Sat, Sep 21: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

2018, Thu, Nov 01

Radiophonic Funkkolleg I: The Algorithmic Ear

With Wolfgang Ernst, Flora Lysen, Beatriz Ferreyra, and Stefan Maier

Contemporary listening habits have developed over the course of the twentieth century in the face of the possibilities and limitations of the technical mediation of sound. Today, digitalization is dissolving the original conditions of this radiophonic constellation. This shift is opening up new perspectives on the technology of hearing: What are the paths taken by algorithms in radiophonic space? How do our listening habits connect with the devices through which we receive and transmit sounds? Which new areas of knowledge are introduced and which are neglected in these shifts with regard to transmission technologies? What do machines hear?

Media scientist Wolfgang Ernst opens the Radiophonic Funkkolleg with a plea for the algorithmic ear. Art historian Flora Lysen examines the beginnings of broadcasting on the fringes of radio and brain research. In her performance, the composer Beatriz Ferreyra plays with the habits of the radiophonic ear by dissolving the dividing lines between body and studio apparatus. The musician Stefan Maier hands over his compositions to an algorithm and thus approaches the hearing practices of the machines.

Wolfgang Ernst: Voice Memory and the Algorithmic Ear
The era of classical broadcasting is drawing to a close. Digitalization allows for new transmission technologies and irritates the phonocentric trust in the presence of the radio voice. This melancholic moment holds a chance: Radio, the ephemeral broadcast par excellence, only becomes truly audible as an object of media archaeology at the time of its disappearance as a mass medium. Radiophonic memory is also that of its apparatuses—from “His Master’s Voice” (gramophone) to the interference heard in live tape recordings of Maria Callas’ arias. Today, algorithms permit new perspectives on the radiophonic archive: a plea for the computer-based, media-archaeological ear.

Flora Lysen: Brainwave Broadcasting and the “Radio Sense”
In 1925, an Oregon newspaper reported on a “Human Brain heard by Radio.” In the early to mid-twentieth century, amalgamations of “brain-radio” and “radio-brains” emerged through a spectral imaginary: the conception of an atmospheric spectrum of transmission that blurred boundaries and dissolved distances between machines, bodies, and brains. Yet, imagined possibilities of “etherealization” were also shaped and constrained by actual material radio-technologies used to examine nerves. Flora Lysen analyzes historical examples of intercrossings between nerve research and radio research, showing how a spectral imaginary connecting radios and brains emerged in hybrid spaces for performing science: neurophysiologists speaking about electrical bodies in radio shows, nervous recordings being transmitted as “brainwave recordings,” and science reporters speculating on the cerebral basis for “human receptivity.”

Beatriz Ferreyra: Not looking at Sound
Acousmatic sound refers to a sound whose origin cannot be seen. The notion goes back to Pythagoras who taught his students from behind a curtain to let his voice be heard undisturbed by vision. Beatriz Ferreyra explores the possibilities of acousmatic music and its relationship to radiophonics, drawing on her collaboration with Pierre Schaeffer.

Stefan Maier: The Arranger
Machine listening demonstrates how artificial intelligences not only “hear” sound by way of linear signal processing but also actively “listen” based on abstract statistical modelling. The dawn of such artificial listeners implies that the capacity of listening might not exclusively belong to the human after all, and that the “machinic listening” native to these tools might differ considerably from our own. However, the potential forms of difference that these machine-listeners might offer seems out of reach for the human ear. Stefan Maier’s contribution centers on arrangements of a precomposed work that are generated by machine-listeners. Each arranger, uniquely trained to rearrange Maier’s composition unpredictably, gives a glimpse into the inner-workings of an artifactual listening relationship. The various arrangements of Maier’s composition are transmitted via a radio-translation system in tandem with the original work, thereby creating a dialogue wherein each listener can explore the interplay between composerly intention and machine intelligence.

Part of Der Ohrenmensch

Fr 24.5.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr…

Do, 01. November 2018

Radiophones Funkkolleg I: Das Algorithmische Ohr

Mit Wolfgang Ernst, Flora Lysen, Beatriz Ferreyra und Stefan Maier

Das Hören hat sich im 20. Jahrhundert in Auseinandersetzung mit den Möglichkeiten und Begrenzungen des technisch vermittelten Klangs entwickelt. Doch seit Beginn der Digitalisierung lösen sich die ursprünglichen Bedingungen dieser „Radiophonie“ auf. Der Umbruch ermöglicht neue Perspektiven auf die Technik und Technologie des Hörens: Welche Wege suchen sich Algorithmen im radiophonen Raum? Wie verknüpften und verknüpfen sich unsere Hörgewohnheiten mit den Apparaten, über die wir Geräusche empfangen und senden? Welche Wissensbereiche eröffnen und verschließen sich im Zuge übertragungstechnischer Umbrüche? Was hören Maschinen?

Der Medienwissenschaftler Wolfgang Ernst leitet das Radiophone Funkkolleg mit einem Plädoyer für das Algorithmische Ohr ein, dem ungewohnte ebenso wie maßgeschneiderte Klangangebote zu Gehör gebracht werden. Die Kunsthistorikerin Flora Lysen untersucht die Anfänge der Radiophonie an den Grenzgebieten zwischen Radio- und Gehirnforschung. Die Musikerin Beatriz Ferreyra spielt in ihrer Performance mit den Gewohnheiten des übertragungsgewohnten Ohrs, indem sie die Trennlinien zwischen Körper und Studioapparatur auflöst. Der Musiker Stefan Maier übergibt seine Kompositionen einem Algorithmus und nähert sich so dem Hören der Maschinen an.

Wolfgang Ernst: Stimmgedächtnis und das algorithmische Ohr
Die Epoche des klassischen Rundfunks neigt sich dem Ende zu. Die Digitalisierung ermöglicht neue Technologien der Übertragung; artifizielle Sprecher*innen verunsichern das phonozentrische Vertrauen in die Präsenz der Radiostimme. Dieser melancholische Moment birgt eine Chance: Radio, die ephemere Sendeform par excellence, wird als medienarchäologischer Erkenntnisgegenstand erst wirklich hörbar im Moment seines Verschwindens als Massenmedium. Das radiophone Gedächtnis ist auch das seiner Apparate – von „His Master’s Voice“ (Grammophon) bis zu den Interferenzen in Tonbandmitschnitten von Maria Callas’ Arien. Nun sind es Algorithmen, die neue Erschließungen des radiophonen Archivs gestatten: ein Plädoyer für das computerbasierte, radikal medienarchäologische Gehör.

Beatriz Ferreyra: Not Looking at Sound
Akusmatik bezeichnet eine Musik, deren Quelle nicht sichtbar ist. Der Begriff geht auf Pythagoras zurück, der einen Vorhang zwischen sich und seine Schüler spannen ließ, um das Zuhören vor visuellen Ablenkungen zu schützen. Beatriz Ferreyra greift auf ihre langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Pierre Schaeffer zurück, um die Möglichkeiten akusmatischer Musik und deren Verhältnis zur Radiophonie zu untersuchen.

Flora Lysen: Brainwave Broadcasting and the “Radio Sense”
1925 berichtete eine Zeitung in Oregon von einem Radio, das ein menschliches Gehirn „gehört“ habe. Dahinter stand die Vorstellung von einer Frequenz, über die Maschinen ebenso wie Körper und Gehirne senden und empfangen könnten. Diese Vorstellung ermöglichte in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts einen Diskurs über Gehirn-Radios und Radio-Gehirne. Gleichzeitig wurden diese „Äther“-Fantasien von den Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der Enzephalografie beeinflusst. Flora Lysen analysiert historische Beispiele für Verflechtungen zwischen Hirnforschung und Radio(wellen)forschung und beschreibt den hybriden Raum, in dem sich diese jungen Wissenschaften entwickelten. Sie berichtet von Neurophysiolog*innen, die in Radiosendungen über elektrische Körper sprechen, Nervenbahnmessungen, die als „Gehirnwellen“ übertragen werden; und Wissenschaftsjournalist*innen, die über die zerebralen Grundlagen menschlicher „Empfänglichkeit“ spekulieren.

Stefan Maier: The Arranger
Künstliche Intelligenz kann nicht nur mittels linearer Signalverarbeitung „hören“; basierend auf statistischen Modellierungen kann sie auch aktiv „zuhören“. Das Aufkommen solcher künstlichen Zuhörer zeigt einerseits, dass das Zuhören keine genuin menschliche Fähigkeit ist, und deutet andererseits an, dass sich das maschinelle beträchtlich vom menschlichen Zuhören unterscheidet. Die konkrete Erfahrung dieses anderen Hörens scheint fürs menschliche Ohr unerreichbar. Stefan Maiers Beitrag gibt Einblicke in die Vorgänge maschinellen Hörens. Spezifisch trainierte „Zuhörmaschinen“ generieren neue und unvorhersehbare Stücke aus einer musikalischen Komposition. Diese Arrangements werden parallel zu Maiers ursprünglicher Komposition und über ein Kopfhörersystem übertragen, sodass ein Dialog entsteht, in dem die Zuhörer*innen das Zusammenspiel von menschlicher und maschineller Komposition studieren können.

Teil von Der Ohrenmensch