Cumbia Digital

Tremor, Toy Selectah, BombaEstéreo, DJ El G (ZZK Records)

Sat, November 28, 2009
20h
Admission: 10€/8€, Festival ticket 30€
7 pm Panel: Cumbia and its consequences
BombaEstéreo, (c) Promo

Day 1 I Day 2 I Day 3 I Worldtronics09 Day 4 Electronic trade fair

A summit meeting of Latin American club musicians: Cumbia, the Afro-Hispanic dance rhythm from Colombia played by drum computer or sampler. Since the early 90s, the emerging techno cumbia e-instruments and guitars have come to the fore. Monterrey, Mexico, has been at the vanguard of a new scene in Latin America. Today Argentina, Panama and Colombia are producing the most exciting trends for the future: various facets of the dance-mad Cumbia Digital.

Tremor
Tremor combines state of the art sound manipulation, cut-ups and digital sound synthesis with traditional cumbia instrumentation and Indian percussion as if it were the most normal thing in the world. The heart and soul of cumbia remains intact. But with their digital capriccios, Tremor adds a sly spirit of experimentation, adding a most entertaining touch: free-thinking and bold unpredictability.
Tremor on Soundcloud

Toy Selectah
Toy Selectah also comes from Monterrey, the home base of the technophile cumbia scene. He made his name as a DJ in the Hip-Hop-Crew Control Machete in Mexico and for years has been booked worldwide. In Berlin, he will present a wild mix of cumbia drums and other sound snippets on his turntables.

BombaEstéreo
The Colombian group Bomba Estéreo, which plays psychedelic cumbia, has received rave reviews from the press and public. The New York Times wrote enthusiastically: “Kaleidoscopic and danceable, mingling the clip-clop bounce of cumbia and another Colombian rhythm, champeta, with echoey guitar, reggae backbeats and the singing and rapping of Liliana Saumet." With tracks like "Juana" and "Fuego" BombaEstéreo guarantees an energy-laden performance with a kick.

DJ El G (ZZK Records)
In 2006, the mashup-DJ Villa Diamante founded Zizek, a series of events in Buenos Aires that offered cumbia-electrónica musicians a forum, and quickly developed into a public attraction. The musicians who appeared under the banner adventurously mixed cumbia with styles like minimal techno, funk, hip-hop and dubstep. Meanwhile, Zizek and ZZK has become a successful label. Grant C. Dull, head of ZZK, will perform as DJ El G at WORLDTRONICS.
To ZZK Records' website

Day 1 I Day 2 I Day 3 I Worldtronics09 Day 4 Electronic trade fair


  • Tremor: "Viajante" (Video Clip)

  • Carmensita (Toy Selectah Raverton Refix) - Devendra Banhart

Sa, 28. November 2009

Cumbia Digital

Tremor, Toy Selectah, BombaEstéreo, DJ El G (ZZK Records)

BombaEstéreo | (c) Promo

BombaEstéreo | (c) Promo

Tag 1 I Tag 2 I Tag 3 I Worldtronics09 Tag 4 Elektronik-Fachmarkt

Ein Gipfeltreffen lateinamerikanischer Clubmusiken: Die Cumbia mit ihrer Rhythmik afrikanischen Ursprungs und spanisch beeinflussten Melodien, im treibenden Grundrhythmus von einem Drumcomputer oder Sampler gespielt. Seit Beginn der 90er kamen in der aufkommenden Techno Cumbia E-Instrumente und -Gitarren zum Einsatz. Im mexikanischen Monterrey entstand dann eine neue Szene, Drehscheibe für ganz Lateinamerika. Derzeit kommen die interessantesten Weiterentwicklungen aus Argentinien, Panama und Kolumbien: unterschiedliche Facetten der tanzwütigen Cumbia Digital.

Tremor
Tremor kombinieren den State of the Art der Klangmanipulation, der Cut-ups und digitalen Geräuschsynthese mit traditionellem Cumbia-Instrumentarium, mit indianischer Perkussion, als wäre es das Normalste der Welt. Das Herz und die Seele des Cumbia bleiben erhalten. Aber mit ihren digitalen Kapriolen fügen Tremor mit schlitzohrigem Experimentiergeist eine weitere, höchst vergnügliche Ebene hinzu: freigeistige und dreiste Unberechenbarkeit.
Tremor auf Soundcloud

Toy Selectah
Aus der Ursprungsszene der technophilen Cumbia in Monterrey stammt auch Toy Selectah, der sich als DJ der Hip-Hop-Crew Control Machete in Mexiko einen Namen machte und seit einigen Jahren weltweite Bookings vorweisen kann. In Berlin wird er an den Turntables einen wilden Mix aus Cumbia-Drums und anderen Soundschnipseln offerieren.

BombaEstéreo
Das neue Album der kolumbianischen Cumbia-Pychedeliker erzielte schon die positivsten Presse-Reaktionen. So schrieb die New York Times enthusiastisch: „Kaleidoskopisch und tanzbar, die Sprungkraft von Cumbia mit kolumbianischen Rhythmen vermischt, Gitarre, Reggae-Backbeats und der Rap von Liliana Saumet.“ Bei BombaEstéreo-Tracks wie „Juana“ oder „Fuego“ ist der Energiekick garantiert.

DJ El G (ZZK Records)
2006 begründete der Mashup-DJ Villa Diamante in Buenos Aires die Veranstaltungsreihe Zizek, die Cumbia-Electrónica-Musikern ein Forum bot und sich schnell zu einem Publikumsmagneten entwickelte. Die beteiligten Musiker vermischten mit viel Abenteuerlust die Cumbia mit Stilen wie Minimal Techno, Funk, Hip-Hop oder Dubstep. Mittlerweile ist Zizek als ZZK auch ein erfolgreiches Label. ZZK-Chef Grant C. Dull tritt bei WORLDTRONICS als DJ El G auf.
Zur Website von ZZK Records

Tag 1 I Tag 2 I Tag 3 I Worldtronics09 Tag 4 Elektronik-Fachmarkt


Tremor: "Viajante" (Video Clip)

Carmensita (Toy Selectah Raverton Refix) - Devendra Banhart