Seminars

The instructors have collaboratively developed a set of seminar topics relevant to the Anthropocene in an attempt to encourage the integration of cross-disciplinary thinking, mutual learning, and civic commitment in the curricula of universities and research institutions. Arranged around three thematic clusters (Representing, Connecting, Claiming), the nine seminars compose a cross-disciplinary curriculum, presenting a workable and pedagogically feasible design for shared knowledge-building under the Anthropocene auspices.

Neither the seminar topics nor the three thematic clusters strive for a comprehensive “tour d'horizon” of the Anthropocene. Instead, they aim for a kaleidoscopic and resourceful approach that emerges from the glaring necessity to build a knowledge-base simultaneously broad in its disciplinary perspectives as well as out-of-the-box and that helps to readjust the human position within a broader geo-fabric.

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Slow Media

The concept of the Anthropocene demands an extended understanding of presence in terms of a “long now” that comprises several lifetimes and a “big here” that conceives loyality on a planetary scale. The aim of the seminar was to establish a sense of global citizenship and a consciousness of an observer that includes coming generations. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Modeling Wicked Problems

Most Anthropocene concerns are “wicked problems,” complex problems that defy a single answer and may never be solved definitively. In the seminar, transdisciplinary systems models were applied to problems such as climate change or biodiversity loss. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Imaging the Anthropocene

The concept of the Anthropocene as developed by science still remains peculiarly flat and colorless, lacking cultural nuance and historical depth. By exploring the history of images and diagrams of the Earth, the seminar sharpened its perspective on imaginaries of alternative futures in a warmer, less stable, highly utilized world. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Valuing Nature

Economically understood valued nature is turned into resource, with accounting tools from “polluter-pays” principles to “carbon-offset” schemes as common instruments to balance the human-nature relationship. The seminar asked whether we should rely on such evaluation and exchange systems to break even with anthropogenic environmental change. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Disciplinarities

Blurring the distinctions between Earth processes and human history, the Anthropocene incites us to learn new habits and practices of knowledge production. The Seminar experimented with “transcisciplinary,” sometimes even “undisciplinary” combinations of knowledge skills, not to throw out deep disciplinarity, but to better capitalize on it. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Technosphere/ Co-Evolution

For most of Earth`s history, the biosphere has been a continuous, highly active component. The seminar dealt with the emergence of another sphere: the technosphere, a technology-based system that not only affects Earth surface processes but challenges us to think about the material, cognitive, and social dimensions of knowledge. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Geo-Politics

Cases of “environmental violence” – situations where climate change and political or armed conflict get entangled – demand a shift in explanatory models and structures of causation. In this seminar, field causality models and forensic methodologies were used to investigate what should be our political or juridical response to this new understanding of violence. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Anthropogenic Landscapes

Physical events and extreme climate phenomena can be understood in terms of their interaction with different positions in social settings and biophysical landscapes. This seminar examined how anthropogenic experiences like these are filtered through the lens of the Anthropocene by selective processes. more...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Filtering the Anthropocene

Physical events and extreme climate phenomena can be understood in terms of their interaction with different positions in social settings and biophysical landscapes. This seminar examined how anthropogenic experiences like these are filtered through the lens of the Anthropocene by selective processes. more...

Seminare

Die Dozenten hatten in gemeinsamer Arbeit eine Reihe von anthropozänrelevanten Seminarthemen formuliert, um die Einbeziehung von fächerübergreifendem Denken, wechselseitigem Lernen und gesellschaftlichem Engagement in die Lehrpläne von Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen zu fördern. Die insgesamt neun Seminare sind in drei Themenkomplexe (Representing, Connecting und Claiming) untergliedert. Sie ergeben ein interdisziplinäres Curriculum mit funktionierendem und in der Lehre praktisch umsetzbarem Design, das dem gemeinsamen Wissensaufbau im Zeichen des Anthropozäns dient.

Weder die Seminarinhalte, noch die drei Themenkomplexe verstehen sich als umfassende „tours d’horizon“ sämtlicher Aspekte des Anthropozäns. Stattdessen streben sie nach einem kaleidoskopischen Ansatz, der sich aus der dringenden Notwendigkeit ergibt, eine Wissensbasis zu schaffen, die in ihren einzelwissenschaftlichen Sichtweisen breit aufgestellt und frei von Schubladendenken ist. Dieser Ansatz soll helfen, die Stellung des Menschen in einem umfassenderen planetaren Beziehungsgeflecht neu zu bestimmen.

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Slow Media

Der Begriff des Anthropozän erfordert ein erweitertes Verständnis von Gegenwart im Sinne eines “langen Jetzt,” das mehrere Lebensalter umfasst und eines “großen Hier,“ das lokale Situiertheit im globalen Maßstab begreift. Ziel des Seminars war es, ein Verständnis von Weltbürgerschaft und eine beobachtendes Bewusstsein zu entwickeln, das künftige Generationen einbezieht. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Modeling Wicked Problems

Die meisten Belange des Anthropozän sind “wicked problems,” komplexe Probleme, für die es keine Einzellösung gibt und die vielleicht überhaupt nie ganz gelöst werden. Im Seminar wurden transdisziplinäre Systemmodelle auf Probleme wie den Klimawandel oder den Verlust der Artenvielfalt angewandt. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Representing

Imaging the Anthropocene

So, wie ihn die Wissenschaft bisher entwickelt hat, ist unser Begriff vom Anthropozän immer noch merkwürdig flach und farblos. Ihm fehlen die kulturellen Schattierungen und die historische Tiefe. Dieses Seminar erkundet die Geschichte der Bilder und Diagramme und richtet so den Blick auf Vorstellungen anderer Möglichkeiten von Zukunft in einer wärmeren, weniger stabilen, hochgradig nutzbar gemachten Welt. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Valuing Nature

Aus ökonomischer Sicht wird die Natur zu einem Rohstoff und das Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und Natur routinemäßig mit Bilanzinstrumenten wie dem “Verschmutzer zahlt”- Prinzip oder der “CO2-Kompensation” erfasst. Im Seminar wurde der Frage nachgegangen, ob wir uns auf solche Bewertungs- und Tauschsysteme verlassen sollten, um anthropogene Umweltveränderungen auszugleichen. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Disciplinarities

Wo das Anthropozän die Abgrenzung zwischen Erdprozessen und Menschheitsgeschichte verwischt, regt es uns zum Erlernen neuer Gewohnheiten und Praktiken der Wissensproduktion an. Im Seminar wurde mit „transdisziplinären“, bisweilen sogar „nicht-disziplinären“ Kombinationen von Wissens-Fertigkeiten experimentiert – nicht um disziplinäre Gründlichkeit aufzugeben, sondern um sie besser nutzbar zu machen. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Connecting

Technosphere/ Co-Evolution

Während die Biosphäre den größten Teil der Erdgeschichte über eine kontinuierliche, höchst aktive Komponente war, haben wir es nun mit dem Entstehen einer anderen Sphäre zu tun: Der Technosphäre, einem System auf technologischer Grundlage, das nicht nur die Prozesse auf der Erdoberfläche beeinflusst, sondern uns darüber hinaus auffordert, die materiellen, kognitiven und sozialen Dimensionen des Wissens zu überdenken. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Geo-Politics

Fälle von “Umweltgewalt” – Situationen, in denen der Klimawandel mit politischen oder bewaffneten Konflikten verschränkt ist – erfordern eine Veränderung der Erklärungsmodelle. In diesem Seminar wurden Feld-Kausalmodelle und forensische Methoden angewandt um zu untersuchen, mit welchen politischen oder rechtlichen Maßnahmen man diesem neuen Verständnis von Gewalt begegnen kann. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Anthropogenic Landscapes

Lokal und global zugleich, Hintergrund und Vordergrund: Anthropogene Landschaften sind überall auf der Erde als Folge anhaltender und direkter menschlicher Wechselwirkung mit Ökosystemen entstanden. Im Seminar wurden Verfahren der gemeinsamen Erschaffung anthropozäner Landschaften, in denen menschliche und nichtmenschliche Natur gleichermaßen gedeihen können, erkundet. mehr...

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Anthropocene Campus | Illustration: Benedikt Rugar

Cluster Claiming

Filtering the Anthropocene

Katastrophen und extreme Klimaphänomene lassen sich auch hinsichtlich ihrer Wechselwirkungen mit sozialen Verhältnissen und biophysischen Landschaften verstehen. Im Seminar wurde erörtert, wie derartige anthropogene Ereignisse durch das Prisma des Anthropozäns gefiltert werden. mehr...