Internationaler Literaturpreis 2020

Prize for Contemporary Literature in Translation
Announcement of the winners on Deutschlandfunk Kultur on June 4

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

What forms does contemporary storytelling take on? The Internationaler Literaturpreis addresses this question for the twelfth time – at a moment when the response to global complexities is often to retreat into national egoisms and narratives of exclusion. The coronavirus pandemic has only reinforced these tendencies. Literature and art have also become venues for political and social conflicts. It seems all the more important to focus on the mediating power of contemporary international literature and its translation.

The coronavirus has brought public life to a standstill, bringing about a new worldwide state of affairs. With the aim to respond sensibly and reasonably to this situation, HKW, Stiftung Elementarteilchen and the jury decided to award the Internationaler Literaturpreis 2020 not to one single book, but to all six shortlisted titles. Instead of two winners, there will be twelve: the six authors and six translators on the shortlist. Amidst this situation of economic insecurity for the creative sector and beyond, the award seeks to honor not one single position, but the work and voices of many.

The prize money will be divided equally among the six authors and six translators. On June 4 at 10.05am, this year’s winners will be announced live on Deutschlandfunk Kultur as part of the program Lesart.

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2020

Preis für übersetzte Gegenwartsliteraturen
Bekanntgabe der Preisträger*innen am 4. Juni auf Deutschlandfunk Kultur

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

© Christian Werner (Los Angeles, 2019)

Zu welchen Formen findet zeitgenössisches Erzählen? Dieser Frage widmet sich der Internationale Literaturpreis zum zwölften Mal. Dies zu einer Zeit, in der auf globale Unübersichtlichkeit nicht selten mit einem Rückzug auf nationale Egoismen und Narrative des Ausschlusses reagiert wird. Die Corona-Pandemie hat diese Tendenzen nur noch verstärkt. Dabei sind auch Literatur und Kunst zu Austragungsorten politischer und gesellschaftlicher Konflikte geworden. Umso wichtiger scheint es, die vermittelnde Kraft internationaler Gegenwartsliteratur und ihrer Übersetzung ins Zentrum zu rücken.

Das Coronavirus lässt das öffentliche Leben stillstehen und schafft weltweit eine neuartige Situation, mit der auch der Internationale Literaturpreis einen sinnvollen Umgang finden will. Das HKW, die Stiftung Elementarteilchen und die Jury haben sich daher entschieden, im Ausnahmejahr 2020 nicht ein einzelnes Buch auszuzeichnen, sondern alle sechs Titel der Shortlist gleichermaßen. Statt zwei Preisträger*innen wird es also zwölf Gewinner*innen geben: die sechs Autor*innen und sechs Übersetzer*innen der Shortlist. Der Preis würdigt in dieser für viele Kulturschaffende prekären Situation somit nicht ein einzelnes Werk, sondern die Arbeit und Stimmen vieler.

Das Preisgeld wird unter den sechs Autor*innen und sechs Übersetzer*innen gleich aufgeteilt. Am 4. Juni um 10.05h werden die Preisträger*innen in der Sendung Lesart auf Deutschlandfunk Kultur live bekanntgegeben und vorgestellt.

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung