Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | Jutta Himmelreich

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Music: ‚Fragment' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comment

This is a book that won’t be fenced in by the boundaries of a “novel”; a book based on the author’s memories, hence semi-autobiographical, but the author shifts the time of his own youth by about 15 years to the 1978 Islamic Revolution, when he himself was in his early twenties. The focus is on literature, mainly classical Persian literature; not its official interpretation, but its subversive currents, its homoerotic, its pornographic parts. In many ways, it is an ambiguous book, which is also reflected in the language Jutta Himmelreich translates into German: at times flowery, at times sarcastic, at times completely austere. It is a coming-of-age story from Tehran, a literary history seminar, a retelling of time-honored tales, a story of historical upheavals and disasters, and all that in a book that, like all of Cheheltan’s books in recent years, will not be published in its original language for some time.
— Verena Lueken, jury

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | © Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | © Cheheltan

Author: Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan studied electrical engineering in England, took part in the Iraq War and published novels and volumes of short stories in Tehran. He lived in Italy with his family for two years due to threats from the regime. His novel Teheran, Revolutionsstraße (Revolution Street) was published in 2009 as an initial worldwide release in German, followed by Teheran, Apokalypse and Teheran, Stadt ohne Himmel. His most recent novel is Der Kalligraph von Isfahan. Cheheltan writes for FAZ, SZ and ZEIT.

Jutta Himmelreich | © privat

Jutta Himmelreich | © privat

Translator: Jutta Himmelreich

Jutta Himmelreich studied Romance languages, American studies and ethnology in Frankfurt, Tucson, Arizona and Paris. She has been working as a translator and interpreter for German, English, French, Spanish and Farsi since 1985.

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | Jutta Himmelreich

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Musik: ‚Fragment' by Rival Consoles, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

Dies ist ein Buch, das sich nicht von den Absteckungen der Zuschreibung „Roman“ beeindrucken lässt. Ein Buch, das auf den Erinnerungen des Autors aufgebaut, also als autobiografisch im weiteren Sinn zu verstehen ist, außer: dass der Autor seine eigene Jugend um 15 Jahre etwa verschoben hat, nämlich in die Zeit der Islamischen Revolution 1978, als er selbst bereits Anfang Zwanzig war. Im Zentrum steht die Literatur, vor allem die klassische persische, aber nicht ihre offizielle Lesart. Sondern ihre subversiven Strömungen, ihre homoerotischen, ihre pornografischen Anteile. Es ist also in mehrfacher Hinsicht ein doppelbödiges Buch, was sich auch in der Sprache spiegelt, die Jutta Himmelreich im Deutschen mal blumig, mal sarkastisch, mal völlig nüchtern übersetzt – eine Coming-of-Age-Story aus Teheran, ein literaturhistorisches Seminar, ein Nachfabulieren althergebrachter Erzählungen, eine Geschichte der historischen Umbrüche und Katastrophen, und das alles in einem Buch, das, wie alle Bücher Cheheltans der vergangenen Jahre, in seiner Originalsprache bis auf Weiteres nicht erscheinen wird.
— Verena Lueken, Jury

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | © Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan | © Cheheltan

Autor: Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan studierte in England Elektrotechnik, nahm am Irakkrieg teil und veröffentlichte in Teheran Romane und Erzählungsbände. Zwei Jahre hielt er sich wegen der Bedrohung durch das Regime mit seiner Familie in Italien auf. Sein Roman Teheran, Revolutionsstraße erschien 2009 als Welt-Erstveröffentlichung auf Deutsch, es folgten Teheran, Apokalypse und Teheran, Stadt ohne Himmel. Zuletzt erschien sein Roman Der Kalligraph von Isfahan. Cheheltan schreibt für FAZ, SZ und die ZEIT.

Jutta Himmelreich | © privat

Jutta Himmelreich | © privat

Übersetzerin: Jutta Himmelreich

Jutta Himmelreich studierte Romanistik, Amerikanistik und Ethnologie in Frankfurt, Tucson, Arizona und Paris. Sie ist seit 1985 als Übersetzerin und Dolmetscherin in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch und Farsi tätig.