2021, Thu, Aug 19

Unrendered facts

Tali Liberman | Unrendered Road | © Tali Liberman

Tali Liberman | Unrendered Road | © Tali Liberman

Counter narratives performed out loud in a hotel room, the rendering of psychogeographies that an algorithm cannot find and a celebration at the end of the world. Bringing together films and a performance, out of doors Thursday program explores how alternative histories, narratives and stories open up possibilities for refusal.

In her film Unrendered Road, Tali Liberman questions knowledge systems such as Google Maps and the political realities they create. In Cemile Sahin‘s new essay film Bad People, Bad News, three Kurdish women meet in a presidential suite to celebrate the death of Saddam Hussein and Sonja Khalecallon, Cibelle Cavalli Bastos’s Drag Queen and chaotic High Femme, sings and tells tales of the retro-future from her establishment: Las Venus Resort Palace Hotel.

This event is part of the year-long program of What Stays – Archiving Care, a collaborative project between transmediale, the JUNGE Akademie of Akademie der Künste, Berlin and the Goethe-Institut Slovakia.

Do., 19. August 2021

Unrendered facts

Tali Liberman | Unrendered Road | © Tali Liberman

Tali Liberman | Unrendered Road | © Tali Liberman

In einem Hotelzimmer werden laut Gegenerzählungen deklamiert, von Algorithmen nicht erfassbare Psychogeografien werden erstellt und am Ende der Welt findet eine Feier statt. Das out of doors Programm am Donnerstag geht in Filmen und einer Performance der Frage nach, welcher Raum für Verweigerungen sich durch alternative Geschichtsschreibungen, Narrative und Erzählungen eröffnet.

Tali Liberman hinterfragt in ihrem Film Unrendered Road Wissensordnungen (wie Google Maps) und die von ihnen erzeugten politischen Realitäten. In Cemile Sahins neuem Essayfilm Bad People, Bad News treffen sich drei kurdische Frauen in einer Präsidentensuite, um den Tod von Sadam Hussein zu feiern und Sonja Khalecallon, Cibelle Cavalli Bastos’ Drag Queen und chaotische High Femme, singt und erzählt von der Retrozukunft ihres Establishments: dem Las Venus Resort Palace Hotel.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil des einjährigen Residency Programms What Stays – Archiving Care in Kooperation mit transmediale, JUNGE Akademie der Akademie der Künste, Berlin and Goethe-Institut Slowakei.