2017, Fri, Dec 01

Seeds

© knowbotiq | Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata

© knowbotiq | Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata

The technological dissolution between internal and external conditions for life is manifest in the way seeds are handled. Large-scale agronomic projects such as the Great Stalin Plan for the Transformation of Nature, Trofim Lysenko’s anti-genetic experiments, and the beginnings of the “Green Revolution” bear witness to a new attitude toward engineering, in both heredity and environments. At the same time, molecular biology provides fundamental ways to recombine the building blocks of life. A series of conversations explores the practices and ideologies behind the collapse of modification and mutation. A subsequent performance of micro-processions will conjure historical and current moments of the agro-industrial technosphere.

3 pm
Luis Campos, Arren Bar-Even
Heredity and Heresy
Presentation, conversation

The historian of science Luis Campos and the biochemist Arren Bar-Even will touch upon the historical situation of genetics, plant breeding, and agricultural engineering around 1948 in order to ground the scientific underpinnings and ideological tensions of heredity theory and its various technological capacities. In his introductory talk, Luis Campos suggests that the desire to change the biological “inner nature” of heredity has long been related to larger transformations of the technosphere and the varied political contexts of these transformations. How did advances in cellular genetics that promoted the Green Revolution in the West contrast with Lysenko’s pseudoscience that became an official dogma in the Soviet Union in 1948? How did newly emerging fields such as “astrobotany” coalesce with ideas for exporting terrestrial biology to other worlds?

3.45 pm
Arren Bar-Even, Helena Shomar
Non-generic Genetics
Presentation, conversation

Arren Bar-Even and the synthetic biologist Helena Shomar discuss the role of biological engineering from the viewpoint of current laboratory practices. Which opportunities and limits to our understanding of gene-environment-interaction and their metabolic pathways are implicated in state of the art, highly cultivated genetic research? Before their conversation, Arren Bar-Even outlines design practices in synthetic biology. He elaborates on how current modeling capabilities are used to advance plant productivity, providing a new form of intervention into nature, while clarifying that this engineering approach is in constant exchange with the complexities of natural processes themselves. Now, after millions of years of evolution and thousands of years of plant breeding, a combination of molecular-level engineering with natural selection reveals a powerful means to modify and optimize biological systems.

4.15 pm
Helena Shomar, Sophia Roosth
Fields in Mutation
Presentation, conversation

How does the engineering paradigm of industrial synthetic biology affect the concept of what life is? Helena Shomar and the historian of science Sophia Roosth address the present temporal and conceptual transmutations of the essence of life - as a product of heredity, nutrition, and biotechnology. In her contribution, Helena Shomar briefly outlines how synthetic biology's logic of engineering has promoted its growth into a powerful manufacturing industry, and how DNA coding and cell manipulation have thereby optimized the technosphere. Sophia Roosth takes seeds as condensed biological potential not yet grown but promising efflorescence. She treats seeds as both literal and figurative forms of living latency, following two different examples of frozen life: the 1918 flu virus and the Svalbard Global Seed Vault. What is the relationship of time to temperature? Can freezing redirect biological temporalities and futurities? Could coldness synthesize and reassemble biological time?

5 pm
knowbotiq in cooperation with Pablo Alarcón, Nicolas Buzzi, Anna Frei aka Fred Hystère, Angi Nend, Claudia de Serpa Soares
Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata
Performance

The performance conjures up constitutive moments in agrarian-industrial technospheres that radically alter our ideas of bodies and landscapes. In knowbotiq’s interpretation, the scientific alternatives to how our present is being mismanaged are determined by bio-organic vampirism and nanotechnological transformations in life. A ritual micro-procession with audio-visual aids will renegotiate the lack of bodily marked experiences of vulnerability in synthetic natures. The performance looks into social orientations and situatedness in the contingent networks of scientific objects and economic optimizations, with the aim of creating values that are not restricted to material goals.

knowbotiq’s performance is supported by Pro Helvetia, the Swiss Arts Council.

5.30 pm
Final discussion
Arren Bar-Even, knowbotiq, Sophia Roosth, Helena Shomar, moderated by Luis Campos

What is the status of the technospheric convergence between genetic, environmental and biotechnological engineering used for the production of crops? A final discussion with the audience addresses the manipulation of genetic information in seeds together with the high-tech modification of the “critical zone” of cultivation – agro-industrial landscapes, gene and biotech lab spaces, databases, and the human body itself.

Information on the contributors

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Fr, 01. Dezember 2017

Seeds

© knowbotiq | Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata

© knowbotiq | Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata

Am Umgang mit Seeds zeigt sich, wie Technologie den Unterschied zwischen internen und externen Bedingungen des Lebens auflöst. Agronomische Großprojekte wie die Grüne Revolution, Trofim Lysenkos antigenetische Experimente und der Große Stalin-Plan zur Umgestaltung der Natur künden um 1948 von einem ingenieurhaften Verständnis von Erbgut und Umweltfaktoren. Gleichzeitig macht die Molekularbiologie das Leben selbst zu einem Baukasten. Eine Kette intensiver Gespräche untersucht die Praktiken und Ideologien des Zusammenfalls von Mutation und Modifikation. Eine Performance beschwört in Form von Mikro-Prozessionen historische und aktuelle Momente der agrarisch-industriellen Technosphäre.

15h
Luis Campos, Arren Bar-Even
Heredity and Heresy
Präsentation, Gespräch

Der Wissenschaftshistoriker Luis Campos und der Biochemiker und Molekularbiologe Arren Bar-Even sprechen über den Stand von Genetik, Pflanzenzüchtung und landwirtschaftlichem Engineering um 1948, über die wissenshistorischen Grundlagen und ideologischen Spannungsfelder der Vererbungslehre und ihre technischen Möglichkeiten. Einführend legt Luis Campos dar, wie angestrebte Veränderungen des natürlichen Vererbung bereits seit langem eng mit den größeren Transformationen der Technosphäre und ihren diversen politischen Kontexten verbunden sind. Inwieweit lassen sich die Vorzüge der Zellgenetik, die die Grüne Revolution des Westens auf den Weg brachte, und die 1948 in der Sowjetunion zum Dogma erhobene Pseudowissenschaft Lysenkos miteinander vergleichen? Campos erläutert damals neue Disziplinen wie die „Astrobotanik“ und deren Idee, die irdische Biologie in andere Welten zu übertragen.

15.45h
Arren Bar-Even, Helena Shomar
Non-generic Genetics
Präsentation, Gespräch

Arren Bar-Even und die synthetische Biologin Helena Shomar diskutieren die ingenieurstechnische Rolle der heutigen Biologie: Was sind die Chancen und Grenzen unseres Verständnisses von der Interaktion von Genen, Stoffwechselprozessen und der Umwelt in der mittlerweile längst hochtechnisierten Züchtungsforschung? Zuvor demonstriert Bar-Even die gestalterischen Verfahren, die in der synthetischen Biologie derzeit verwendet werden, um die Pflanzenproduktivität zu optimieren, und wie diese modellierenden Fähigkeiten eine neue Form der Intervention in einer überaus komplexen Natur ergeben. Die Natur vermag es weder in den Millionen von Jahren der Evolution, noch den Tausenden von Jahren in ihrer kultivierten Form der Pflanzenzucht, ingenieurhaft zu agieren. Erst molekular arbeitende Stoffwechselingenieur*innen sindin der Lage, biologische Systeme jenseits der Evolution zu konstruieren und zu modifizieren.

16.15h
Helena Shomar, Sophia Roosth
Fields in Mutation
Präsentation, Gespräch

Wie wirkt sich das Engineering-Paradigma der heutigen, industriell geprägten synthetischen Biologie auf das Konzept dessen aus, was Leben ist? Helena Shomar und die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth erörtern die gegenwärtigen zeitlichen und konzeptionellen Transmutationen der Essenz des Lebens – als Produkt von Vererbung, Ernährung und Biotechnologie. Shomar zeigt auf, wie die Ingenieurslogik der synthetischen Biologie diese zu einer mächtigen Herstellerbranche anwachsen lässt und wie DNA-Codierung und Zellmanipulation die Technosphäre optimieren. Roosth überdenkt das Konzept von Leben selbst. Sie betrachtet Samen als kondensiertes biologisches Potenzial, das im Wachsen begriffen neue Blüte verspricht. Seeds sind für Roosth sowohl im wörtlichen als auch im übertragenen Sinn latente Lebensformen, die sie anhand von zwei Beispielen für eingefrorenes Leben untersucht: dem Grippevirus von 1918 und dem weltweiten Saatgut-Tresor auf dem arktischen Archipel Svalbard. Lassen sich biologische Zeitlichkeiten und Zukünfte durch Einfrieren umlenken? Kann Kälte die biologische Zeit synthetisieren und neu zusammensetzen?

17h
knowbotiq in Kooperation mit Pablo Alarcón, Nicolas Buzzi, Anna Frei aka Fred Hystère, Angi Nend, Claudia de Serpa Soares
Genesis Machines 2017: La Pompa Agricultura Transsubstantiata
Performance

Die Performance beschwört konstitutive Momente agrarisch-industrieller Technosphären, die unsere Vorstellungen von Körpern und Landschaften radikal verändern. Bioorganischer Vampirismus und nanotechnologische Verwandlungen von Leben bestimmen in der Interpretation von knowbotiq die wissenschaftlichen Alternativen zum ökologischen Missmanagement der Gegenwart. In einer rituellen, audio-visuell unterstützten Mikro-Prozession wird der Mangel an körperlich geprägten Erfahrungen von Verwundbarkeit in synthetisierten Naturen verhandelt. Die Performance thematisiert damit die Suche nach sozialen Orientierungen und Situierungen in den kontingenten Netzwerken von wissenschaftlichen Objekten und ökonomischen Optimierungen, die darauf abzielen, Werte zu erzeugen, die sich nicht auf materielle Ziele beschränken.

Die Performance von knowbotiq wird gefördert von Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung.

17.30h
Diskussion
Arren Bar-Even, knowbotiq, Sophia Roosth, Helena Shomar, moderiert von Luis Campos

Wo stehen wir in der technosphärischen Konvergenz des genetischen, ökologischen und biotechnologischen Engineering, das beim Anbau von Nutzpflanzen zur Anwendung kommt? Die Abschlussdiskussion thematisiert die Manipulation genetischer Information im Saatgut und die hochtechnische Modifizierung der „kritischen Zone“ in der Landwirtschaft – agrarindustrielle Landschaften, Gene und Biotech-Laborräume, Datenbanken.

Informationen zu den Beitragenden