2013, Thu, Jan 10

Visual Perspectives

Presentations by Harun Farocki (filmmaker and artist Berlin), Gloria Meynen (Lehrstuhl für Medientheorie & Kulturgeschichte, Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen) und smudge studio: Elizabeth Ellsworth (School of Media Studies, New School for Public Engagement, New York) and Jamie Kruse (artist, designer, New York). Moderation: Karin Harrasser (Institut für Medien- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln)

“Visual Perspectives” presents three interrelated positions, each critically approaching the significant role images and visual representations play in our world-forming processes. Harun Farocki shows and discusses his film Parallel (2012), an investigation into the representation of nature within digital animation, documenting reality-effects and the evolutionary history of a “virtual” second nature. Media theorist Gloria Meynen presents her ongoing research on the image-worlds scientific representations are historically based on, examining geometric, cartographic and artistic practices. smudge studio, a collaboration between Elizabeth Ellsworth and Jamie Kruse, contributes with their transdisciplinary approach to encounters between the human and the geologic, sharing a multimedia-based inquiry into sites situated in “deep time,” moments that may provide new perspectives to the complex terrain of contemporary geo-culture.



Harun Farocki (Berlin) is an author, filmmaker, and curator. He studied at the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb) in Berlin, from which he was expelled in 1968 for political reasons. Since 1966 he has created over 100 productions for television and film, and from 1974 until 1984 he was the editor of the influential journal Filmkritik. He has been teaching at vienna’s Akademie der Bildenden Künste from 2006 to 2011.


Karin Harrasser (Cologne) is professor and researcher at the Kunsthochschule für Medien in Cologne, and is working on cultural and scientific history of prosthetics. Other research projects are on gender, media and technology, theories of the subject/theories of the object, and pop culture/science fiction. Karin Harrasser was an artistic and research director for the project “Die Untoten: Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction.”


Gloria Meynen (Berlin/Friedrichshafen) received her PhD with a doctoral thesis on "Office. The invention of the two-dimensional surface.) From 2000 to 2006 she was a researcher at the research group “Image, Sign, Number” at the Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik (Humboldt-Universität, Berlin). From 2006 to 2011 she was a fellow of the NFS Bildkritik/NCCR Iconic Criticism at the Universität Basel. Since 2012 she represents the Lehrstuhl für Medientheorie & Kulturgeschichte at Zeppelin Universität, Friedrichshafen.


smudge studio (New York) is a nonprofit media arts collaboration between Jamie Kruse (artist, designer, New York) and Elizabeth Ellsworth (professor for media studies at the New School, New York), co-founded in 2006. Their project meets at sites and moments where the geologic and the human converge. They creatively respond to the complex of forces they encounter there: the natural, built, historic, social, strategic and the imagined. Their co-edited collection of essays 'Making the Geologic Now: Material Conditions of Contemporary Life' was published in December 2012.


An event within the framework of
null

Do, 10. Januar 2013

Visuelle Positionen

Präsentationen von Harun Farocki (Filmemacher und Künstler, Berlin), Gloria Meynen (Lehrstuhl für Medientheorie & Kulturgeschichte, Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen) und smudge studio: Elizabeth Ellsworth (School of Media Studies, New School for Public Engagement, New York) und Jamie Kruse (Künstlerin, Designerin, New York). Moderation: Karin Harrasser (Institut für Medien- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln)


Das Programm präsentiert drei miteinander verwandte Positionen, die sich alle mit der Rolle von Bildern und bildlichen Darstellungen in unseren Weltgestaltungs-Prozessen auseinandersetzen. Harun Farocki zeigt und diskutiert seinen Film Parallele (2012), eine Untersuchung von Naturdarstellungen in digitalen Animationen, in der er Realitätseffekte und die evolutionäre Geschichte einer „virtuellen“ zweiten Natur dokumentiert. Worauf die Bildwelten wissenschaftlicher Darstellungen basieren, analysiert die Medientheoretikerin Gloria Meynen am Beispiel geometrischer, kartografischer und künstlerischer Praktiken. Einen transdisziplinärem Blick auf Begegnungen zwischen Mensch und Geologie trägt schließlich das Künstlerkollektiv smudge studio bei. Die multimediale Untersuchung von Orten, die sich in „Tiefenzeit“ befinden, lässt Momente aufscheinen, die neue Perspektiven auf das komplexe Gebiet der zeitgenössischen Geo-Kultur eröffnen.


Harun Farocki (Berlin) ist Autor, Filmemacher und Kurator. Er studierte an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb), von der er 1968 aus politischen Gründen relegiert wurde. Seit 1966 hat er über 100 Produktionen für Fernsehen und Film realisiert, von 1974 bis 1984 war er Redakteur der einflussreichen Zeitschrift Filmkritik. Von 2006 bis 2011 lehrte er an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien.


Karin Harrasser (Köln) lehrt und forscht an der Kunsthochschule für Medien in Köln und arbeitet über die Kultur- und Wissensgeschichte der Prothetik. Weitere Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich mit Gender, Medien und Technologien, Theorien des Subjekts/Theorien des Objekts sowie Popkultur/Science-Fiction. Karin Harrasser war eine der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Leiterinnen des Projekts "Die Untoten: Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction".


Gloria Meynen (Berlin/ Friedrichshafen) promovierte mit ihrer Dissertation Büro: Die Erfindung der Schreibfläche. Von 2000 bis 2006 war sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Forschungsgruppe Bild-Schrift-Zahl am Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin). Von 2006 bis 2011 war sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am NFS Bildkritik/ NCCR Iconic Criticism an der Universität Basel. Seit 2012 vertritt sie den Lehrstuhl für Medientheorie & Kulturgeschichte an der Zeppelin Universität, Friedrichshafen.


smudge studio (New York) ist ein von Jamie Kruse (Künstlerin, Designerin) und Elizabeth Ellsworth (Professorin für Medienstudien an der New School, New York) gegründetes Medienkunstkollektiv. Ihr aktuelles Projekt befasst sich mit Orten und Momenten, in denen das Geologische und das Menschliche aufeinandertreffen. In kreativer Form beziehen sich die beiden auf die komplexen Kräfte, denen sie dort begegnen: das Natürliche, Gebaute, Historische, Soziale, Strategische und Imaginierte. Die im Dezember 2012 gemeinsam herausgegebene Essaysammlung trägt den Titel "Making the Geologic Now: Material Conditions of Contemporary Life" (punctum books).


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null