2007, Sun, Dec 09

Presentations, talks, discussions

Weekend I

DI/VISIONS. Culture and Politics of the Middle East: Weekend I

DI/VISIONS. Culture and Politics of the Middle East: Weekend I


16-17 p.m.

Cousins

R: Ali Atassi, Syrien, 2001, 50 min

Screening in presence of the film director Ali Atassi. The film revolves around Riyad al-Turk, the founding member of the Syrian Communist Party. He spent over seventeen years in jail and is regarded as Syria’s Mandela. ‘Cousins’ reflects upon his survival strategies during his time in prison.


5-6 p.m.

Political Transition and Reform

What are the sources and stabilising factors of authoritarianism in the Middle East? What is the role of Islamic movements in the specific cases Egypt and Syria? The participants debate strategies and prospects of political transition from within the region.

Discussion with Wael Sawah, Sherif Younis


7-10 p.m.

Mafrouza – Oh Night!

R: Emmanuelle Demoris, France, 2007, 148 min

Screening in presence of the French film director.

‘Mafrouza – Oh Night!’ is a long-term documentary research in a poor housing area of Alexandria. The filmmaker Emmanuelle Demoris lived within the Mafrouza community and documented the dwellers´ daily life, strategies and struggles.

Arabic with English subtitles. Discussion in English.



Participants

Ali al-Atassi is a journalist and civil rights activist. His writings include contributions to the literary supplement of the Lebanese daily newspaper Al-Nahar. He made his name with his documentary film about the Syrian dissident Riad al Turk and his active commitment to civil rights. Ali al-Atassi lives in Beirut and Damascus.

Emmanuelle Demoris is a French filmmaker, author and critic. After she completed her studies, she worked at the Parisian film academy FEMIS as an actress and theatre director. She then began making her own films. Demoris writes as an author and critic for the biannual Cinéma magazine. She lives in Paris.

Wael Sawah is a political essayist and activist. He lives in Damascus.

Sherif Younis is an author, translator, historian and co-publisher of the journal Al-Bosia. He teaches Egyptian and Modern European History at the Helwan University in Cairo. He is a fellow of the research program ‘Europe in the Near East – The Near East in Europe’.

So., 09. Dezember 2007

Präsentationen, Gespräche, Diskussionen

Wochenende I

DI/VISIONS. Kultur und Politik im Nahen Osten: Wochenende I

DI/VISIONS. Kultur und Politik im Nahen Osten: Wochenende I

16-17 h

Cousins

R: Ali Atassi, Syrien, 2001, 50 min

Projektion in Anwesenheit des Regisseurs Ali Atassi. Der Film dreht sich um Riyad al-Turk, ein Gründungs-mitglied der Kommunistischen Partei Syriens. Er verbrachte über 17 Jahre im Gefängnis und gilt als Syriens Mandela. „Cousins“ kreist um seine Überlebensstrategien in dieser Zeit.


17-18 h

Politischer Übergang und Reform

Was sind die Quellen und stabilisierenden Faktoren der autoritären Regierungssysteme im Nahen Osten? Was ist die Rolle von islamischen Bewegungen in den besonderen Fällen Ägypten und Syrien? Die Teilnehmer diskutieren Strategien und Aussichten politischer Wandlung von innerhalb der Region.

Diskussion mit Wael Sawah, Sherif Younis


19-22 h

Mafrouza – Oh Night!

R: Emmanuelle Demoris, Frankreich 2007, 148 min

Projektion in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin.

„Mafrouza – Oh Night!” ist ein Dokumentarfilm und eine Langzeit-recherche über das Leben im Wohnviertel Mafrouza in Alexandria. Die Filmemacherin Demoris lebte in der Mafrouza-Gemeinschaft und dokumentierte das tägliche Leben, die Überlebensstrategien und -kämpfe.

Arabisch mit englischen Untertiteln. Diskussion auf Englisch



Teilnehmer:

Ali al-Atassi ist Journalist und Bürgerrechtler. Er schreibt u.a. für die Kulturbeilage der libanesischen Tageszeitung Al-Nahar. Bekannt wurde er durch seinen Dokumentarfilm über den syrischen Dissidenten Riad al Turk und und seinen Einsatz für die Menschenrechte. Ali al-Atassi lebt in Beirut und Damaskus.

Emmanuelle Demoris ist eine französische Filmemacherin. Nach ihrem Studium arbeitete sie an der Pariser Filmhochschule FEMIS zunächst als Schauspielerin und Theaterregisseurin, bevor sie eigene Filme drehte. Daneben ist Demoris Autorin und Kritikerin der Halbjahresschrift Cinéma. Sie lebt in Paris.

Wael Sawah ist politischer Essayist und Aktivist. Er lebt in Damaskus.

Sherif Younis ist Autor, Übersetzer, Geschichtswissenschaftler und Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift al-Bosla. Er lehrt Ägyptische und Moderne Europäische Geschichte an der Helwan University, Kairo. Derzeit ist er Fellow des Forschungsprogramms „Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa“.