2012, Wed, Oct 03

FOR EUROPE – A Manifesto

Daniel Cohn-Bendit and Guy Verhofstadt. Book Presentation and Discussion with Ulrich Beck

Daniel Cohn-Bendit und Guy Verhofstadt | © Koen Broos

Daniel Cohn-Bendit und Guy Verhofstadt | © Koen Broos

Is Europe in the process of collapsing or is the current crisis an opportunity to create a stronger and more democratic Europe? Two passionate Europeans, Daniel Cohn-Bendit and Guy Verhofstadt, speak out with their manifesto and against the general trend, demand a united and federal Europe.

For, they believe, only then can the individual European nation states stand a chance in the face of global competition. In conversation with Ulrich Beck, Cohn-Bendit and Verhofstadt discuss the prospects for European democracy and its citizens beyond the pervasive Euro-skepticism of the present.


Daniel Cohn-Bendit, born 1945, is a German politician, active also in France. Since 2002, he is co-chairman of the group of the Greens/European Free Alliance in the European Parliament. Cohn-Bendit has published several political books, and he was awarded a number of prizes, among others the Hannah Arendt Prize for Political Thought (2001).


Guy Verhofstadt,

born in 1953, is a Belgian politician and Member of the European Parliament since 2009, where he leads the liberal group. Between 1999 and 2008 he served as Prime Minister of Belgium. He published a number of political books, including The United States of Europe (2006).


Ulrich Beck, born 1944, is professor emeritus of Sociology in Munich. He currently teaches at Harvard and the London School of Economics and Political Science. He is considered one of the leading sociologists focusing on globalization theory.


In cooperation with the Carl Hanser Verlag and the Allianz Kulturstiftung.

Buchvorstellung

FÜR EUROPA – ein Manifest

Daniel Cohn-Bendit und Guy Verhofstadt: Buchvorstellung und Diskussion mit Ulrich Beck

Mi 3.10.2012
18h
Eintritt frei

Sprachen: deutsch und englisch

Daniel Cohn-Bendit und Guy Verhofstadt, © Koen Broos

Kollabiert Europa oder ist die gegenwärtige Krise die Chance für ein stärkeres und demokratischeres Europa? Mit ihrem Manifest melden sich Daniel Cohn-Bendit und Guy Verhofstadt, zwei überzeugte Europäer, zu Wort und fordern gegen den allgemeinen Trend ein vereintes, föderales Europa.

Denn nur gemeinsam können die einzelnen europäischen Nationalstaaten im globalen Wettbewerb überhaupt eine Zukunft haben. Im Gespräch mit Ulrich Beck diskutieren Cohn-Bendit und Verhofstadt die Perspektiven der europäischen Demokratie und ihrer Bürger jenseits der um sich greifenden Euroskepsis.


Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Jahrgang 1945, ist deutsch-französischer Politiker und einer der Vorsitzenden der Grünen Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament. Cohn-Bendit publizierte zahlreiche politische Bücher und wurde mit verschiedenen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Hannah-Arendt-Preis für politisches Denken (2001).


Guy Verhofstadt, Jahrgang 1953, ist belgischer Politiker und seit 2009 Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments, wo er die liberale Fraktion leitet. Zuvor war er bis 2008 belgischer Premierminister. Er veröffentliche zahlreiche politische Bücher, darunter The United States of Europe (2006).


Ulrich Beck, Jahrgang 1944, ist Professor em. für Soziologie in München. Er lehrt derzeit in Harvard und an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Er gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Soziologen mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Globalisierungstheorie.


In Kooperation mit dem Carl Hanser Verlag und der Allianz Kulturstiftung