Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

Curatorial Statement

What Constitutes the Specificity of Racism Today? What Makes Contemporary Re-Engagement with Race, Nation, Class Topical and Attractive?

Over the course of the 1980s, philosopher Étienne Balibar and historian Immanuel Wallerstein along with invited guests convened multiple seminars at the Maison des sciences de l’homme (MSH) in Paris, led by Fernand Braudel at the time. Conducted in the spirit of a renewal of Marxism, the historical constructions of their chosen central categories–”race”, “nation”, and ”class”–were to be re-evaluated in light of recent conjunctural developments. What implications did racism and ethnicisation carry for left-wing politics, as well as for a theoretical analysis of social change on a global scale?

Emerging from these discussions was the book Race, Nation, Class. Ambiguous Identities. First published in French in 1988, the series of dialogical essays would soon become a standard reference work in scholarship on racism, not least due to Balibar’s formulation of the notion of ”racism without races”. According to Balibar and Wallerstein’s shared diagnosis, racism posed one of the greatest challenges to emancipatory and solidary visions for the future.

One of the volume’s most consequential steps was to conduct a deeper investigation into a series of capitalism’s paradoxes and, in this way, develop an understanding of social organisation in such a system as always unstable. Theoretically, racism and nationalism ought to be problematic for the profit motive simply because they restrict potential exploitable labour by seeking to exclude or displace groups of people and ultimately make the destruction of human beings thinkable to begin with. In turn, states in the nation form appear problematic not only because they regulate, but sometimes even prevent capital flows. Should not political efforts be directed towards sweeping away these categories and systems? Precisely because they continue to reappear – almost as a kind of historical Wiedergänger or revenant–we require an explanation as to why they have not yet been abolished and what condition they find themselves in today.

The book’s dialogue between the two scholars opened up a space for new problematics and research approaches, adopting a double, sometimes confusing perspective: namely, a perspective in which the historical constructions not only discretely, but for the sake of determining the present necessarily became visible in oftentimes contradictory interaction. For both Balibar and Wallerstein, the question of racism was connected to the observation of a social formation which was continually reconstituting itself. It is this combination of sociological diagnosis, political engagement and theoretical work which characterised the project then and continues to make it attractive even today.

Particularly evident is the critique of Marxist discourses, which on the other hand constitute the foundation of their further development at the same time. Their reflections also exhibit influences from theories of anti-Semitism and those emerging from the anti-colonial and anti-apartheid struggles, as well as theories from the civil rights movement, the migrants’ movement and the women’s movement. Feminist insights concerning sexism and the nation or transnational household structures also make an appearance. The ‘productive delocalisation’ of these influences–that is, their synthesis and combination with insights taken from an unorthodox Marxism–is what makes the book so powerful. Such a synthesis demands the acceptance of Marxist premises on the one hand while, on the other, calling for a modification of and partial opposition to, or at least a shift of emphasis in Marxist themes.

30 years after the book’s initial publication, we invite both theoreticians together with many international guests and the audience as a whole to systematically analyse the interrelation of the ambiguous categories of ”race”, ”nation”, ”class”, as well as gender prominently conceptualised in the book against the backdrop of discussions of current developments. Theses on racism from a global perspective have re-emerged in discussions by prominent authors for several years now, such as David Theo Goldberg, who diagnoses the current ”post-racial situation” as an updating and shifting of racializing categories, coining the term ”anthropo-racial”. Also of note are the further elaborations of some of Balibar’s ideas, in which he speaks of a proliferation of racist categories – and with it a simultaneous intensive and extensive expansion of racism. Characterising all of these approaches is the diagnosis that racism links up with poverty and precarisation in a new fashion. This implies, not least, a concept of class relations which has yet to receive attention in racism scholarship. To pose the question in heightened form, is it not only the national-social form of the state which has gone into crisis (as countless approaches already claim), but also the analysis of class relations and racism itself–hereby requiring us to clarify whether and how theoretical renewal could and must emerge?

These arguments are to be discussed here in the context of reconceptualised, temporary spaces of knowledge production organised along transdisciplinary and transnational lines. In a certain sense, the discussions at the MSH in Paris also represented such a space. The organisation of the seminars itself spoke of a ”praxis of theory”, understood as continuous engagement or dialogue between positions, initiating a process of mutual understanding through the common clarification of questions and terminologies. Then as now, the challenge for today is not only to pose the theoretical questions in new ways, but rather to integrate them into the horizon of a transformation of social formations and critical praxis. In methodological terms, this means stabilising well-known concepts only to the extent they can be simultaneously disoriented, in order to in this way initiate a process of thinking about other possibilities. This is precisely the aim of this conference–the Haus der Kulturen der Welt serves here as a surrogate location for future forms of knowledge production.

The heart of the conference is thus quite purposefully the question as to what a ”praxis of theory” could mean today, not only as reflection in the style of academic practice, but as an act of socio-political negotiation at a time in which ”dangerous conjunctures” come to the fore in the form of populist and authoritarian politics.

Manuela Bojadžijev, Katrin Klingan

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Kuratorisches Statement

Was ist die Spezifik des heutigen Rassismus? Was macht eine Wiederbeschäftigung mit Rasse, Klasse, Nation heute attraktiv und aktuell?

Im Verlauf der 1980er Jahre trafen sich der Philosoph Étienne Balibar und der Historiker und Soziologe Immanuel Wallerstein mit eingeladenen Gästen mehrfach zu Seminaren am damals von Fernand Braudel geleiteten Maison des Sciences de l’Homme (MSH) in Paris. Die historischen Konstruktionen der von ihnen ausgewählten Leitkategorien „Rasse“, „Nation“ und „Klasse“ sollten angesichts konjunktureller Entwicklungen im Sinne einer Erneuerung marxistischer Ideen neu bestimmt werden. Welche Rolle spielten Rassismus und Ethnifizierung für linke Politik sowie für eine theoretische Analyse gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen im Weltmaßstab?

Aus diesen Diskussionen entstand das dialogisch in Essays aufgebaute Buch Rasse, Klasse, Nation. Ambivalente Identitäten, das 1988 erstmals auf Französisch erschien und zu einem Standardwerk der Rassismusforschung avancierte; nicht zuletzt, weil Balibar darin die Zeitdiagnose vom „Rassismus ohne Rassen“ ausformuliert hatte. Rassismus, so die gemeinsame Diagnose von Balibar und Wallerstein, stelle eine der größten Herausforderungen an emanzipative und solidarische Vorstellungen der Zukunft dar.

Eine der folgenschweren Überlegungen des Bandes besteht darin, einer Reihe von grundlegenden Paradoxien des Kapitalismus nachzuspüren und auf diese Weise die gesellschaftliche Organisation in einem solchen System als stets instabil zu analysieren. Eigentlich müssten Rassismus und Nationalismus schon allein mit Blick auf Gewinninteressen äußerst problematisch sein, weil sie das Potenzial an auszubeutender Arbeit beschränken – zielen sie doch auf Ausgrenzung, Vertreibung und machen nicht zuletzt auch die Vernichtung von Menschen denkbar. Staaten in ihrer Nation-Form wiederum erweisen sich als problematisch, weil sie den Kapitalfluss nicht nur regulieren, sondern auch zuweilen behindern. Müssten politische Anstrengungen nicht dahin gehen, diese Konstruktionen und Systeme hinwegzufegen? Gerade weil sie sich als historische Wiedergänger erweisen, bedarf es einer Erklärung, warum sie noch nicht aufgelöst sind und in welchem Zustand sie sich heute befinden.

Der im Buch festgehaltene Dialog zwischen den beiden Wissenschaftlern eröffnete Raum für Problematiken und Untersuchungsansätze, die eine doppelte, manchmal verwirrende Perspektive einnehmen: eine Perspektive, in der die historischen Konstruktionen für eine Bestimmung der Gegenwart nicht nur diskret, sondern notwendigerweise in einem bisweilen widersprüchlichen Zusammenspiel erkennbar werden. Für Balibar wie auch Wallerstein war mit der Frage nach dem Rassismus die Beobachtung einer sich immer wieder neu konstituierenden Gesellschaftsformation verbunden. Es ist diese Verbindung aus Zeitdiagnose, politischem Engagement und theoretischer Arbeit, die das Unternehmen damals auszeichnete und bis heute attraktiv macht.

Deutlich zeigt sich die Kritik an marxistischen Diskursen, die andererseits zugleich das Fundament ihrer Weiterentwicklung bilden. In den Überlegungen zeichnen sich Einflüsse von Theorien des Antisemitismus ab, Theorien, die aus den anti-kolonialen und Anti-Apartheid-Kämpfen ebenso wie aus der Civil Rights-Bewegung und den Kämpfen der Migration und der Frauen hervorgegangen sind. Feministische Einsichten zu Sexismus und Nation oder zu transnationalen Haushaltsstrukturen finden Eingang in den Diskurs. Die „produktive Entortung“ dieser Einflüsse und ihre Kombination mit Einsichten eines unorthodoxen Marxismus machen das Buch so stark. Eine solche Synthese erforderte einerseits die Akzeptanz marxistischer Prämissen, andererseits ihre Modifikation sowie teilweise eine Entgegensetzung oder zumindest einen Richtungswechsel marxistischer Themen.

30 Jahre nach Erscheinen des Buches möchten wir gemeinsam mit den beiden Theoretikern, vielen weiteren internationalen Gästen sowie dem Publikum den Zusammenhang der ambivalenten Kategorien von „Rasse“, Klasse, Nation sowie von Geschlecht, das in dem Buch prominent konzeptualisiert wird, vor dem Hintergrund der Diskussion aktueller Entwicklungen systematisch analysieren. Thesen zum Rassismus in globaler Perspektive werden seit einigen Jahren von relevanten Autor*innen diskutiert: beispielsweise die These von David Theo Goldberg, der die gegenwärtige „post-rassistische Situation“ als Aktualisierung und Verschiebung rassifizierender Kategorien zugleich diagnostiziert und als „Anthroporassismus“ bezeichnet; oder die Fortsetzungen eigener Überlegungen von Balibar, in denen er von einer Proliferation rassistischer Kategorien spricht – und damit von einer zugleich intensiven wie extensiven Ausweitung von Rassismus ausgeht. Auffällig an allen Ansätzen ist die Diagnose, dass sich Rassismus auf neue Weise mit Armut und Prekarisierung verbindet. Darin ist ein Konzept von Klassen enthalten, das bislang keine aktuelle Ausarbeitung in der Rassismusforschung erhalten hat. Ließe sich vielleicht zuspitzend fragen, ob nicht nur die national-soziale Form des Staates, wie in zahlreichen Ansätzen konstatiert, sondern auch die Klassenverhältnisse und der Rassismus in die Krise geraten sind und deshalb geklärt werden muss, ob und wie ihre Analyse eine theoretische Erneuerung erfahren können und müssen?

Diese Thesen sollen hier innerhalb neu zu denkender, temporärer Orte der Wissensproduktion diskutiert werden, die trans-disziplinär und trans-national organisiert sind. In gewisser Weise stellte das damalige Unternehmen am MSH in Paris einen solchen Ort dar. Die Organisation der Seminare sprach von einer „Praxis der Theorie“, die sich als kontinuierliches Engagement oder Dialog zwischen Positionen versteht und auf die gemeinsame Klärung von Fragen und Begrifflichkeiten abzielt. Die Herausforderung an die heutige Zeit besteht darin, nicht nur die theoretischen Fragen neu zu formulieren, sondern sie vielmehr in den Horizont einer Veränderung gesellschaftlicher Formationen und der kritischen Praxis zu stellen. Methodisch bedeutet dies, bekannte Begriffe nur insofern zu stabilisieren, als sie zugleich neu orientiert werden können, um einen Prozess des Denkens anderer Möglichkeiten anzustoßen. Genau das will die Veranstaltung versuchen – das Haus der Kulturen der Welt steht hier stellvertretend als Ort für zukünftige Formen der Wissensproduktion.

Das Zentrum der Veranstaltung bildet daher ganz bewusst die Frage, was eine „Praxis der Theorie“ heute bedeuten kann, nicht nur als akademisch eingeübte Reflexion, sondern als Akt der gesellschaftspolitischen Verhandlung in Zeiten, in denen „gefährliche Konjunkturen“ sich durch eine populistische und autoritäre Politik der Stärke abzeichnen.

Manuela Bojadžijev, Katrin Klingan