The 2020 Shortlist

Most of the books on the shortlist of the Internationaler Literaturpreis this year have conciliatory, hopeful, and even enthusiastic titles: Was für ein Wunder (What a Miracle), Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber (The Circle of Literature Lovers), Glückliche Fälle (Fortunate Fallings), Die Sanftmütigen (The Meek), Geile Deko (Gaudy Bauble). Even if not all of the falls in Yevgenia Belorusets’s Fortunate Fallings are so very fortunate, and if not all of the characters in Angel Igov’s The Meek are necessarily forgiving, they all have one thing in common with Chigozie Obioma’s Das Weinen der Vögel (An Orchestra of Minorities): They show us the world as a big realm of opportunity where not everything can be reduced to reproduction numbers. Regardless of the language they’re written in they testify to the world’s immense diversity of voices because thanks to the respective translator, each of the six books has its own tone and very own linguistic form. Whether about victor’s justice in 1944 Bulgaria, the great earthquake in Haiti or a love in Nigeria, what connects the six books is their narrative quality, the very specific way that they grasp their objects. Be it through a collective first-person plural narrator, be it in relation to classic Persian poetry or in the dialog with accompanying photographs.

At a time when the importance of solidarity has become so obvious, whether interpersonal or global, it was important to the jury to not highlight just one of the titles, but to conceive of the entire shortlist as a constellation of six outstanding books and to divide the prize money among them all. This year, therefore, the Internationaler Literaturpreis is a kind of chamber choir encompassing four continents: Africa, Asia, Europe and North America.

Looking at the present and looking at the past, our six books tell about how people deal with conflicts, how they grow and fail because of them, how they bring them about and are overwhelmed by them. The way they do so is sometimes quiet, sometimes comical, sometimes weird and sometimes loud, but above all they do so in a way that is as shattering as it is illuminating. What a miracle, how fortunate. — The Jury

The jury about the Shortlist 2020


Video: Caro & Kaspar | Music: ‚Hidden' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd.

Die Shortlist 2020

Was für ein Wunder, Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber, Glückliche Fälle, Die Sanftmütigen oder Geile Deko: Die meisten Bücher, die in diesem Jahr auf der Shortlist des Internationalen Literaturpreises stehen, tragen versöhnliche, hoffnungsvolle und sogar enthusiastische Titel. Wenn sich auch in Yevgenia Belorusets Glückliche Fälle nicht alle Fälle als so glücklich erweisen, und wenn in Angel Igovs Die Sanftmütigen nicht unbedingt jeder Nachsicht walten lässt, so haben sie alle doch mit Chigozie Obiomas Das Weinen der Vögel eines gemein: Sie zeigen uns die Welt als großen Möglichkeitsraum, in dem nicht alles auf Reproduktionszahlen heruntergerechnet werden kann. Sie zeugen von der großen Vielstimmigkeit der Welt, egal in welcher Sprache geschrieben wird, denn jedes der sechs Bücher hat dank der jeweiligen Übersetzerin, dem jeweiligen Übersetzer einen eigenen Ton und eine ganz eigene sprachliche Gestalt. Ob es um die Siegerjustiz in Bulgarien 1944 geht, um das große Erdbeben von Haiti oder eine Liebe in Nigeria: Was die sechs ausgezeichneten Bücher miteinander verbindet, ist ihre erzählerische Qualität, die jeweils sehr spezifische Art und Weise, wie sie ihre Gegenstände fassen. Sei es durch ein kollektives Erzähler-Wir, sei es in Bezug auf die klassische persische Poesie oder im Dialog mit den Text begleitenden Fotografien.

In einer Zeit, in der so deutlich wird, wie sehr es auf Solidarität ankommt, sei es auf zwischenmenschlicher, sei es auf globaler Ebene, war es der Jury wichtig, anstatt einen der Titel gesondert herauszuheben, die gesamte Shortlist als Konstellation von sechs ausgezeichneten Büchern aufzufassen und das Preisgeld unter allen aufzuteilen. Der Internationale Literaturpreis gilt also in diesem Jahr einer Art Kammerchor, der immerhin vier Kontinente einschließt: Afrika, Asien, Europa und Nordamerika.

Mit Blick auf die Gegenwart und mit Blick in die Geschichte erzählen unsere sechs Bücher davon, wie Menschen mit Konflikten umgehen, wie sie an ihnen wachsen und scheitern, wie sie sie herbeiführen und von ihnen überrollt werden. Das tun sie mal leise, mal komisch, mal schräg und mal laut, aber vor allem tun sie dies so erschütternd wie erhellend. Was für ein Wunder, was für ein glücklicher Fall. — Die Jury

Die Jury zur Shortlist 2020


Video: Caro & Kaspar | Musik: ‚Hidden' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd.