Was für ein Wunder

James Noël | Rike Bolte

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Music: ‚Dreamers Wake' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Was für ein Wunder | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Was für ein Wunder | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comment

Every word of Was für ein Wunder (What a Miracle) insists on poetry, love and self-assertion. The shock of the earthquake that destroyed Haiti’s capital Port-au-Prince in 2010 and killed up to 500,000 people is followed by more: a disastrous economy, media battles, cholera. James Noël has written of a battle of human against earth, population against aid organizations and strives in every line to counter the disasters and their news coverage with his own voice. It is thanks to Rike Bolte’s thoughtful translation, which knows its limits and possibilities, that Noël’s linguistically powerful, yet seemingly light-footed struggle, his precise, tireless indictment, also appears empowering and lastingly impressive in German.
— Heike Geißler, jury

James Noël | © Francesco Gattoni

James Noël | © Francesco Gattoni

Author: James Noël

James Noël became famous overnight with his Creole poem Bon nouvèl and is now one of Haiti’s most important contemporary poets. In January 2018 he wrote a well-received open letter to Donald Trump who had described several nations, including Haiti, as “shithole countries.” That same year, a selection of his poems was published in a German/French edition under the title Die größte der Raubkatzen / Le plus grand des félins. Was für ein Wunder (Belle merveille) is his first novel.

Rike Bolte | © Carlos Capella

Rike Bolte | © Carlos Capella

Translator: Rike Bolte

Rike Bolte holds a doctorate in literature and teaches Latin American, Spanish and Francophone literatures and cultures. She is co-founder and curator of the Latinale poetry festival and translator of poetry and prose from Spanish and French. Among others, Nora Gomringer, Lucía Puenzo and Lina Meruane have been translated by her.

Was für ein Wunder

James Noël | Rike Bolte

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Musik: ‚Dreamers Wake' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Was für ein Wunder | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Was für ein Wunder | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

Was für ein Wunder zeigt sich in jedem Wort als Insistieren auf Poesie, Liebe und Selbstbehauptung. Auf die Erschütterung des Erdbebens, das Haitis Hauptstadt Port-au-Prince 2010 zerstörte und bis zu 500.000 Todesopfer forderte, folgen andere: Katastrophenökonomie, Medienschlacht, Cholera. James Noël hat einen Battle von Mensch gegen Erde, Bevölkerung gegen Hilfsorganisationen geschrieben und legt es in jeder Zeile darauf an, den Katastrophen und der Berichterstattung darüber die eigene Stimme entgegenzusetzen. Rike Boltes umsichtiger, um Grenzen und Möglichkeiten wissender Übersetzung ist es zu verdanken, dass Noëls sprachgewaltiges und zugleich leichtfüßig anmutendes Ringen, seine präzise, unermüdliche Anklageschrift auch in deutscher Sprache empowernd und nachhaltig beeindruckend auftritt.
— Heike Geißler, Jury

James Noël | © Francesco Gattoni

James Noël | © Francesco Gattoni

Autor: James Noël

James Noël wurde durch das kreolische Gedicht Bon nouvèl praktisch über Nacht berühmt und gehört heute zu den wichtigsten haitianischen Gegenwartslyrikern. Im Januar 2018 schrieb er einen viel beachteten offenen Brief an Donald Trump, nachdem dieser mehrere Länder, darunter Haiti, als „shithole countries“ bezeichnet hatte. Im selben Jahr erschien unter dem Titel Die größte der Raubkatzen / Le plus grand des félins eine Auswahl seiner Gedichte in einer zweisprachigen Ausgabe. Was für ein Wunder ist sein erster Roman.

Rike Bolte | © Carlos Capella

Rike Bolte | © Carlos Capella

Übersetzerin: Rike Bolte

Rike Bolte ist promovierte Literaturwissenschaftlerin und lehrt lateinamerikanische, spanische und frankophone Literaturen und Kulturen. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Kuratorin des Poesiefestivals Latinale sowie Übersetzerin von Lyrik und Prosa aus dem Spanischen und Französischen. Von ihr übertragen wurden unter anderem Nora Gomringer, Lucía Puenzo und Lina Meruane.