Sun, May 27: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information

2018, Sat, Mar 17

Current Conjunctures of Racism

Image: Processed version of the work of art Impossible triangle, 1934 with special permission © Oscar Reutersvärd / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, Design: NODE Berlin Oslo, Detail

Image: Processed version of the work of art Impossible triangle, 1934 with special permission © Oscar Reutersvärd / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, Design: NODE Berlin Oslo, Detail

How is racism produced and reproduced as a network of social relations in global capitalism today? What forms of racism have emerged – in view of the changes to the nation state system on the one hand and the increased nationalism in many places in the world on the other? What racist structures are at the bottom of current class politics? Do we need to update our understanding of class? Étienne Balibar’s diagnosis in Race, Nation, Class seems more timely than ever. In order to counteract the political estrangement of society, a new class politics is needed, based on an efficient anti-racism. Equally significant is Immanuel Wallerstein’s prognosis that only by moving toward an international class consciousness can we overcome the escalation in national identity and racism. The participants in the three sessions Racisms Today?, The Nation-Form: Histories and Presence and Rethinking Class and Class Politics Today discuss the current conjunctures of racism with regard to class relations and nationalisms today, developing strategies for a new, critical anti-racism.

Part 1
Uncertainties and Unsettlements: Migration, Religion, Free Speech
How can the relation between already existing uncertainties between race, class and nation be re-theorized? What are the race/class/national(ist) dimensions of driving concerns today such as migration, religion, and the authoritarian state?

With Baidik Bhattacharya, Raquel Gutiérrez Aguilar, Shahram Khosravi, Sandro Mezzadra

Part 2
Dangerous Conjunctures and Re-productive Relations
How do these conjunctures draw on gender as constitutive for racial capitalism, racial (neo)liberalism, and “post-racisms”?

With Zimitri Erasmus, Verónica Gago, Maya Indira Ganesh, Kelly Gillespie, Kaushik Sunder Rajan

Part 3
Fascisms' Re-turns in Digital Times: Re-reading Race, Nation, Class
What are current conjunctures of racism in view of the changes of the nation state, on the one hand? And what would a re-reading of newly emerging fascisms look like through the lens of Race, Nation, Class on the other?

With Brenna Bhandar, Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Nishant Shah, Françoise Vergès

Moderated by David Theo Goldberg and Vanessa Eileen Thompson

Sa, 17. März 2018

Aktuelle Konjunkturen des Rassismus

Bild: auf Grundlage der Arbeit Impossible triangle, 1934 mit freundlicher Genehmigung © Oscar Reutersvärd / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, Design: NODE Berlin Oslo, Detail

Bild: auf Grundlage der Arbeit Impossible triangle, 1934 mit freundlicher Genehmigung © Oscar Reutersvärd / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, Design: NODE Berlin Oslo, Detail

Wie wird Rassismus heute als gesellschaftliches Beziehungsgefüge im globalen Kapitalismus produziert und reproduziert? Welche Formen von Rassismus haben sich herausgebildet – angesichts eines sich verändernden Nationalstaatensystems einerseits und erstarkender Nationalismen an vielen Orten der Welt andererseits? Welche rassistischen Strukturen liegen aktuellen Klassenpolitiken zugrunde? Muss der Klassenbegriff erneuert werden? Aktueller denn je erscheint Étienne Balibars Diagnose in Rasse, Klasse, Nation. Ambivalente Identitäten: Um der politischen Entfremdung der Gesellschaft entgegenzuwirken, bedarf es einer neuen Klassenpolitik auf Grundlage eines effizienten Antirassismus. Ebenso gültig ist Immanuel Wallersteins Prognose, dass nur die Annäherung an ein internationales Klassenbewusstsein das Erstarken von nationaler Identität und Rassismus überwinden kann. Die Teilnehmer*innen der drei Sessions Rassismen Heute?, Die Nation-Form: Geschichte und Gegenwart und Klasse und Klassenpolitik neu denken diskutieren mit dem Publikum die aktuellen Konjunkturen des Rassismus in Bezug auf heutige Klassenverhältnisse und Nationalismen und entwickeln Strategien für einen neuen, kritischen Antirassismus.

Teil 1
Ungewissheiten und Unruhen: Migration, Religion, Meinungsfreiheit
Wie lässt sich die Beziehung der bereits bestehenden Unsicherheiten zwischen den Kategorien Rasse, Klasse und Nation theoretisch neu fassen? Was sind die rassistischen/klassistischen/nationalistischen Dimensionen der dringlichsten Fragen der Gegenwart, wie Migration, Religion und autoritäre Staaten?

Mit Baidik Bhattacharya, Raquel Gutiérrez Aguilar, Shahram Khosravi, Sandro Mezzadra

Teil 2
Gefährliche Konjunkturen und Reproduktionsverhältnisse
Inwiefern stützen sich diese Konjunkturen auf Geschlechterverhältnisse als konstituierendes Moment für rassifizierenden Kapitalismus und (Neo-)liberalismus sowie auf “Post-Rassismen“?

Mit Zimitri Erasmus, Verónica Gago, Maya Indira Ganesh, Kelly Gillespie, Kaushik Sunder Rajan

Teil 3
Die Wiederkehr von Faschismen im Zeitalter der Digitalität: Rereading Rasse, Klasse, Nation
Wie verorten sich die aktuellen Konjunkturen des Rassismus in einem veränderten Nationalstaatensystem und wie könnte eine Interpretation des wiedererstarkten Faschismus aus der Perspektive von Rasse, Klasse, Nation aussehen?

Mit Brenna Bhandar, Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Nishant Shah, Françoise Vergès

Moderation: David Theo Goldberg und Vanessa Eileen Thompson