2007, Sun, Dec 162008, Sun, Jan 06

Film programme 6: Iran

New documentary films from the Middle East

"I saw Shoush" (film still)

4:10 p.m. | 6: 50 p.m.

I saw Shoush

D: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 8 min, without subtitles

Short film based on a poem by Mehdi Akhavan-Sales (1928-1990), one of the most prominent Persian poets. It compares the ancient city of Shoosh (Susa) in South of Iran, formerly a gateway of civilization, to the modern Shoosh, an impoverished city without character.


4:20 p.m. | 7 p.m.

The Anonymous

D: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 30 min

The film traces the layered story of a photographer, Jahangir Razmi, whose picture of an Iranian Revolutionary Guard dead squad executing Kurds made furore around the world. The international reaction to the photograph infuriated the Iranian Government, while the images enraged the Kurdish people.


4:53 p.m. | 7:35 p.m.

Re-enactment (Shabikhani)

D: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 52 min

Every year during the holy month of Muharram, merchants, truck drivers and carpet salesmen don costumes to re-enact the death of Imam Hossein, the grandson of the prophet. Through this unique theatre the film examines Iranian society, communal mourning and the complex layering of religious representation.


5:50 p.m.

Nayère, les chants de la liberté

D: Mina Saïdi Sharouz, Frankreich, 52 min

What has happened to the women in Iran who once showed such commitment? In ‘Nayère, les chants de la liberté’, woman director Mina Saïdi Sharouz reconstructs the story of her mother, the deceased poet Nayère Saïdi, who symbolised the modern woman in pre-revolutionary Iran, and links her mother’s story with the situation of Iranian activists in the present.


Film Directors


Bahman Kiarostami, born in Teheran in 1978, began cooperating with his critically acclaimed father, Abbas Kiarostami, at a very young age. In his own work, he mainly focuses on art and music and religious aspects of life.

Mina Saïdi Sharouz was born in Iran and has been living in France for 20 years.

So., 16. Dezember 2007So., 06. Januar 2008

Filmprogramm 6: Iran

Neue Dokumentarfilme aus dem Nahen Osten

"I saw Shoush" (Filmstill)

16.10 h | 18.50 h

I saw Shoush

R: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 8 min., OF

Ein Kurzfilm inspiriert von einem Gedicht Mehdi Akhavan-Sales (1928-1990), einem der bekanntesten persischen Dichter. Er vergleicht die altertümliche Stadt Shoush (Susa) im Süden Irans, früher ein Tor der Zivilisation, mit dem modernen Shoush, einer verarmten Stadt ohne Charakter.


16.20 h | 19.00 h

The anonymous

R: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 30 min.

Der Film verfolgt die vielschichtige Geschichte des Fotografen Jahangir Razmi, dessen Aufnahme einer Erschießung von Kurden durch ein iranisches Revolutionswächter-Todesschwadron weltweit Aufsehen erregte. Die internationale Reaktion auf das Foto brachte die iranische Regierung auf, während die Bilder die Kurden erzürnten.


16.53 h | 19.35 h

Re-enactment (Shabikhani)

R: Bahman Kiarostami, Iran 2007, 52 min.

Jedes Jahr während des heiligen Monats Muharram stiften Kaufleute, LKW-Fahrer und Teppichhändler Kostüme zur Wiederaufführung des Todes von Imam Hussein, dem Enkel des Propheten. Mit einem Blick auf diese Aufführung untersucht der Film die iranische Gesellschaft, das Trauern der religiösen Gemeinschaft und die komplexe Schichtung religiöser Darbietungen.


17.50 h

Nayère, les chants de la liberté

R: Mina Saïdi Sharouz, Frankreich, 52 min.

Was bleibt von dem Kämpfen der engagierten Frauen im Iran? In Nayère, les chants de la liberté rekonstruiert die Regisseurin Mina Saïdi Sharouz die Geschichte ihrer Mutter, der verstorbene Dichterin Nayère Saïdi, im Iran vor der Revolution das Sinnbild einer modernen Frau, und verknüpft sie mit iranischen Aktivistinnen der Gegenwart.


Regisseure


Bahman Kiarostami, 1978 in Teheran geboren, begann sehr jung, mit seinem von der Kritik gefeierten Vater Abbas Kiarostami zusammenzuarbeiten. In seinem eigenen Werk thematisiert er vorwiegend Kunst und Musik sowie religiöse Aspekte des Lebens.

Mina Saïdi Sharouz wurde im Iran geboren und lebt seit 20 Jahren in Frankreich.