Fri, May 24: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More…

Carceri d'Invenzione

Armin Linke in collaboration with Giulia Bruno and Giuseppe Ielasi
2019, Mar 01 — Sep 01 | Milano

United Nations, COP19 Climate Change Conference, Warsaw, Poland, 2013 | © Armin Linke and Giulia Bruno

United Nations, COP19 Climate Change Conference, Warsaw, Poland, 2013 | © Armin Linke and Giulia Bruno

Greenhouse, El Ejido, Spain, 2013 | © Armin Linke

Greenhouse, El Ejido, Spain, 2013 | © Armin Linke

Palm oil plantation, Kecematan Bataian Kabupaten Rokan Hilir (Sumatra) Indonesia, 2016 | © Armin Linke

Palm oil plantation, Kecematan Bataian Kabupaten Rokan Hilir (Sumatra) Indonesia, 2016 | © Armin Linke

Entitled Broken Nature: Design Takes on Human Survival, the XXII Triennale di Milano focuses on the endangered environment. In his photographic and filmic work, Armin Linke examines the human-made structures and designs that have pushed planet Earth to the threshold of climate change and the Anthropocene.

The installation Carceri d’Invenzione borrows its title from the famous etchings by Giovanni Battista Piranesi from 1750, whose architecture fantasies and massive dungeon structures embody manifold contradictions and reflect irrational entanglements. Based on extensive fieldwork, in this collaborative work Armin Linke, Giulia Bruno and Giuseppe Ielasi examine the relationship between resource exploitation and planetary ecosystems, political institutions and scientific infrastructures; and produce a visual analysis of the conflicted spaces of climate change. The five-screen installation, curated by Anselm Franke, is set in a double stairwell that was designed in 1963 by the sculptor Carlo Ramous with architects Carlo Bassi and Goffredo Boschetti. In an engagement with the endangered present and reminiscent of both Piranesi’s visions and the panoramic spectacle of nineteenth-century walk-in globes, Carceri d’Invenzione thus blurs the inside and outside, near and far, visible and invisible.

Armin Linke’s fieldwork began with the Anthropocene Observatory project at HKW, a cooperation with Territorial Agency (John Palmesino and Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) and HKW curator Anselm Franke. HKW has been advancing the debate on the Anthropocene and the human impact on Earth since 2013.

Germany’s contribution to the International Exhibition of the XXII Triennale di Milano

Mar 1–Sep 1, 2019
Milan

Stay up-to-date with our newsletter and receive regular program information. Register here

Carceri d'Invenzione

Armin Linke in Zusammenarbeit mit Giulia Bruno und Giuseppe Ielasi
Fr, 01. März 2019 — So, 01. September 2019

United Nations, COP19 Climate Change Conference, Warsaw, Poland, 2013 | © Armin Linke and Giulia Bruno

United Nations, COP19 Climate Change Conference, Warsaw, Poland, 2013 | © Armin Linke and Giulia Bruno

Greenhouse, El Ejido, Spain, 2013 | © Armin Linke

Greenhouse, El Ejido, Spain, 2013 | © Armin Linke

Palmölplantage, Kecematan Bataian Kabupaten Rokan Hilir (Sumatra) Indonesien, 2016 | © Armin Linke

Palmölplantage, Kecematan Bataian Kabupaten Rokan Hilir (Sumatra) Indonesien, 2016 | © Armin Linke

Unter dem Titel Broken Nature: Design Takes on Human Survival konzentriert sich die XXII. Triennale di Milano auf die bedrohte Umwelt und das Anthropozän. In seinen fotografischen und filmischen Arbeiten untersucht Armin Linke die menschengemachten Strukturen und Designs, welche den Planeten Erde an die Schwelle des Klimawandels und dieses Zeitalters gebracht haben. Sind die Menschen Gefangene der systemischen Imperative von Anhäufung und technologischer Innovation?

Die Installation Carceri d’Invenzione entlehnt ihren Titel den berühmten Radierungen von Giovanni Battista Piranesi aus dem Jahr 1750, deren Architekturen und gewaltige Konstruktionen vielfältige Widersprüche und irrationale Verstrickungen zum Ausdruck bringen. Ausgehend von umfangreichen Feldforschungen untersuchen Armin Linke und seine Mitstreiter*innen Giulia Bruno und Giusepe Ielasi in dieser Arbeit die Zusammenhänge zwischen der Ausbeutung von Rohstoffen, planetarischen Ökosystemen, politischen Institutionen und wissenschaftlichen Infrastrukturen. So entsteht eine visuelle Analyse der Konflikträume des Klimawandels. Präsentiert wird die Fünf-Kanal-Videoinstallation in einem Doppeltreppenhaus, das der Architekt und Bildhauer 1963 mit Carlo Ramous mit Carlo Bassi und Goffredo Boschetti entwarf. Indem es Piranesis Visionen ebenso wie die im 19. Jahrhundert beliebten begehbaren Panoramen aufgreift, lässt Carceri d’Invenzione die Grenzen zwischen innen und außen, nah und fern, sichtbare und unsichtbar verschwimmen – in Auseinandersetzung mit der bedrohten Gegenwart.

Armin Linkes Feldforschungen begannen mit dem Projekt Anthropozän Observatorium am HKW, einer Zusammenarbeit mit Territorial Agency (John Palmesino and Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) und dem HKW-Kurator Anselm Franke. Seit 2013 treibt das HKW die Debatten um das Anthropozän und den menschlichen Einfluss auf die Erde voran.

Der offizielle deutsche Beitrag zur XXII. Triennale di Milano wird gefördert vom Auswärtigen Amt. Für diese Ausstellung wurde das Studio Armin Linke von den Projektpartnern Fundació Sorigué, Lleida, Spanien, Fondazione Matera-Basilicata 2019 und TBA21-Academy unterstützt.

Deutscher Beitrag zur Internationalen Ausstellung der XXII. Triennale di Milano

01.03.–01.09.2019
Mailand

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden und erhalten regelmäßig Informationen zu unserem Programm.
Zur Anmeldung