Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Sun, May 03

Artist Talk

Klaus Weber in conversation with Jörg Heiser

Beulen, Photo Collage | © Klaus Weber, 2008

Beulen, Photo Collage | © Klaus Weber, 2008

Jörg Heiser, co-editor of frieze d/e, will talk with artist Klaus Weber about his installations “Shape of the Ape” and “Kouros (walking man)”, which are shown in the exhibition.

Kouros presents both halves of a negative mold: the body of a tall thin man, adopting the pose of the ancient Greek kouros, replete with erect penis. On the night of a new moon, the original cast was created in an experimental process in a Berlin nightclub, in the midst of an erotic play party. A video of the experiment with the sound of Webers’ Large Dark Wind Chime accompanies the work and will be publicly presented during the Artist Talk for the first time.

Klaus Weber, born in 1967, studied Fine Arts in the Freie Klasse of the Berlin University of the Arts. His works, which use multiple media and spaces, are frequently based on complex technological correlations and elaborately organized production processes. They circumvent the metaphorical and actual power of functionalistic rationality through pointed manipulation of everyday structures, tracing of deviations and exploration of impossibilities. Klaus Weber received the 2012 HAP Grieshaber Prize for his life’s work.

Solo exhibitions (selection): AGEMO, Fondazione Morra Greco, Naples (2013); Alle Körper fallen gleich schnell, Deutscher Künstlerbund, Berlin (2012); If you leave me I’m not coming, & Already There!, Nottingham Contemporary (2011); Klaus Weber, Secession, Vienna (2008); Shape of the Ape, Andrew Kreps Gallery, New York (2007).
Group exhibitions (selection): Lyon Biennale (2015); Painting Forever! Keilrahmen, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2013); Painting without Paint, David Risley Gallery, Copenhagen (2012); The Kaleidoscopic Eye, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2009); The Art of Narration, Sprüth Magers, Berlin (2011).

So, 03. Mai 2015

Artist Talk

Klaus Weber im Gespräch mit Jörg Heiser

Beulen, Fotocollage | © Klaus Weber, 2008

Beulen, Fotocollage | © Klaus Weber, 2008

Jörg Heiser, Mitherausgeber von frieze d/e, spricht mit dem Künstler Klaus Weber über dessen Installationen „Shape of the Ape“ und „Kouros (walking man)“, die in der Ausstellung gezeigt werden.

Bei Kouros handelt es sich um zwei Halbschalen: die Negativform eines hochgewachsenen, schlanken Mannes in der Pose der archaischen griechischen Skulptur, mit erigiertem Geschlechtsteil. Der ursprüngliche Gipsabguss entstand in einer Neumondnacht bei einem Experiment als Teil einer erotischen Party in einem Berliner Club. Ein Video des Experiments mit dem Sound von Webers Large Dark Wind Chime begleitet die Arbeit und wird beim Artist Talk erstmals öffentlich präsentiert.

Klaus Weber, geboren 1967, hat bildende Künste an der Berliner Universität der Künste in der Freien Klasse studiert. Seine medien- und raumübergreifend konzipierten Arbeiten basieren häufig auf komplexen technologischen Zusammenhängen und aufwendig organisierten Herstellungsprozessen. Durch die pointierte Manipulation alltäglicher Strukturen, das Aufspüren von Abweichungen und das Ausloten von Unmöglichkeiten unterlaufen sie die metaphorische wie tatsächliche Macht einer funktionalistischen Rationalität. Klaus Weber ist Träger des HAP-Grieshaber-Preises 2012 für sein Gesamtwerk.

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): AGEMO, Fondazione Morra Greco, Neapel (2013); Alle Körper fallen gleich schnell, Deutscher Künstlerbund, Berlin (2012); If you leave me I’m not coming, & Already There!, Nottingham Contemporary (2011); Klaus Weber, Secession, Wien (2008); Shape of the Ape, Andrew Kreps Gallery, New York (2007).
Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): Lyon Biennale (2015); Painting Forever! Keilrahmen, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2013); Painting without Paint, David Risley Gallery, Kopenhagen (2012); The Kaleidoscopic eye, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2009); The Art of Narration, Sprüth Magers, Berlin (2011).