker

Trümmer – liberatingly showy, intoxicating, euphemistic Rock and Roll is the starting point and musical vernacular of the formation Trümmer, established in 2012. Instantly recognisable thanks to the voice of front man Paul Pötsch and the direct and rebellious lyrics, Trümmer perform electrically amplified music with its roots in punk, sharing the euphoria of the moment with the audience. The band, now grown to a quartet, has played at festivals such as Melt!, Dockville, Haldern Pop and Deichbrand, as support for national and international stars such as Dinosaur Jr., Casper, The 1975, and completed its first German tour as headline band. Their debut album Trümmer was released in August 2014 on PIAS Germany. This was followed by countless interviews, awards (Hamburg Music Award, German Record Critics’ Award) and a nomination for the ECHO Critics’ Award.

F.S.K. | From left to right: Carl Oesterhelt, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Justin Hoffmann, Wilfried Petzi | © Johannes Haslinger

F.S.K. | From left to right: Carl Oesterhelt, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Justin Hoffmann, Wilfried Petzi | © Johannes Haslinger

Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier

F.S.K. (Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle) is an art school band from Munich that formed in 1980 in the editorial office of the underground magazine Mode & Verzweiflung and issued disturbing slogans of a new dissidence like: Wir sagen Ja zur modernen Welt (we say yes to the modern world) and Heute Disco, morgen Umsturz, übermorgen Landpartie (disco today, coup tomorrow, a country outing the day after). The Italian Futurists’ idea to flood Venice was joyfully appealing to them so they made the serious demand to convert theaters into parking garages (Theater zu Parkhäusern). The futuristic development of so-called noisemakers (a productive modification of the sounds of industrialized cities as well as the completely new war machines of World War I) carried a key moment of deviant pop music into its emerging discourse: clipping, distortion, Bring the Noise.

The hedonistic partisanship of the band F.S.K. particularly affected its eclectic zigzags (from post punk to rhythm & blues, country & western to techno soul) and morphed into yet another new, postmodern shape in the 1980s in England (where John Peel was a prominent promoter of F.S.K.) and in the 1990s in the US, where their music faced the transatlantic feedback of the songs of American occupying forces. Back in Germany their music took on more abstract forms that were described as Cubist with the latest album Akt, eine Treppe hinabsteigend (nude descending a staircase): aesthetic lines that move from Luigi Russolo and Iannis Xenakis, Sun Ra and Larry Heard to the glitches of the latest bass music. In the traditional lineup of a rock and roll band, today F.S.K. musically executes all of these threads.

The band still consists of the four founding members Justin Hoffmann, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián and Wilfried Petzi. Carl Oesterhelt joined them in 1991.

Their piece Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier (a pile of crap and a shattered piano) developed for Haus der Kulturen der Welt explores productive axes between destruction and deconstruction (paying tribute to Luigi Russolo).

Sa 21.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr…

Sa, 03. Oktober 2015

Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier | Vincent: Krieg und Gegenwart

F.S.K., Trümmer

Trümmer | V.l.n.r: Tammo Kasper (Bass), Paul Pötsch (Gesang, Gitarre), Helge Hasselberg (Gitarre), Max Fenski (Schlagzeug) | © Constant Formé-Bècherat

Trümmer | V.l.n.r: Tammo Kasper (Bass), Paul Pötsch (Gesang, Gitarre), Helge Hasselberg (Gitarre), Max Fenski (Schlagzeug) | © Constant Formé-Bècherat

F.S.K. huldigen dem Futuristen Luigi Russolo und seiner „Kunst der Geräusche“, die die Klänge der industrialisierten Großstädte, aber auch der neuartigen Kriegsmaschinen des Ersten Weltkriegs aufgriff. Die Post-Punk-Band Trümmer folgt in ihrer zeitgenössischen Punkrockoper den Irrfahrten eines jungen Mannes entlang der bewaffneten Konflikte der Gegenwart.

Vincent: Krieg und Gegenwart (Uraufführung)

Vincent ist Mitte 20 und lebt in Berlin. Zwischen Parties, Drogen und Galerieeröffnungen lässt er sich treiben, alles scheint in Bewegung. Und doch steht er still. In ihrer Punkrockoper Vincent verfolgen Trümmer die Geschichte von Einem, der auszog in die Welt und nicht mehr zurückkam. Einem, der in die Mühlräder eines Konflikts gerät, der keine Fronten mehr kennt. Wo Existenz und (Nicht-)Glaube in Frage gestellt werden. Ein live aufgeführtes Konzeptalbum mit zehn neukomponierten Stücken über die Verführungskraft radikaler Ideologien in einer utopielosen Gegenwart.

Musik und Text: Trümmer
Gesang & Gitarre: Paul Pötsch
Bassgitarre: Tammo Kasper
Gitarre & Synthesizer: Helge Hasselberg
Schlagzeug: Maximilian Fenski
Bühne: Ariane Litmeyer & Anna-Lena Völker

Trümmer - Befreit aufspielender, mitreißender, euphemistischer Rock’n’Roll ist Ausgangspunkt und musikalische Umgangssprache der 2012 gegründeten Formation Trümmer. Immer wiedererkennbar durch die Stimme von Frontmann Paul Pötsch und die direkten und aufbegehrenden Texte. Hier wird elektrisch verstärkte, von Punk grundierte Musik gespielt, um mit dem Publikum eine Euphorie des Augenblicks zu teilen. Die mittlerweile zum Quartett gewachsene Band spielte auf Festivals wie Melt!, Dockville, Haldern Pop und Deichbrand, als Support für nationale und internationale Größen wie Dinosaur Jr., Casper, The 1975 und die erste Headlinertour durch Deutschland. Ihr Debütalbum „Trümmer“ erschien im August 2014 bei PIAS Germany. Es folgten zahllose Interviews, Auszeichnungen (Hamburger Musikpreis, Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik) und die Nominierung für den ECHO Kritikerpreis.

F.S.K. | V.l.n.r: Carl Oesterhelt, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Justin Hoffmann, Wilfried Petzi | © Johannes Haslinger

F.S.K. | V.l.n.r: Carl Oesterhelt, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Justin Hoffmann, Wilfried Petzi | © Johannes Haslinger

Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier

F.S.K. (Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle) ist eine Art School Band aus München, die 1980 in der Redaktion des Underground Magazins Mode & Verzweiflung zusammenkam und verstörende Losungen einer neuen Dissidenz ausgab wie: Wir sagen Ja zur modernen Welt, oder: Heute Disco, morgen Umsturz, übermorgen Landpartie. Die Idee der italienischen Futuristen, Venedig zu fluten, fand bei ihnen fröhlichen Anklang. Und also erhoben sie die seriöse Forderung, Theater zu Parkhäusern umzuwandeln. Die futuristische Entwicklung sogenannter Lärmtöner (in produktiver Abwandlung der Geräusche der industrialisierten Großstädte, aber auch der völlig neuartigen Kriegsmaschinen des Ersten Weltkriegs) trug ein zentrales Moment der abweichenden Popmusik in deren aufkommenden Diskurs: die Übersteuerung, die Verzerrung, Bring the Noise.

Das hedonistische Partisanentum der Band F.S.K. wirkte sich besonders in ihrem eklektischen Hakenschlagen aus (Postpunk to Rhythm & Blues, Country & Western to Techno Soul) und fand in den 1980er Jahren in England ... sowie in den 1990ern in den USA, wo ihre Musik im transatlantischen Feedback der G.I. Songs US-amerikanischer Besatzungssoldaten stand, zu einer abermals neuen, postmodernen Fasson.

Zurück in Deutschland, nahm ihre Musik abstraktere Formen an, die sich mit dem aktuellen Album Akt, eine Treppe hinabsteigend, als kubistisch bezeichnen ließen: Ästhetische Linien, die über Luigi Russolo und Iannis Xenakis, Sun Ra und Larry Heard zu den Glitches aktueller Bass Music führen. In der klassischen Besetzung einer Rock and Roll Band setzen F.S.K. heute all diese Threads musikalisch um.

Die Band besteht nach wie vor aus den vier Gründungsmitgliedern Justin Hoffmann, Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián und Wilfried Petzi, Carl Oesterhelt kam 1991 dazu.

Ihr für das Haus der Kulturen der Welt entwickeltes Stück Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier lotet dabei (in einer Hommage an Luigi Russolo) produktive Scharniere zwischen Destruktion und Dekonstruktion aus.