2007, Wed, Dec 192008, Wed, Jan 09

Film programme 8: Iraq

New documentary films from the Middle East

"About Baghdad" (filmstill)

16.05 h

Where is Iraq? the film will not be shown on Dec 19th, 2007

D: Baz Shamoun, Baghdad, 2004, 20 min.

Two months before Saddam Hussein was overthrown, the film-maker and exiled Iraqi Shamoun is waiting at the border to Jordan for the regime to collapse. In his film, he portrays the people he encounters there, people who are marked by the many years of injustice in their country.


16.30 h

About Baghdad

D: Sinan Antoon in co-operation with Bassam Haddad, Maya Mikdashi, Suzy Salamy and Adam Shapiro. Iraq/USA, 2004, 90 min.

Novelist Sinan Antoon documents the mood among the residents of Baghdad shortly before the Americans march into the country. To make this film, he returned to his home town after twelve years in exile.


18.10 h I 19.30 h

Independent Film and TV College

Films 2005-2007

Film-maker Maysoon Pachachi and Kasim Abid also returned to Iraq in 2004 with the aim of establishing an independent film and television school that would offer free instruction. Eight debut films present the perspectives of young Iraqi film-makers who have emerged from the Independent Film and TV College.


Leaving documents a family’s painful process of leaving the country and the house in which they have lived for 30 years. D: Bahram Al-Zuhairi, 2007, 23 mins


Dr Nabil portrays a gentle, committed surgeon with literary talents, who works at a small understaffed Baghdad hospital that suffers from a lack of equipment and medicines. D: Ahmed Jabar, 2007, 17 mins


A Stranger In His Own Country tells the story of Abu Ali, one of the two million Iraqis who have been displaced within the country by sectarian violence. D: Hassanaian Al-Hani, 2007, 10 mins


A Candle For The Shabandar Café is about a literary café on Mutanabbi Street in the heart of old Baghdad, a cultural landmark that was blown up by a suicide car bomb in March 2007. D: Emad Ali, 2007, 23 mins


Documentary Course March 2006 depicts the lives of the director’s fellow students at the Independent Film & Television College, as they try to get in for classes, find the subjects for their films and the difficulties they are confronted with filming in Iraq at the present time. D: Ahmed Kamal, 2006, 15 mins


Baghdad Days, a 35-minute video diary, tells the story of Hiba, a young woman from Kirkuk, who is trying to find a place to live in Baghdad. She looks for work, graduates from college, deals with family problems. D: Hiba Bassim, 2005, 35 mins


Hiwar (Dialogue) is a film about a cultural centre established by a group of artists in 1992 in the Waziriya area of Baghdad. D: Kifya Saleh, 2005, 12 mins


Omar Is My Friend is the story of a student at Baghdad University who works as a taxi driver to support his wife and four daughters. D: Mounaf Shaker, 2005, 15 mins

Mi, 19. Dezember 2007Mi, 09. Januar 2008

Filmprogramm 8: Irak

Neue Dokumentarfilme aus dem Nahen Osten

"About Baghdad" (Filmstill)

16.05 h

Where is Iraq? Wird nicht am 19.12. gezeigt

R: Baz Shamoun, Bagdad, 2004, 20 min.

Zwei Monate vor dem Sturz Saddam Husseins wartet der Filmemacher und Exiliraker Shamoun an der Grenze zu Jordanien auf das Ende des Regimes. In Where is Iraq? porträtiert er die Menschen, auf die er dort trifft, die von den langen Jahren des Unrechts in ihrem Land gezeichnet sind.


16:30 h

About Baghdad

R: Sinan Antoon in Zusammenarbeit mit Bassam Haddad, Maya Mikdashi, Suzy Salamy und Adam Shapiro. Irak/USA, 2004, 90 min.

Die Gemütslage der Einwohner Bagdads kurz nach dem Einmarsch der Amerikaner dokumentiert der Schriftsteller Sinan Antoon in seinem Film, für den er nach zwölfjährigem Exil in seine Heimatstadt zurückkehrt.


18:10 h I 19:30 h

Independent Film and TV College

Filme 2005-2007

Die Filmemacher Maysoon Pachachi und Kasim Abid sind ebenfalls 2004 in den Irak zurückgekommen, um eine unabhängige Film- und Fernsehschule zu gründen, die kostenlose Ausbildung anbietet. Acht Debütfilme vermitteln Perspektiven junger irakischer Filmemacher, die aus dem Independent Film and TV College hervorgegangen sind.


Leaving dokumentiert den schmerzhaften Abschiedsprozess einer Familie, die ihr Land und das Haus verlassen, in dem sie über einen Zeitraum von 30 Jahren gelebt haben. R: Bahram Al-Zuhairi, 23 min, 2007


Dr Nabil porträtiert einen freundlichen, engagierten Chirurgen mit literarischen Talenten, der in einem kleinen, unterbesetzten Krankenhaus in Bagdad arbeitet, dem es an Ausstattung und Medikamenten mangelt. R: Ahmed Jabar, 17 min, 2007


A Stranger In His Own Country erzählt die Geschichte von Abu Ali, einem der zwei Millionen Iraker, die in ihrem Land durch sektiererische Gewalt vertrieben wurden. R: Hassanaian Al-Hani, 2007, 10 min


A Candle For The Shabandar Café dreht sich um ein Literaturcafé in der Mutanabbi-Straße im Herzen des alten Bagdad, ein kulturelles Wahrzeichen, das durch einen Selbstmordanschlag mit einer Autobombe im März 2007 in die Luft gesprengt worden ist. R: Emad Ali, 2007, 23 min


Documentary Course March 2006 stellt das Leben der Kommilitonen des Regisseurs am Independent Film & Television College dar – ihre Bemühungen, sich für den Unterricht zu qualifizieren, die Themen für ihre Filme zu finden und die Schwierigkeiten, mit denen sie beim Filmen im Irak zurzeit konfrontiert sind. R: Ahmed Kamal, 2006, 15 min


Baghdad Days ist ein 35-minütiges Videotagebuch. Es erzählt die Geschichte von Hiba, einer jungen Frau aus Kirkuk, die versucht, einen Platz zum Leben in Bagdad zu finden. Sie sucht nach Arbeit, graduiert am College, wird mit Familienproblemen fertig. R: Hiba Bassim, 2005, 35 min


Hiwar (Dialogue) ist ein Film über ein Kulturzentrum, das 1992 von einer Künstlergruppe im Waziriya-Viertel von Bagdad gegründet wurde. R: Kifya Saleh, 2005, 12 min


Omar Is My Friend erzählt die Geschichte eines Studenten der Baghdad University, der als Taxifahrer arbeitet, um seine Frau und seine vier Töchter zu ernähren. R: Mounaf Shaker, 2005, 15 min