2014, Fri, Aug 29

Post-Apartheid Public Culture

Discussion with Pumla Dineo Gqola, Khalo Matabane and Jihan El-Tahri, moderated by Storm Janse van Rensburg

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

The state of current affairs in South Africa is as complex as its public negotiation. Be it in academia, in arts and culture or in corporate or social media, a vibrant civil society is relentlessly fostering the discussion. As political scientist Achille Mbembe has claimed, the alternatives are to dwell on the failures or to start reinventing. What role do artists and public intellectuals play in visualizing the unsolved problems and in dealing with the pain that is still amidst its society? What spaces shape the discussion? What possibilities can be imagined for the future within the peculiar conditions of democracy as it is practiced now? What needs to be reinvented? How to reengage with the South-African archive of hope?

Jihan El-Tahri is an Egyptian-French producer and award winning documentary filmmaker. She began her career as a journalist, and from 1984 to 1990 she was a correspondent for a number of news outlets, including Reuters, the Washington Post, and the Sunday Times. Her film “The House of Saud” was nominated for an Emmy in 2005. In “Behind the Rainbow” (2008) she examined the development of the ANC in South Africa after apartheid. El-Tahri has written two books: “The Nine Lives of Yasser Arafat” and “Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War.”

Pumla Dineo Gqola is associate professor of African literature and gender studies at the University of the Witwatersrand. Her research themes include slavery memory, postcolonialism, gendered Blackness, post-apartheid public culture and African feminisms. She has MA degrees from the Universities of Cape Town and Warwick, UK and a DPhil from the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. Her books include “What is slavery to me? Postcolonial/Slave Memory in Post-Apartheid South Africa” (Wits Press, 2010) and “A renegade called Simphiwe” (MFBooks Joburg/Jacana, 2013).

Khalo Matabane is an award winning filmmaker, author, and producer. His docufiction “Conversations on a Sunday Afternoon,” which examines the situation of refugees in South Africa, was part of the official program at the Toronto Film Festival and won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury at the 2006 Berlinale. “State of Violence” (2010), his first feature film, was widely praised by critics at numerous film festivals including the Toronto Film Festival and the Berlinale. His new film, “Nelson Mandela: The Myth and Me,” a documentary film about the controversies surrounding Mandela’s policy of reconciliation, was released in 2013.

Storm Janse Van Rensburg is an independent contemporary art curator and writer. He was senior curator at the Goodman Gallery Cape Town from 2007 to 2012, and has curated numerous group and solo exhibitions, most recently “A temporary admission” by Bridget Baker for the National Arts Festival, Gahamstown, South Africa (2014). Since relocating to Berlin in 2012 he curated the group exhibition “The Beautyful Ones” at the Galerie Nolan Judin and co-curated the exhibition “GhostBusters II” in SAVVY Contemporary. He is project curator for “Oblique” an ongoing travelling exhibition by Abrie Fourie, which was shown at HKW (2012), Johannesburg Art Gallery (2012), and Savannah College of Art and Design, USA (2013/14) amongst others. Janse van Rensburg has written for numerous publications, including Art South Africa, Canvas Magazine and Metropolis M. He is currently a fellow at the Bayreuth Academy for Advanced African Studies and is a co-curator for the research and exhibition project ”Giving Contours to Shadows, “an initiative by Savvy Contemporary in partnership with the Neuer Berlin Kunstverein.

Fr, 29. August 2014

Kultur und Öffentlichkeit nach der Apartheid

Diskussion mit Pumla Dineo Gqola, Khalo Matabane und Jihan El-Tahri, moderiert von Storm Janse van Rensburg

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Südafrikas aktuelles Zeitgeschehen ist ebenso komplex wie seine öffentliche Aushandlung. Sei es in der akademischen Welt, im Bereich Kunst und Kultur oder traditionellen und sozialen Medien – eine lebhafte Zivilgesellschaft hält schonungslose Debatten im Gang. Wie es der Politikwissenschaftler Achille Mbembe deutlich machte, gibt es die Alternativen, entweder im Scheitern zu verharren oder mit dem Neuerfinden zu beginnen. Was tragen Künstler und Intellektuelle zur Sichtbarmachung bestehender Problem bei? Wie gehen sie mit dem Leidensdruck in der Gesellschaft um? Wie lässt sich Zukunft unter den besonderen Umständen der derzeit praktizierten Demokratie denken? Wie lässt sich an die Hoffnungen des demokratischen Aufbruchs anknüpfen?

Jihan El-Tahri ist eine ägyptisch-französische Produzentin und preisgekrönte Dokumentarfilmmacherin. Ihre Karriere begann sie als Journalistin, von 1984 bis 1990 war sie als Korrespondentin für u. a. Reuters, Washington Post und die Sunday Times tätig. 2005 wurde sie mit „The House of Saud“ für einen Emmy nominiert. In „Behind the Rainbow“ (2008) untersucht sie die Entwicklung des ANC nach der Apartheid in Südafrika. Jihan El-Tahri verfasste zwei Bücher, „The Nine Lives of Yasser Arafat“ und „Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War“.

Pumla Dineo Gqola ist Dozentin für afrikanische Literaturwissenschaften und Gender Studies an der University of Witwatersrand. Ihre Forschungsthemen sind u.a. Gedächtnis der Sklaverei, Postkolonialismus, gendered Blackness, öffentliche Kultur in der Post-Apartheid und afrikanischer Feminismus. Sie erhielt MA Abschlüsse an der University of Cape Town und an der University of Warwick sowie einen DPhil an der Ludwig-Maxmilians-Universität München. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen „What is slavery to me? Postcolonial/Slave memory in post-apartheid South Africa“ (Wits Press, 2010) und “A renegade called Simphiwe” (MFBooks Joburg/Jacana, 2013).

Khalo Matabane ist preisgekrönter Filmemacher, Autor und Produzent. Die Doku-Fiktion „Conversations on a Sunday Afternoon“, die die Lage von Flüchtlingen in Südafrika erkundet, war Teil des offiziellen Programms auf dem Toronto Film Festival und gewann den Preis der ökumenischen Jury auf der Berlinale 2006. Sein erster Spielfilm „State of Violence“ (2010) fand regen Zuspruch unter Kritikern auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals, u.a. von Toronto und Berlin. 2013 erschien sein neuer Film „Nelson Mandela: The Myth and Me“, ein Dokumentarfilm über die Kontroversen um Mandelas Politik der Versöhnung.

Storm Janse Van Rensburg ist unabhängiger Kurator für zeitgenössische Kunst und Autor. 2007 bis 2011 war er als leitender Kurator in der Goodman Gallery Cape Town tätig. Er kuratierte zahlreiche Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen, darunter gehörte zuletzt „A temporary admission“ von Bridget Baker beim National Arts Festival 2014 in Gahamstown, Südafrika. Seit seinem Umzug nach Berlin im Jahr 2012 kuratierte er 2013 die Gruppenausstellung „The Beautyful Ones“ in der Galerie Nolan Judin und war Ko-Kurator der Ausstellung „GhostBusters II“ im SAVVY Contemporary. Janse Van Rensburg ist Kurator der laufenden Wanderausstellung „Oblique“ von Abrie Fourie, die u. a. 2012 im HKW und 2013/2014 im Savannah College of Art and Design in den USA gezeigt wurde. Er schrieb u. a. für die Kunstmagazine Art South Africa, das Canvas Magazine und Metropolis M.. Zurzeit ist er Gastdozent an der Bayreuth Academy for Advanced African Studies und Ko-Kurator des Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekts „Giving Contour to Shadows“, eine Initiative des SAVVY Contemporary in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein.