The Disappearance of Music


May–November 2020

Mark Dorf | untitled28, from the series PATH, 2012

Mark Dorf | untitled28, from the series PATH, 2012

Is music conceivable without musicians, instruments and recordings? “Traditional” instruments are becoming less and less important; easily accessible programs now make it possible to produce professional tracks even on a smartphone and software tools like auto-tune are becoming normalized. How does this change music, how does it change the live experience? And how are musicians dealing with the actual disappearance of concerts during the current pandemic?

Universally available, easy-to-use music tools are creating a new kind of musician: Anyone can produce music without any basic musical knowledge. In electronic music in particular, artists are breaking new ground in performances. The physical object of the sound carrier is also becoming a memory – files don’t develop a patina. What is this shakeup doing to the character of music? What new forms of live concerts will arise? The discursive music festival The Disappearance of Music in November 2020 revolves around these questions.

The festival’s title takes on an additional edge in the current COVID-19 pandemic: Music has actually disappeared from public life; concerts are only possible as live streams or under strict protective measures. In the run-up to the festival, a video series beginning in May 2020 shows how musicians are using the current restrictions productively: They digitally produce a new piece of music and document the process using DIY video. A new “making of” is issued every week. This allows the audience to experience the creation process – precisely what is otherwise impossible with digitally produced music since it is often created in several layers over a longer period of time.

Video series with contributions from, among many others, Lucrecia Dalt, Barbara Morgenstern, Matias Aguayo, Lamin Fofana, Tellavision, Eblis Álvarez (Meridian Brothers)

Video series and festival curated by Zuri Maria Daiß and Detlef Diederichsen

Part of The New Alphabet

Video series
Until autumn 2020

Concerts, talks and more
Nov 13-15, 2020

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Videos



Natalie Beridze: Holes




Ale Hop: The Very Little Band




Lamin Fofana: Note on Planetary Living




Lucrecia Dalt: Cosa


Camera and interview: Chris Shields


Matias Aguayo: New in the Forest




SOTE: Synthetic Wood


feat. Mazda Damadi (tonbak) and Arash Bolouri (video)


Guido Möbius: Zwiefacher


feat. Andrea Belfi (hihat) and Bettina Weber (violin)
Video: Anna Shirin


Tellavision: Love from a Distance


Video & Music: Tellavision


Barbara Morgenstern: Der Witz


Thanks to Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Potzlow-Lindenhagen


Meridian Brothers: Bucles y operadores en gran confrontación (presentando al Aparato del progreso)


Aparato del progreso built by Eblis Álvarez and Mateo Rivano
Camera: Bibiana Rojas

Das Programm des HKW, inklusive der Ausstellungen, findet zunächst bis einschließlich Sonntag, 01.11.2020 wie geplant statt. Mehr…

Das Verschwinden der Musik


Mai–November 2020

Mark Dorf | untitled28, aus der Serie PATH, 2012

Mark Dorf | untitled28, aus der Serie PATH, 2012

Ist Musik ohne Musiker*innen, Instrumente und Tonträger denkbar? „Klassische“ Instrumente verlieren immer mehr an Bedeutung, mit leicht zugänglichen Programmen lassen sich heute selbst auf dem Smartphone professionelle Tracks produzieren, Software-Tools wie Autotune gewinnen an Normalität. Wie verändert dies die Musik, wie das Live-Erlebnis? Und wie gehen Musiker*innen mit dem tatsächlichen Verschwinden von Konzerten in der aktuellen Pandemie um?

Universell verfügbare, leicht zu bedienende Musik-Tools bringen einen neuen Typus Musiker*in hervor: Jede*r kann Musik produzieren, ohne musikalische Grundkenntnisse. Insbesondere in der elektronischen Musik gehen Künstler*innen neue Wege bei der Aufführung. Auch das physische Objekt Tonträger wird zur Reminiszenz – Dateien entwickeln keine Patina. Was macht diese Neuordnung mit dem Charakter von Musik? Welche neuen Formen von Live-Konzerten entstehen? Diese Fragen umkreist das diskursive Musikfestival Das Verschwinden der Musik im November 2020.

Der Festivaltitel bekommt in der derzeitigen Situation der Sars-CoV-2-Pandemie eine zusätzliche Schärfe: Musik ist tatsächlich aus dem öffentlichen Leben verschwunden; Konzerte sind nur als Livestreams oder ggf. unter strengen Schutzvorkehrungen möglich. Im Vorfeld des Festivals zeigt eine Videoserie ab Mai 2020, wie Musiker*innen die momentanen Einschränkungen produktiv nutzen: Sie produzieren digital ein neues Musikstück und dokumentieren den Prozess per DIY-Video. Jede Woche erscheint ein neues Making Of. So kann das Publikum den Entstehungsprozess miterleben – also das, was bei digital produzierter Musik sonst nicht möglich ist, da sie meist in mehreren Schichten über einen längeren Zeitraum entsteht.

Festival mit Konzerten von s t a r g a z e, Andi Toma & Jan St. Werner (Mouse on Mars), Olivia Block, DeForrest Brown Jr., Forbes Graham, Bonnie Jones, George Lewis, Adi Gelbart & KNM; Vorträgen und Installtionen von Holly Herndon & Mat Dryhurst, Agnès Gayraud, Interspecifics u.v.a.

Videoserie mit Beiträgen von Lucrecia Dalt, Barbara Morgenstern, Matias Aguayo, Lamin Fofana, Tellavision, Eblis Álvarez (Meridian Brothers) u.v.a.

Videoserie und Festival kuratiert von Zuri Maria Daiß und Detlef Diederichsen

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Videoserie
Bis Herbst 2020

Konzerte, Talks und mehr
13.–15.11.2020

Konzerte: 13€/10€
Tickets

Talks, Filme, Installationen: Eintritt frei

Um die Gesundheit unserer Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen zu schützen und weiterhin zur Eindämmung der Corona-Pandemie beizutragen, finden alle Veranstaltungen unter den geltenden Schutz- und Hygienebestimmungen statt. Im Fall von Programmänderungen aufgrund der aktuellen Situation werden Ticketinhaber*innen zeitnah per E-Mail informiert.
Wichtige Informationen zu Ihrem Besuch

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung