2017, Sat, Mar 25

Conversations

With Arjun Appadurai and Slavenka Drakulić; Antony T. Anghie and Susan George; In Koli Jean Bofane and Brigitta Kuster

5:00 – 6:00 pm
Arjun Appadurai and Slavenka Drakulić
The New Machismo
India, Russia, Turkey, and the US are run by men who have declared their enmity to the liberal legacy of the post-World War Two period. Does this constitute a new “movement” in international politics, and what is its significance? Is it a popular movement against global elites? Or a cynical appropriation of popular feeling to achieve quite different ends?

6:30 – 7:30 pm
Antony T. Anghie and Susan George
How is the World Governed, and Towards What End?
Global corporations increasingly seek control over national political decision-making. This brings them into conflict with voters, who increasingly suspect the national political machine of being rigged. Globalization has profoundly challenged the authority of the nation-state. Decisions which affect the well-being of people are now being made by entities other than the nation-state, such as international institutions, corporations. How exactly is political power distributed today? What political and legal mechanisms exist today that would ensure democracy, accountability and legitimacy values associated with proper government?

7:30 – 8:30 pm
In Koli Jean Bofane and Brigitta Kuster
Reinventing Futures?
The postcolonial present is marked by an ambiguous temporality. Instead of certainties from past through present to future it is characterized by the experience of prolonged endings, the loss of postcolonial futures and a past that is owned by those in power. Tracing the conditions of the ”failed postcolonial state“ back to the time of decolonization, the discussants ask: what role does the concept of the nation-state and its metric of “failed” and “viable” play? And even more pressing: how can one unearth lost alternative futures at least poetically?

Sa, 25. März 2017

Konversationen

Mit Arjun Appadurai und Slavenka Drakulić; Antony T. Anghie und Susan George; In Koli Jean Bofane und Brigitta Kuster

17:00 – 18.00h
Arjun Appadurai und Slavenka Drakulić
Der neue Machismo
Indien, Russland, die Türkei und die USA werden von Männern regiert, die sich als erklärte Feinde des liberalen Erbes der Nachkriegszeit präsentieren. Ist das eine neue „Bewegung“ in der internationalen Politik? Und wenn ja, wofür steht sie? Handelt es sich um eine populäre Bewegung gegen globale Eliten? Oder wird hier nur zynisch eine populäre Stimmung aufgegriffen, um ganz andere Ziele zu erreichen?

18:30 – 19.30h
Antony T. Anghie und Susan George
Wer regiert die Welt und mit welchem Ziel?
Globale Konzerne bestimmen zunehmend die nationale Politik. Das führt zu Konflikten mit den Wähler*innen, denen der aus ihrer Sicht manipulierte politische Apparat zunehmend suspekt ist. Die Globalisierung hat die Autorität des Nationalstaats grundlegend infrage gestellt. Entscheidungen, die das Wohl der Menschen betreffen, werden immer seltener von staatlichen Instanzen und immer häufiger von internationalen Institutionen oder Unternehmen gefällt. Wie ist die politische Macht heute verteilt? Welche politischen und rechtlichen Mechanismen garantieren Demokratie, Verantwortung und Legitimität, also diejenigen Werte, die mit einer verantwortungsvollen Staatsführung assoziiert werden?

19:30 – 20:30h
In Koli Jean Bofane und Brigitta Kuster
Die Zukunft neu erfinden?
Ein Merkmal der postkolonialen Gegenwart ist ihre zeitliche Uneindeutigkeit. An die Stelle traditioneller Gewissheiten – von der Vergangenheit über die Gegenwart in die Zukunft – treten die Erfahrung der Endlosigkeit, der Verlust der postkolonialen Zukunft und eine Vergangenheit, die stets von denen vereinnahmt wird, die gerade an der Macht sind. Indem sie die Bedingungen des „gescheiterten postkolonialen Staates“ bis zur Dekolonisation zurückverfolgen, fragen die Gesprächsteilnehmer*innen nach der Idee des Nationalstaats und seiner Metrik von „Scheitern“ vs. „Entwicklungsfähigkeit“ und, noch drängender: Wie lassen sich verlorene alternative Zukünfte wiederbeleben – zumindest poetisch?