2009, Thu, Dec 03

OPEN WOR:L:DS

Warsan Shire | (c) privat

Warsan Shire | (c) privat

The second LIFELINES edition focuses on Nuruddin Farah, acclaimed as one of Africa’s greatest contemporary writers and regarded as a likely candidate for the Nobel Prize for Literature. Together with Nuruddin Farah, LIFELINES explores his biographical and literary paths in an exchange with friends and fellow-writers past and present.

What literary paths do young Somali wordsmiths follow at home or in the diaspora? Are there connections with the rhythmic poetry tradition which Somalia is so renowned for? What spaces or worlds of words are generated in the creative encounter with Berlin’s slam scene?

Spoken Word Performances with Warsan Shire, Kinsi Abdulleh

Open mic session for poets from the audience

Moderation: Tanja Dückers, Jan Kage aka Yaneq


Born in 1989 in Somalia, prize winning poet, social critic and performance poet Warsan Shire now lives in London.
The artist, performer and curator Kinsi Abdulleh was born in Somalia and lives in London. Her unique work combines stories, objects found in archives and daily life with photographic imagery, textiles, audio and film, using both space and language.
Tanja Dückers writes for various newspapers and magazines. Her publications include novels, radio plays, stories, poems and essays.
Rapper, singer, spoken word performer, journalist, writer and actor, Jan Kage released his solo album “Widersprüche” in 2006.


In co-operation with Suhrkamp Verlag

Thu 03.12.2009 | 19:00 h

Somali Writing and Beyond (Reading, Talk) The event...

Do, 03. Dezember 2009

OPEN WOR:L:DS

Warsan Shire | (c) privat

Warsan Shire | (c) privat

Als einer der renommiertesten Schriftsteller Afrikas und aussichtsreicher Anwärter auf den Literaturnobelpreis steht Nuruddin Farah im Mittelpunkt der zweiten Ausgabe der Reihe LIFELINES, die das Lebenswerk herausragender Musiker, Bildender Künstler, Literaten oder Filmemacher vorstellt. Gemeinsam mit Nuruddin Farah und im Austausch mit wichtigen Weggefährten zeichnen die LIFELINES die biografischen und literarischen Pfade seines Lebens nach.

Welche literarischen Pfade gehen junge somalische Wortkünstler in der Diaspora oder ihrer Heimat? Gibt es Anknüpfungspunkte zur Tradition rhythmischer Dichtkunst, für die Somalia berühmt ist? Welcher Wortraum, welche Wortwelten entstehen in der kreativen Begegnung mit der Slamszene in Berlin?

Spoken Word Performances mit Warsan Shire, Kinsi Abdulleh

Open Mic Session für Poetinnen und Poeten aus dem Publikum

Moderation: Tanja Dückers, Jan Kage aka Yaneq


Warsan Shire 1989 in Somalia geboren, lebt und arbeitet die preisgekrönte Dichterin, Gesellschaftskritikerin und Performance-Poetin heute in London.
Kinsi Abdulleh Die in Somalia geborene Künstlerin, Performerin und Kuratorin setzt in ihrem einzigartigen Werk Raum und Sprache in Bezug zueinander. Sie vereint Geschichten mit Fundstücken aus Archiven und Alltagsgegenständen wie Photographien, Stoffen, Film- und Tonmaterial. Sie lebt und arbeitet in London.
Tanja Dückers Die Schriftstellerin, Literaturwissenschaftlerin und Journalistin hat Romane, Hörspiele, Erzählungen, Lyrikbände und Essays veröffentlicht. Sie schreibt für verschiedene Zeitungen und Magazine.
Jan Kage Der Rapper und Sänger, Spoken Word-Performer, Journalist, Autor und Schauspieler veröffentlichte 2006 sein Soloalbum “Widersprüche”.


In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Suhrkamp Verlag

Do 03.12.2009 | 19:00 h

Somali Writing and Beyond (Lesung, Gespräch) Zur Veranstaltung...