2007, Sat, Dec 08 — 2008, Sun, Jan 13

Filmed conversations

Rabih Mroué | (c) Hila Peleg

Rabih Mroué | (c) Hila Peleg

Three generations of artists, intellectuals and, at the same time, political actors from the Middle East will have an opportunity to speak. All too often, the focus on war and violence leads us to lose sight of their cultural achievements and social commitment. However, these creative artists oppose the stifling academicism of their home countries and the mystical transfiguration of tradition with unsparing diagnoses of the present and precise forms of presentation. In their talks with Catherine David, they discuss the present in the region in full awareness of the critical situation there. Each day, viewers can see filmed discussions as large projections on all floor-levels of the House of World Cultures.


Mona Abaza

"Changing Consumer Cultures of Modern Egypt. Cairo’s urban reshaping"

Mona Abaza. The sociologist, who was born in Egypt in 1959, does research on religious networks between the Middle East and Southeast Asia and on changes in consumer society. She teaches at the American University in Cairo. Her latest publication is Changing Consumer Cultures of Modern Egypt (2006). Her most recent publication is: „Changing Consumer Cultures of Modern Egypt“ (2006). Her publications also include "Debates on Islam and Knowledge in Malaysia and Egypt: Shifting Worlds", RoutledgeCurzon 2002.


Etel Adnan

"In the Heart of the Heart of Another Country" - The Life and Work of a Poet

Etel Adnan was born in Beirut in 1925. She is a very versatile artist and writer. In her native town, she studied comparative literature. Later, she studied philosophy at the Sorbonne, Harvard and Berkeley. She writes lyric poetry, prose and plays in English and French, and also paints. Her books have been translated into Arabic, Italian and German; her poems have been set to music by notable musicians. In 1985 she worked with Robert Wilson on his opera CivilwarS. She lives in Paris and Beirut. selected books: Marie Rose. Paris: Des Femmes 1978, L'apocalypse arabe. Paris: Papyrus Editions 1980, Ce ciel qui n'est pas. Paris: L'Harmattan 1997.


Hala al Abdallah

Cultural Resistance. Documentary cinema and contemporary Syria

Hala Alabdalla was born in Hama, Syria in 1956. A sociologist who studied in Syria and Paris, she has been working as a film-maker since 1985. She has made feature and documentary films as a producer, author and director in Syria, the Lebanon and France.


Omar Amiralay

Documentary, history and memory

Omar Amiralay is famous well outside the borders of Syria as a critical documentary film-maker as well as for his commitment to civil society. He played a prominent role in the Damascus Spring, an incipient movement for democracy that was suppressed in 2001. As director and manager of a film academy in Damascus, he is concerned, above all, with handing down the historical experiences of his society. His recent films include: „Par un jour de violence ordinaire, mon Ami Michel Seurat ...“ (1996), „Il y a tant de Choses encore à raconter“ (1997), „A Plate of Sardines (or the First Time I Heard of Israel)“ (1997), L'homme aux semelles d'or (2000), „A Flood in Baath Country“ (2003).


Sinan Antoon

Iraq: Di/Visions of War

Sinan Antoon was born in Iraq in 1967 and went into exile during the rule of Saddam Hussein in 1991. In 2004, the poet, writer and film-maker returned to his home country with a film team to shoot About Baghdad, a documentary about the life of Iraqis in the period after the invasion. He teaches at New York University, does research on pre-modern Islamic and contemporary Arab culture and has been co-editor of a number of publications, including the Middle East Report. Antoon is the author of „I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody“ (City Lights Books, U.S. 2007), among other publications.


Safaah Fahty

Symbolic and Political power in contemporary Egypt

Safaa Fathy was born in Egypt in 1958. She studied theatre at the Sorbonne and gained her doctorate with a thesis on Bertolt Brecht. In 1994 she started working on her first films. Her co-operation with the philosopher Jacques Derrida for the filmed biography D’ailleurs Derrida attracted considerable attention. Derrida and Fathy reflect on their experiences with the film in their joint book Tourner les mots. Au bord d’un film. She has also made a name for herself as a poet and theoretician.


Nabil Abdel Fattah

Egypt after Mubarak

Nabil Abdel Fattah is a political scientist. He works at the Al Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies, an important think-thank in Cairo. His main areas of research include political Islam and educational policy.


Yassin al Haj Saleh

An analysis of contemporary Syria

Yassin al Haj Saleh was born in Syria in 1961. He is one of the most important dissidents in Syria. In 1980, while he was studying medicine in Aleppo, he was arrested for belonging to the Communist Party and spent sixteen years in prison, the last of these in the much-feared Tadmur Prison. In 1996, he was released. In 2000, he took his final examination as a general medical practitioner. He has never practised his profession, however. He lives in Damascus and writes for Arabic print media on political, social and cultural subjects from Syria and the Arab world.


Kadhim Jihad Hassan

"La part de l’étranger" - Modern arab poetry and thinking

Kadhim Jihad Hassan enjoys a good reputation as a poet, translator and teacher in the Arab world and in France. His oeuvre serves as a bridge between the two. He was born in Iraq in 1955 and has been living in Paris since 1976, where he teaches at both the Sorbonne and the Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales. He has translated into Arabic not only Arthur Rimbaud, Rainer Maria Rilke and Dante’s The Divine Comedy, but also Gilles Deleuze, Jacques Derrida, Jean Genet, Juan Goytisolo and Philippe Jaccottet. He is the author of „Chants de la folie de l'Etre et autres poèmes“ (Tarabuste, 2001), „Le Roman arabe (1834-2004): bilan critique“ (Sindbad/Actes Sud, 2006), „Le Livre des prodiges, anthiologie des Karâmât des saints de l'islam“ (Sindbad/'Actes Sud, 2003), „La Part de l'étranger_La traduction de la poésie dans la culture arabe“ (Sindbad/'Actes Sud, 2007), among other publications.


Amnon Raz- Krakotzkin

"Binationalism and the critique of zionism"

Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin, Professor of Jewish Studies at Ben-Gurion University, is one of the most prominent advocates of binationalism as a solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. His main subjects are Christian-Judaic discourse of the early modern age and the history of Zionism ideas. His publications include: Exile et Binationalisme (Paris); Orientalism, Jewish Studies and Israeli Society (in Hebrew). He is a fellow, for the second time, of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Author of „The Censor, the Editor, and the Text: The Catholic Church and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon in the Sixteenth Century“ (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2007).


Samia Mehrez

"Egypt’s culture wars: Politics and Practice"

Samia Mehrez, Professor of Modern Arabic Literature at the American University in Cairo, has made cultural-political struggles in 21st century Egypt the focal point of her recent research. In her research, she employs the analytical approaches of cultural studies, translation theory and gender studies. Her latest publication: Egypt’s Culture Wars: Politics and Practice (Routledge, 2008) will be appearing soon. Read here an excerpt...


Rabih Mroué

"Who Is Afraid of Representation?" - Making Theatre in Beirut

Rabih Mroué is a performance artist and filmmaker who travels between the Middle East and Western Europe. His endeavours to deal directly with political and social reality are formulated in a well-thought-through formal language. In his semi-documentary works, the boundaries between reality and fiction are blurred. He studied theatre at the Université Libanaise in Beirut and has been producing his own plays since 1990. He has been a much celebrated figure since his appearances at festivals such as the Theater der Welt and In Transit in Europe. His most recent plays include „How Nancy Wished that Everything was an April Fool’s Joke” (2007), „Make me stop smoking“ (2006), „Who’s Afraid of Representation” (2004), „Looking for a Missing Employee" (2003).


Saadi Youssef

On Poetry and Occupied Iraq

Saadi Youssef, was born in Basra, Iraq, in 1934. He is one of the most highly regarded Iraqi poets. Because of his political commitment, he was forced to leave the country when Saddam Hussein came to power. During his life in exile, he has stayed at many different places. He now lives in London. He has translated Walt Whitman, Constantine Cavafy, Federico García Lorca and George Orwell, among others, into Arabic. His publications inlcude „Troubled Waters“ (poems, Al Mada, Beirut 1995), „Without an Alphabet, Without a Face“ (Minnesota 2002) and „Fern vom ersten Himmel“ (Verlag Hans Schiler, Berlin 2004).

Das HKW ist vom 07. bis 26. Januar geschlossen.

Sa, 08. Dezember 2007 — So, 13. Januar 2008

Gefilmte Gespräche

Rabih Mroué | (c) Hila Peleg

Rabih Mroué | (c) Hila Peleg

Drei Generationen Künstler, Intellektuelle und zugleich politische Akteure aus Nahost kommen zu Wort. Ihre kulturelle Produktion und ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement geraten durch den Fokus auf Krieg und Gewalt allzu oft aus dem Sichtfeld. Dabei stellen diese Kulturschaffenden dem lähmenden Akademismus ihrer Herkunftsländer und der mystischen Verklärung der Tradition schonungslose Zeitdiagnosen und präzise Darstellungsformen entgegen. Im Gespräch mit Catherine David setzen sie sich mit der Gegenwart der Region im Bewusstsein der kritischen Lage auseinander. Die gefilmten Gespräche sind nun als Großprojektionen täglich auf allen Ebenen des Hauses zu sehen.


Mona Abaza

"Konsumkulturen des modernen Ägypten - Kairos urbaner Wandel"

Die in Ägypten geborene Soziologin forscht über religiöse Netzwerke zwischen Nahost und Südostasien und über Veränderungen der Konsumkultur. Sie war 1996/97 Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin und lehrt an der American University in Cairo. Ihre jüngste Veröffentlichung ist „Changing Consumer Cultures of Modern Egypt“ (2006). Außerdem: "Debates on Islam and Knowledge in Malaysia and Egypt: Shifting Worlds", RoutledgeCurzon 2002.


Etel Adnan

"Im Herzen des Herzens eines anderen Landes" - Das Leben und Werk eines Dichters

Etel Adnan ist eine vielseitige Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin. In ihrer Geburtsstadt Beirut studierte sie Literaturwissenschaften und an der Sorbonne, Harvard und Berkeley Philosophie. Sie schreibt auf Englisch und Französisch Lyrik, Prosa und Theater und ist zudem Malerin. Ihre Bücher sind ins Arabische, Italienische und Deutsche übersetzt, ihre Gedichte von bedeutenden Musikern vertont. 1985 arbeitete sie mit Robert Wilson für seine Oper CivilwarS zusammen. Sie lebt in Paris und Beirut. Ausgewählte Werke: Marie Rose. Paris: Des Femmes 1978, L'apocalypse arabe. Paris: Papyrus Editions 1980, Ce ciel qui n'est pas. Paris: L'Harmattan 1997.


Hala al Abdallah

Kultureller Widerstand: Dokumentation und das heutige Syrien

Hala al Abdallah ist in Hama, Syrien, geboren. Die Soziologin mit Ausbildung in Syrien sowie Paris arbeitet seit 1985 als Filmemacherin und hat als Produzentin, Autorin und Regisseurin Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme in Syrien, Libanon und Frankreich gedreht.


Omar Amiralay

Dokumentation, Geschichte und Gedächtnis

Omar Amiralay ist als kritischer Dokumentarfilmmacher, aber auch für sein zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement weit über die Grenzen Syriens berühmt. Er spielte eine prominente Rolle während des „Damaszener Frühlings“, einer später niedergeschlagenen demokratischen Aufbruchbewegung im Jahre 2001. Als Regisseur und als Leiter einer Filmhochschule in Damaskus geht es ihm vor allem um die Tradierung der geschichtlichen Erfahrungen seiner Gesellschaft. Einige seiner Filme der letzten Zeit waren: „Par un jour de violence ordinaire, mon Ami Michel Seurat ...“ (1996), „Il y a tant de Choses encore à raconter“ (1997), „A Plate of Sardines (or the First Time I Heard of Israel)“ (1997), L'homme aux semelles d'or (2000), „A Flood in Baath Country“ (2003).


Sinan Antoon

Iraq: Di/Visions of War

Sinan Antoon wurde in Irak geboren und ging 1991 während der Regierung Saddam Husseins ins Exil. 2004 kehrte der Dichter, Schriftsteller und Filmemacher mit einem Filmteam in sein Heimatland zurück und drehte dort „About Baghdad“, eine Dokumentation über das Leben der Iraker in den Zeiten nach der Invasion. Er unterrichtet an der New York University, forscht über prämoderne islamische und zeitgenössische arabische Kultur und ist Mitherausgeber zahlreicher Publikationen, u. a. des „Middle East Report“. Er ist Autor unter anderem von „I'jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody“ (City Lights Books, U.S. 2007)


Safaah Fahty

Symbolische und politische Macht im Ägypten der Gegenwart

Safaah Fahty wurde in Ägypten geboren, studierte Theaterwissenschaften an der Sorbonne und promovierte mit einer Arbeit über Bertolt Brecht. 1994 begann sie mit ihren ersten Filmen. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit fand ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Philosophen Jacques Derrida für die filmische Biografie „D’ailleurs Derrida“. Diese Erfahrung reflektierten Derrida und Fathy in ihrem gemeinsamen Buch „Tourner les mots. Au bord d’un film“. Auch als Dichterin und Theoretikerin hat sie sich einen Namen gemacht.


Nabil Abdel Fattah

Ägypten nach Mubarak

Nabil Abdel Fattah ist Politikwissenschaftler und arbeitet am „Al-Ahram-Zentrum für politische und strategische Studien", einem bedeutenden Think-Thank in Kairo. Der politische Islam sowie die Bildungspolitik sind Schwerpunkte seiner Untersuchungen.


Yassin al Haj Saleh

Eine Analyse des gegenwärtigen Syrien

Yassin al Haj Saleh ist einer der wichtigsten Dissidenten Syriens. Während seines Medizinstudiums in Aleppo wurde er 1980 als Mitglied der Kommunistischen Partei festgenommen und verbrachte 16 Jahre im Gefängnis, die letzten davon in der besonders gefürchteten Haftanstalt von Tadmur. 1996 kam er frei, 2000 machte er seinen Abschluss als Allgemeinarzt, übte diesen Beruf jedoch nie aus. Er lebt in Damaskus und schreibt für arabische Printmedien zu politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Themen aus Syrien und der arabischen Welt.


Kadhim Jihad Hassan

"La part de l'étranger" - Moderne arabische Dichtung und Lehre

Kadhim Jihad Hassan genießt ein hohes Ansehen als Dichter, Übersetzer und Gelehrter in der arabischen Welt wie auch in Frankreich, zwischen denen sein Werk eine Brücke darstellt. Er wurde 1955 im Irak geboren, lebt seit 1976 in Paris und lehrt an der Sorbonne und dem Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales. Er übersetzte nicht nur Arthur Rimbaud, Rainer Maria Rilke und Dantes „Die Göttliche Komödie“, sondern auch Gilles Deleuze, Jacques Derrida, Jean Genet, Juan Goytisolo und Philippe Jaccottet ins Arabische. Er ist Autor unter anderem von „Chants de la folie de l'Etre et autres poèmes“ (Tarabuste, 2001), „Le Roman arabe (1834-2004): bilan critique“ (Sindbad/Actes Sud, 2006), „Le Livre des prodiges, anthiologie des Karâmât des saints de l'islam“ (Sindbad/'Actes Sud, 2003), „La Part de l'étranger_La traduction de la poésie dans la culture arabe“ (Sindbad/'Actes Sud, 2007).


Amnon Raz- Krakotzkin

"Binationalismus und die Kritik des Zionismus"

Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin ist einer der prominentesten Befürworter des Binationalismus als Ausweg aus dem israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt. Der christlich-jüdische Diskurs der frühen Neuzeit und die Ideengeschichte des Zionismus bilden die Themenschwerpunkte des Professors für Jüdische Geschichte an der Ben-Gurion University. Publikationen (Auswahl): „Exile et Binationalisme” (Paris); „Orientalism, Jewish Studies and Israeli Society” (auf Hebräisch). Er war 2003/04 Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin und ist Mitglied des Forschungsprogramms "Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa". Er ist Autor unter anderem von „The Censor, the Editor, and the Text: The Catholic Church and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon in the Sixteenth Century“ (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2007)


Samia Mehrez

"Ägyptens Kulturkriege: Politik und Alltag"

Samia Mehrez, Professorin für moderne arabische Literatur an der American University in Cairo, hat die kulturpolitischen Kämpfe im Ägypten des 21. Jahrhunderts ins Zentrum ihrer jüngsten Forschungen gestellt. Dabei greift sie auf analytische Ansätze der Cultural Studies, Übersetzungstheorie und Gender Studies zurück. In Kürze erscheint ihre jüngste Publikation, „Egypt’s Culture Wars: Politics and Practice“ (Routledge, 2008). Lesen Sie hier einen Auszug...


Rabih Mroué

"Who Is Afraid of Representation?" - Theatermachen in Beirut

Rabih Mroué ist ein Performance-Künstler und Filmemacher, der zwischen dem Nahen Osten und Westeuropa pendelt. Seine direkte Auseinandersetzung mit der politischen und sozialen Realität geht mit einer durchdachten Formsprache einher: In seinen semidokumentarischen Arbeiten verwischt die Grenze zwischen Fiktion und Realität. Er studierte Theater an der Université Libanaise in Beirut und produziert seit 1990 seine eigenen Stücke. In Europa wird er seit seinen Auftritten in Festivals wie Theater der Welt und In Transit gefeiert. Einige seiner letzten Stücke waren „How Nancy Wished that Everything was an April Fool’s Joke” (2007), „Make me stop smoking“ (2006), „Who’s Afraid of Representation” (2004), „Looking for a Missing Employee" (2003).


Saadi Youssef

Zu Poesie und dem besetzten Irak

Saadi Youssef ist einer der angesehensten irakischen Dichter. Wegen seines politischen Engagements musste er Irak verlassen, als Saddam Hussein an die Macht kam. Es folgten unzählige Exilstationen. Heute lebt er in London. Als Übersetzer hat er u. a. Walt Whitman, Constantine Cavafy, Federico García Lorca und George Orwell ins Arabische übertragen. Youssef ist Autor unter andrerem von „Troubled Waters“ (poems, Al Mada, Beirut 1995), „Without an Alphabet, Without a Face“ (Minnesota 2002) „Fern vom ersten Himmel“ (Verlag Hans Schiler, Berlin 2004).