2017, Thu, Nov 30

Switches

© Gerald Nestler | New York hedge fund office, detail, 2015

© Gerald Nestler | New York hedge fund office, detail, 2015

The unleashing of the technosphere is, above all, the result of activating and operating numerous tiny switches. With the unfolding of information theory, cybernetics, and the microscopic power of the point-contact transistor, the year 1948 represents the material and theoretical starting point for a universal language of 0s and 1s. From then on, the digital makes up the foundational cultural technique of a present saturated with circuits and electronics. Contributions from theory and art oscillate between diagnostic and speculative accounts of the bit’s role as configurer of new space-time coordinates, pulse generator for the evolution of systems, and unreckoned source for a loss of control. The result is a discursive installation of contributions in strictly clocked intervals, a rhythmic apparatus of switching itself.

Program in collaboration with Gerald Nestler

7 pm
Johnny Golding
Invocation 1: Friendship [in/at/of/by the Technosphere Unbound (1948)
In her opening, philosopher and artist Johnny Golding envisions the technosphere as unbounded encounter as it generates a strangely emboldened form of shared knowing, a suspended aliveness of Otherness without recourse to an old-fashioned mastery or authority or binary split between “self and other.”

7.15 pm
Alexander R. Galloway, Julian Oliver, Orit Halpern
Run 1: From One to Two
In the year 1948 a sliver of memory was a bit and a bit was a pixel and a pixel was a dot and a dot was a keystroke. Alexander R. Galloway constructs an opening image of a 1948 awash in experiments and new technologies. He explores the importance of discretization in society, culture and technics, demonstrating the way in which “the one” becomes “the two” in concept and material. Julian Oliver will then scour the surface of microprocessor hardware with a microscope. Following the tiniest of hardware switches, he will take us through a UNIX command line monologue that touches on landscape, war and computer networks derived from live interactions with remote machines. Considering the intrusion of switches into our machines, cities, politics, and brains, Orit Halpern reflects on the urge to make everything “smart.” From objects to processes, from reason to rationality, from space to territory, from history to preemption, from environment to ecology ...is there a switch happening now?

7.45 pm
Anna Echterhölter, Morehshin Allahyari, Sarah Sharma
Run 2: Coordinating Time and Space
During the late 19th century in German New Guinea, the colonial powers imposed a host of new metrics and currencies to coordinate a society which they thought of as uncoordinated. Anna Echterhölter unpacks the consequences of these impositions in order to demonstrate the power of standards and spatio-temporal logistics on social structures. Mythology too has its own power to coordinate social structures for the past and the future. Confronting the socio-ecological injustice of our times Morehshin Allahyari uses the story of Huma – a female Jinn from the Middle-East – to make a poetic and metaphoric case for other-futurity building. Grounding these mythologies and technical standards and apparatuses, Sarah Sharma collects these varied modes of coordination and discusses how they are scaled and negotiated by the concrete media and social spaces of our everyday life.

8.15 pm
Sophia Roosth, Thomas Feuerstein with participation of Marian Kaiser, Marie-Luise Angerer
Run 3: Cybernetic Life
1948 was an annus mirabilis for the concept of life as it came under the sway of information theory and cybernetics. Sophia Roosth starts from the general shift the life sciences have undertaken in light of cybernetics and information theory. Tending to the informatic analogy treating molecular biology as a coding problem, she reflects on the life sciences as they have evolved until today in fields such as synthetic biology, systems biology, and bioinformatics. Contemplating current technical developments from a metaphysical standpoint, Thomas Feuerstein considers our situation in terms of a resurrection of an ancient life-form: the demon. Today’s demons are of a technical nature, they have relocated from myth and magic into the innards of apparatuses and networks, where they act as appropriators and distributors of energy and vitality. Taking Donna Haraway’s 1984 Cyborg Manifesto as an early irruption of thinking a hybrid NatureMedia Marie-Luise Angerer makes clear that today the commonalities between human and other beings outweigh their distinctions – an insight that is valid for the demonic algorithm just as it is for the body characterized as an information processor.

8.45 pm
Elie Ayache
Invocation 2: From the Bit to the Pit
0 and 1 are not alone, because there exists a coin. If you flip a coin once, you flip it an infinity of times, and thus, starting with one bit, the coin buys you at once the cardinality of the continuum. In this second invocation Elie Ayache will speculate on the technique of speculation itself as it relates to the stock market and derivative trading theory. Does the random walk of the stock price inescapably lead to a continuum? How much information, then, is contained in the market. Or are we dealing here with something else than information?

9 pm
Giuseppe Longo, Gerald Nestler, Felix Stalder
Run 4: Bound by Contingency
Since 1948, computational strategies for the modelling of evolutionary systems emerged that enable a powerful treatment of random processes. Is randomness intrinsic to nature? Is there randomness in computing? Giuseppe Longo addresses these questions by comparing biology’s functional variations and the stock market’s wild fluctuations, showing the forms and metrics of stability and instability in evolutionary and artificially tuned systems. Gerald Nestler further explores this form of creating profit from volatility, highlighting its generic potential – and our duty – to live up and calibrate to a world driven by contingency. Felix Stalder then looks at how these frictions and feedbacks play into political and social questions surrounding this technospheric menagerie.

9.45 pm
Ubermorgen.com
Invocation 3: The Universe since 1948: Theoretical Art and Binary Primitivism
Ubermorgen interlinks their 1984 key work Theoretical Art, the current inexorable evolution of the art market, the recent radical shifts in the perception of transhumanism and singularity and their latest hypothesis, binary primitivism, that deals with the psychopathology of the Silicon Valley manosphere, heraldry and hypno porn, into the frenetic and multifarious texture of the technosphere.

22.15 pm
Final discussion with all participants and the audience
Moderated by Marie-Luise Angerer and Gerald Nestler

Information on the contributors

Do, 30. November 2017

Switches

© Gerald Nestler | New York hedge fund office, Detail, 2015

© Gerald Nestler | New York hedge fund office, Detail, 2015

Die Entfesselung der Technosphäre ist vor allem das Werk zahlloser kleinster Switches. Das Schalten zwischen zwei elementaren Speicherzuständen – 0 und 1 – wird um 1948 einerseits durch Claude Shannons Informationstheorie mathematisch fundiert und andererseits durch den ersten massentauglichen Transistor unendlich vervielfältigbar. Erst infolge dieser Entwicklung wird das Digitale zu jener grundlegenden Kulturtechnik, als die es uns in einer von Schaltkreisen gesättigten Gegenwart gegenübertritt. Diagnostische und spekulative Beiträge aus Theorie, Kunst und Synthese oszillieren in schnellem Wechsel um das Bit als Steuerungseinheit und Taktgeber eines neuen Koordinationsverhältnisses von Raum und Zeit, von Evolution und Kontrollverlust. Das Ergebnis ist eine diskursive Installation, die in strenger Taktung zwischen den Beitragenden hin- und herschaltet.

Programm in Zusammenarbeit mit Gerald Nestler

19h
Johnny Golding
Invocation 1: Friendship [in/at/of/by the Technosphere (1948)
Johnny Golding eröffnet das Programm mit einem Blick auf die Technosphäre als entfesselte Begegnung, die außergewöhnliches, mutiges, geteiltes Wissen hervorbringt: eine suspendierte Vitalität des Andersseins, ohne den Rückgriff auf altmodische Konzepte von Herrschaft und Autorität oder den Verweis auf die binäre Spaltung zwischen dem Selbst und dem Anderen.

19.15h
Alexander R. Galloway, Julian Oliver, Orit Halpern
Run 1: From One to Two
1948 war ein Speicherbaustein ein Bit, ein Bit war ein Pixel, ein Pixel war ein Punkt, ein Punkt war ein Tastendruck. In seiner Eröffnung rekonstruiert Alexander R. Galloway ein Bild von 1948 als Jahr voller Experimente und neuer Technologien. Er diskutiert die Bedeutung der Diskretisierung in Gesellschaft, Kultur und Technik, wie also das Eine zu Zweien wurde, sowohl konzeptionell wie materiell. Julian Oliver untersucht mit einem Mikroskop die Hardware-Oberfläche eines Mikroprozessors. Den kleinsten Schaltungen folgend führt er durch den Monolog einer UNIX-Befehlszeile, entnommen aus Live-Interaktionen mit fernen Maschinen, in denen es um Landschaft, Krieg und Computernetze geht. Angesichts des Eindringens der „Switches“, der Schaltlogik, in unsere Geräte, Städte, Politik und Gehirne reflektiert Orit Halpern den Drang, alles „smart“ zu gestalten. Von Objekten zu Prozessen, von Vernunft zur Rationalität, vom Raum zum Territorium, von der Geschichte zur Prävention, von der Umwelt zur Ökologie: Was wird gerade jetzt und hier geschaltet?

19.45h
Anna Echterhölter, Morehshin Allahyari, Sarah Sharma
Run 2: Coordinating Time and Space
Im späten 19. Jahrhundert erzwang die Kolonialregierung in Deutsch-Neuguinea neue Maße und Währungen, um eine Gesellschaft zu koordinieren, die sie als unkoordiniert ansah. Anna Echterhölter betrachtet die Folgen dieser Nötigung und weist nach, wie machtvoll Normen und raumzeitliche Logistiken auf gesellschaftliche Strukturen wirken. Die Mythologie stellt eine eigene Macht dar. Auch sie koordiniert die Strukturen von Vergangenheit und Zukunft. In der Auseinandersetzung mit den sozialen und ökologischen Ungerechtigkeiten der heutigen Zeit erzählt Morehshin Allahyari die Geschichte von Huma, einer weiblichen Djinn aus dem Nahen Osten, um auf poetische Weise für den Bau einer anderen Zukunft zu werben. Sarah Sharma betrachtet diese Mythen, technischen Standards und Apparate als unterschiedliche Arten der Koordination, erörtert ihre Skalierung und beschreibt, wie sie in den konkreten Medien und sozialen Räumen des Alltags verhandelt werden.

20.15h
Sophia Roosth, Thomas Feuerstein unter Beteiligung von Marian Kaiser, Marie-Luise Angerer
Run 3: Cybernetic Life
1948 war ein annus mirabilis für das Konzept des Lebendigen, da es gleichzeitig von Informationstheorie und Kybernetik beeinflusst wurde. Sophia Roosth untersucht, wie Kybernetik und Informationstheorie die Biowissenschaften verändert haben. Sie folgt einer informationstechnischen Analogie, die die Molekularbiologie als reines Kodierungsproblem betrachtet, und reflektiert aktuelle Entwicklungen in synthetischer Biologie, Systembiologie und Bioinformatik. Thomas Feuerstein nimmt eine metaphysische Perspektive ein und erörtert die Wiederbelebung einer antiken Lebensform: der des Dämons. Die heutigen Dämonen sind technischer Art. Aus der Welt der Mythen und Magie siedelten sie ins Innere der Apparate und Netzwerke über, wo sie sich Energie und Vitalität aneignen und sie zugleich verteilen. Donna Haraways Cyborg-Manifest von 1984 als früher Ansatz für ein hybrides Natur-Medien-Denken ist Ausgangspunkt für Marie-Luise Angerers These, dass die Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen Menschen und anderen Lebewesen heute die Unterschiede zwischen ihnen aufwiegen – eine Einsicht, die ebenso Gültigkeit für den dämonischen Algorithmus hat wie für den Körper, der als Prozessor fungiert und Information verarbeitet.

20.45h
Elie Ayache
Invocation 2: From the Bit to the Pit
0 und 1 sind nicht alleine, denn es gibt eine Münze. Wirft man eine Münze, wirft man sie unendlich oft. So erkauft man sich mit einem Bit die Kardinalität des Kontinuums. Wenn Elie Ayache seine spekulative „Invocation“ der Börse und den Theorien des Derivatehandels widmet, dann spekuliert er über die Spekulation. Dabei macht er deutlich, dass der Zufallsweg, den die Information bei der Preisbildung auf den Wertpapiermärkten nimmt, unvermeidlich in ein Kontinuum mündet. Ist Information also mehr als nur Information?

21h
Giuseppe Longo, Gerald Nestler, Felix Stalder
Run 4 – Bound by Contingency
Seit 1948 wurden rechnergestützte Methoden für die Modellierung evolutionärer Systeme entwickelt, die eine machtvolle Behandlung zufälliger Prozesse möglich machten. Ist Zufälligkeit der Natur inhärent? Gibt es Zufälligkeit in der Datenverarbeitung? Giuseppe Longo vergleicht die funktionale Variation in der Biologie mit den wilden Schwankungen der Börse anhand verschiedener Formen und Metriken von Stabilität und Instabilität in evolutionären und künstlich hergestellten Systemen. Gerald Nestler beschäftigt sich genauer mit der Profitgenerierung durch Volatilität, mit ihremPotenzial – und der Notwendigkeit, auf eine von Kontingenz angetriebene Welt eingestellt zu sein. Felix Stalder thematisiert, wie hier Reibungen und Feedbacks auf politische und soziale Fragen einwirken, die sich im Umfeld der technosphärischen Menagerie stellen.

21.45h
Ubermorgen.com
Invocation 3: The Universe since 1948: Theoretical Art and Binary Primitivism
Ubermorgen kombinieren ihr 1984er Schlüsselwerk Theoretical Art mit aktuellen Entwicklungen des Kunstmarkts, dem radikalen Wandel in der Wahrnehmung von Transhumanismus und Singularität und ihrer jüngsten These vom binären Primitivismus – die sich mit den Psychopathologien der Manosphäre im Silicon Valley beschäftigt, mit Heraldik und Hypno-Porn – und binden sie so ein in die frenetischen, vielfältigen Texturen der Technosphäre.

22.15h
Diskussion mit allen Teilnehmenden und dem Publikum
Moderiert von Marie-Luise Angerer und Gerald Nestler

Informationen zu den Beitragenden