2020, Fri, Nov 132020, Sun, Nov 15

Installations

::vtol:: destructor, Interspecifics: Recurrent Morphing Radio, The Disappearance of Music

destructor

Sound installation by ::vtol::

For years, Dmitry Morozov has been working intensely under the alias ::vtol:: to one day be replaced by robots. That’s why he builds them himself, most recently a device that bursts bubble wrap, as well as an organ operated by breathing called Last Breath, with which he could literally make music until his last breath. At HKW, he presents the sound installation destructor, in which music and radio noises are recorded on a looped tape while being exposed to electromagnetic radiation that disrupts or destroys the sound. The destructive process becomes a creative one – and the material becomes absolute music that is constantly evolving.

Recurrent Morphing Radio

Sound installation by Interspecifics

Why, although personalization is increasing, does music sound increasingly streamlined? The Interspecifics collective, founded in Mexico City, consists of Leslie Garcia, Paloma López, Emmanuel Anguiano and Felipe Rebolledo. Their work deliberately takes up their local environment where precarity enables new forms of creativity and ancient technologies meet cutting edge forms of production. They aim for social inclusion, cross-disciplinary practices and open knowledge transfer. The Recurrent Morphing Radio is a system that is trained daily with music. After it has extracted and restructured the music’s features, it generates new sounds from it. In an installation at HKW for The Disappearance of Music, Interspecifics use the result to make audible how economic processes homogenize the reception and production of music.

The Disappearance of Music

Video installation

Most live performances have been canceled indefinitely, and yet life goes on for musicians. In the video series The Disappearance of Music, Lucrecia Dalt, Barbara Morgenstern, Lamin Fofana, Matias Aguayo, Meridian Brothers mastermind Eblis Álvarez and SOTE, among others, document the genesis of new pieces of music, mostly digitally produced, in videos they shot themselves. This offers lively insights into their work as long as the shared experience is impossible.

Fr, 13. November 2020So, 15. November 2020

Installationen

::vtol:: destructor, Interspecifics: Recurrent Morphing Radio, Das Verschwinden der Musik

destructor

Klanginstallation von ::vtol::

Dmitry Morozov arbeitet unter dem Namen ::vtol:: seit Jahren intensiv daran, eines Tages von Robotern abgelöst zu werden. Deswegen baut er sie selbst, zuletzt unter anderem eine Gerätschaft, die Luftpolsterfolie platzen lässt, sowie eine von Atmung betriebene Orgel namens Last Breath, mit der er buchstäblich bis zu seinem letzten Atemzug Musik machen könnte. Im HKW präsentiert er die Klanginstallation destructor, in der ein gelooptes Tape mit Musik und Radiogeräuschen bespielt wird, zugleich aber elektromagnetischer Strahlung ausgesetzt wird, die den Klang (zer-)stört. Aus dem destruktiven Prozess wird so ein kreativer – und aus dem Material absolute Musik, die ständig in Evolution begriffen ist.Challenging Collections

Recurrent Morphing Radio

Klanginstallation von Interspecifics

Warum klingt Musik in Zeiten zunehmender Personalisierung zunehmend stromlinienförmiger? Das in Mexiko-Stadt gegründete Kollektiv Interspecifics besteht aus Leslie Garcia, Paloma López, Emmanuel Anguiano und Felipe Rebolledo. Mit ihrer Arbeit greifen sie bewusst ihr lokales Umfeld auf, lassen sich von prekären Verhältnissen zu neuen Formen der Kreativität inspirieren und verbinden historische Technologien mit innovativen Produktionsformen. Dabei zielen sie auf gesellschaftliche Teilhabe, Interdisziplinarität und offenen Wissenstransfer. Das Recurrent Morphing Radio ist ein System, das täglich mit Musik trainiert wird. Nachdem es ihre Merkmale extrahiert und restrukturiert hat, generiert es daraus neuen Sound. Für Das Verschwinden der Musik machen Interspecifics mit dem Ergebnis in einer Installation im HKW hörbar, wie ökonomische Prozesse die Rezeption und Produktion von Musik homogenisieren.

Das Verschwinden der Musik

Videoinstallation

Die meisten Live-Auftritte sind auf unbestimmte Zeit abgesagt, und doch geht das Leben für Musiker*innen weiter. In der Videoserie Das Verschwinden der Musik dokumentieren unter anderem Lucrecia Dalt, Barbara Morgenstern, Lamin Fofana, Matias Aguayo, Meridian-Brothers-Mastermind Eblis Álvarez und SOTE mit selbstgedrehten Videos den Entstehungsprozess neuer, überwiegend mit digitalen Mitteln produzierter Musikstücke. Sie geben so einen lebendigen Einblick in ihr Schaffen, derweil das gemeinsame Erlebnis nicht möglich ist.