Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sun, Dec 03

Berlin, arena of the Cold War

Expert talk with Anselm Franke & Thomas Flierl

A discussion on the relationship between ideology and art in post-war Berlin – a look at the visible shapes it took in a divided Berlin, and how power was reflected in the city’s architecture. We will talk about how cultural policies in East and West Berlin became instruments of the Cold War, and the role played in that by the Congress for Cultural Freedom (CCF).

Thomas Flierl is a freelancer in the fields of architectural history, cultural studies, and public relations. He is a fellow of the Institute for History and Theory of Architecture and Planning at Bauhaus University in Weimar. He was a member of the Berlin House of Representatives off and on from 1995 to 2011. Among other positions he held there was as the Left Party faction expert on urban planning policy, and chairman of the committee for urban planning and transportation; from 2001 to 2006, he was also the senator for science, research, and culture in Berlin. From 1987 to 1990, he worked at the ministry of culture of then East Germany.

Anselm Franke is a curator and writer based in Berlin. He is Head of Visual Art and Film at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), where he co-curated The Anthropocene Project (2013–2014), and the exhibitions The Whole Earth; After Year Zero (both 2013), Forensis (2014), Ape Culture (2015), and Nervous Systems (2016), among others. In 2012, he curated the Taipei Biennial. Franke’s exhibition project Animism has been presented in Antwerp, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul, and Beirut in various collaborations from 2010 to 2014. Previously, Franke was curator at KW Berlin and director of Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. He completed his PhD at Goldsmiths College London.

So, 03. Dezember 2017

Berlin, Bühne des Kalten Krieges

Expertengespräch mit Anselm Franke & Thomas Flierl

Ein Gespräch über die Beziehung von Ideologie und Kunst im Berlin der Nachkriegszeit: In welcher Form wurde diese im geteilten Berlin sichtbar und auf welche Weise spiegelte sich Macht in der Architektur der Stadt? Inwiefern wurden die Kulturpolitiken in Ost- und Westberlin zu Instrumenten des Kalten Kriegs und welche Rolle spielte dabei der „Kongress für Kulturelle Freiheit“?

Thomas Flierl ist freiberuflicher Bauhistoriker, Kulturwissenschaftler und Publizist. Er ist Angehöriger des Instituts für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur und Planung an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Von 1995 bis 2011 war er mit Unterbrechungen Mitglied des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin und dort unter anderem als Stadtentwicklungspolitischer Sprecher der Linksfraktion und Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Stadtentwicklung und Verkehr sowie von 2002 bis 2006 als Senator für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur in Berlin tätig. Von 1987 bis 1990 war er Mitarbeiter im DDR-Kulturministerium.

Anselm Franke lebt als Kurator und Autor in Berlin. Er ist Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, wo er u. a. Das Anthropozän-Projekt (2013-2014) und die Ausstellungen Forensis (2014), Ape Culture (2015) und Nervöse Systeme (2016) ko-kuratierte. 2012 war er Kurator der Taipeh-Biennale. Frankes Ausstellungsprojekt Animismus wurde zwischen 2010 und 2014 in Antwerpen, Bern, Wien, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul und Beirut präsentiert. Zuvor war Franke Kurator im KW Berlin und Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. Seinen Doktor erhielt er vom Goldsmiths College London.