Biographies

"20 Years of Democracy in South Africa" with contributions by:

Carole Bloch is director of PRAESA, a non-government multilingual education organization affiliated to the University of Cape Town. PRAESA researches and develops alternative forms of language and literacy education in South Africa, and drives the Nal’ibali national reading-for-enjoyment campaign to set up reading clubs that promote and sustain the joy of reading and storytelling between adults and children. She is also founder of the “Little Hands Trust,” which develops multilingual children’s literature in Africa.

Rehad Desai is the producer and award winning director of numerous documentary films. He studied history and social history at University of Zimbabwe and University of the Witwatersrand. His documentary film “Born Into Struggle” (2004) screened at many international film festivals and, amongst other awards, won the audience prize for the best South African documentary film at the Encounters Documentary Film Festival in Cape Town. “Miners Shot Down,” his most recent production, is not only playing and opening various festivals around the globe, but has won a number of awards as well, i.e. Best Film at One World Film Festival in Prague. Beyond that it has also sparked international support for the Marikana Justice Campaign.

Jihan El-Tahri is an Egyptian-French producer and award winning documentary filmmaker. She began her career as a journalist, and from 1984 to 1990 she was a correspondent for a number of news outlets, including Reuters, the Washington Post, and the Sunday Times. Her film “The House of Saud” was nominated for an Emmy in 2005. In “Behind the Rainbow” (2008) she examined the development of the ANC in South Africa after apartheid. El-Tahri has written two books: “The Nine Lives of Yasser Arafat” and “Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War.”

Nomboniso Gasa is a political analyst, public speaker on gender, politics and culture and a Senior Research Associate at the Centre for Law and Society of the law faculty of the University of Cape Town. Her focus is on the intersection of land, living custom, the construction of identities and traditional leadership. In the 1990s, she was executive secretary responsible for policy development in the ANC's Commission on the Emancipation of Women. She was closely involved in the ANC's decisive contribution to the negotiation of a new constitution, focusing specifically on gender equality. Gasa headed the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (I-IDEA) in Nigeria. She conceptualized and drove a massive research program with Nigerian and international scholars. This culminated in a book published by I-IDEA “Democracy in Nigeria: Continuing Dialogue(s) for Nation Building” and multi stakeholder policy dialogues, including politicians, academics, senior religious leaders and civil society. The publication is treated by many Nigerians, other scholars and analysts as seminal work on many contemporary Nigerian issues. Further, her publications include “Women in South African History” (2007, HSRC Press). As an art critic, she has published essays in catalogues and written in popular media. Gasa has been a political activist since her teenage years, which led to her first detention without trial and her torture at the age of 14 in the former Transkei.

Pumla Dineo Gqola is associate professor of African literature and gender studies at the University of the Witwatersrand. Her research themes include slavery memory, postcolonialism, gendered Blackness, post-apartheid public culture and African feminisms. She has MA degrees from the Universities of Cape Town and Warwick, UK and a DPhil from the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. Her books include “What is slavery to me? Postcolonial/Slave Memory in Post-Apartheid South Africa” (Wits Press, 2010) and “A renegade called Simphiwe” (MFBooks Joburg/Jacana, 2013).

Christian Kesten is a vocalist, performer, composer, and director who developed a repertoire of expanded vocal techniques in which the main focus is on sound and the fine nuance of tone colors. His work examines the relationships between voice and action, music and language, music and visual arts, and the penetration of sound and space.
As a performer of new vocal music and new musical theater with a number of debut performances and international concerts under his belt, Kesten has worked with Alessandro Bosetti, Lucio Capece, Jacques Demierre, Radu Malfatti, Chico Mello, Makiko Nishikaze, Josef Anton Riedl, Klaus Schedl, Iris ter Schiphorst, Dieter Schnebel, the chamber ensemble Neue Musik Berlin, the Ensemble Modern, Apartment House London, and many others. He is a member of the Maulwerker ensemble. Kesten has received numerous grants, composition commissions, and sponsorships, including a stipend from the Villa Aurora Los Angeles in 2007. Guest lectures, and lectureships in Berlin, Europe, Israel, the United States, and Canada. [christiankesten.de]

Ben Khumalo-Seegelken is a theologist and professor for education, social sciences, Evangelical theology, and religious education at the University of Oldenburg. After completing his studies in South Africa, he was forced to leave the country in 1975 due to his resistance to the apartheid system. From 1985 to 1986 he was assistant professor for systematic and ecumenical theology at the University of Vienna, after which he served as an Evangelical minister in the Rhineland until 1994. In 2004/2005 he directed an integration center for gay and lesbian migrants and organized the events series “Berliner Tage des interkulturellen Dialogs” (Berlin Days of Intercultural Dialogue).

Antjie Krog is a poet, writer, journalist and professor at the University of the Western Cape. She published twelve volumes of poetry and three non-fiction books. “Country of my Skull” (1998) about the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission on which she reported as a radio journalist, and “A Change of Tongue” (2004) about the transformation in South Africa after ten years, have been nominated by South African librarians (LIASA) as two of the ten most important books written in ten years of democracy. Her third non-fiction book “Begging to be Black” (2009) deals with learning to live within a black majority. Further she translated the autobiography of Nelson Mandela, “Long Walk to Freedom” into Afrikaans. Krog won all of the prestigious South African awards for non-fiction, translation and poetry available in Afrikaans and English, as well as the Stockholm Award from the Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture for the year 2000, and the Open Society Prize from the Central European University (previous winners were Jürgen Habermas and Vaclav Havel).

Xolela Mangcu is associate professor of sociology at the University of Cape Town and the Oppenheimer Fellow at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University. He is the author and co-author of seven books, including the recently published, “Biko: A Biography” (Tafelberg, 2012). Mangcu was previously a columnist for the Business Day, the Weekender and the Sunday Independent in South Africa and has also been a commentator for CNN, BBC, Al-Jazeera. He has held fellowships at the Brookings Institution, Harvard University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Rockefeller Foundation. Mangcu obtained his Ph.D. in City and Regional Planning from Cornell University and holds MSc (Development Planning) and BA ( Sociology) degrees from Wits University. The Sunday Times (South Africa)has described him as “possibly the most prolific public intellectual in South Africa.”

Pia Marais is an award winning director and screen writer. After growing up in South Africa, Sweden, and Spain, Marais studied photography and sculpture at the Chelsea School of Art in London, the Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, and the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. She then went on to complete a degree in Film at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (dffb). Her debut film was “Die Unerzogenen” (“The Unpolished“) in 2007. In 2010 her second film “Im Alter von Ellen” (“At Ellen’s Age”) premiered at the Locarno Film Festival. Her most recent film, “Layla Fourie,” was shown in the Competition at the 2013 Berlinale, where it received an Honourable Mention from the International Jury.

Hugh Masekela is considered one of the most important jazz musicians in South Africa. His greatest successes include “Grazing in the Grass” (1968) and the song “Bring Him Back Home” (1987), which became the anthem for the liberation of Nelson Mandela. Aided by the British Anglican bishop and anti-apartheid activist Trevor Huddleston, Masekela began to play the trumpet in 1954. In 1961 he went into exile in London before moving to the United States. He later lived in a number of African countries. From 1973 he was active with Fela Kuti and the band Hedzoleh Sounds. After the end of apartheid, Masekela returned to South Africa. Since 2007 he has served as member of the board for the Woyome Foundation for Africa.

Khalo Matabane is an award winning filmmaker, author, and producer. His docufiction “Conversations on a Sunday Afternoon,” which examines the situation of refugees in South Africa, was part of the official program at the Toronto Film Festival and won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury at the 2006 Berlinale. “State of Violence” (2010), his first feature film, was widely praised by critics at numerous film festivals including the Toronto Film Festival and the Berlinale. His new film, “Nelson Mandela: The Myth and Me,” a documentary film about the controversies surrounding Mandela’s policy of reconciliation, was released in 2013.

Birgit Morgenrath is an author and journalist for, among other outlets, the ARD’s radio departments. After studying German studies and political science and her education in journalism, Morgenrath worked in the middle of the 1980s as an editor, reporter, and moderator at WDR from 1985 to 1989. She was later a member of the collective Rheinisches JournalistInnen Büro in Cologne until 2011. Her main focuses include history, economics, and environmental issues in South Africa and the southern African region as well as African literature. She is co-author of the book “Deutsches Kapital am Kap—Kollaboration mit dem Apartheidregime,” published by Edition Nautilus in 2003, further she translated Denis Goldberg’s autobiography “The Mission: A Life for Freedom in South Africa” into German.

Njabulo S Ndebele is a fiction and essay writer, public commentator, and one of the key figures in South African higher education. Since 2013, Ndebele has served as chairman of the Mandela Rhodes Foundation and the Nelson Mandela Foundation, and in 2012 was appointed Chancellor of the University of Johannesburg. As a publicist he is known for his essays about South African literature and culture as well as his precise interventions in political questions. His most well-known publications include the collection of essays “Rediscovery of the Ordinary” (COSAW, 1991), the Noma Award-winning volume of short stories “Fools and Other Stories” (Ravan Press, 1984), his novel “The Cry of Winnie Mandela” (Ayebia Clarke, 2004), and the essay collection “Fine Lines from the Box” (Umuzi, 2007).

Nozinja (Shangaan Electro) is a music producer and entertainer. After growing up in the rural province of Limpopo, home of the Shangaan, he then moved to Soweto, where he opened a mobile phone workshop in a township. After meeting up with the large and enthusiastic Shangaan dance scene in Soweto, Nozinja began to develop Shangaan Electro—traditional dance and music styles combined with contemporary musical genres such as Kwaito and House. The result was a unique form of Afro-Futuristic electro-dance that soon became popular the world over.

Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza was a commissioner for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in 1995. He obtained his law degree while imprisoned for political activism in the mid- 1970s and early 1980s. Ntsebeza, on several short term periods has been appointed an acting judge of the High court of South Africa and the Labour Court. Some of his judgments have been a subject of extensive reviews in such academic law journals as the South African Law Journal. In 2004, he was appointed by the UN then Secretary-General Kofi Annan, to serve as a commissioner on the UN International Commission of Inquiry into human rights violations in Darfur, Sudan. In 2005, Ntsebeza became the first African Senior Counsel in the history of the Cape Bar, a society of advocates of the High Court of South Africa. Among other leadership positions in the legal profession, he is the founder member and the President of the National Association of Democratic Lawyers and the President and subsequently the Deputy President of the Black Lawyers Association. Currently he is also the National Chairman of the Advocates for Transformation. Besides being chairman for the companies Barloworld and Equillore Limited, as well as the Desmond Tutu Peace Trust and others, Ntsebeza however, remains a practicing advocate, and holds chambers in Sandton, Johannesburg, as a member of the Victoria Mxenge Group of Advocates.

Bernd Pickert has worked as an editor for taz. die tageszeitung’s foreign desk since 1994. His main topics of focus are human rights, the United States, and Latin America. From 2000 to 2012 he was a member of the board in the taz cooperative, and for the last few years he has sat on the jury for the taz’s Panther Prize.

Mzukisi Qobo teaches International Political Economy at the University of Pretoria, and is deputy director of the Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation (GovInn) at the same university. His main research focus at the centre is on the role of emerging powers in global govervance, as well as Africa’s political economy. Mzukisi has previously served as chief director at the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) where he was responsible for developing South Africa's trade policy. In the past he has fulfilled a role as head of Emerging Powers and Global Challenge at the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA). He has also played an advisory role in the corporate sector, especially in the mining and finance sectors. He is co-author of the book: “The Fall of the ANC: What Next?” He obtained his PhD from the University of Warwick, United Kingdom.

Jule Reimer works as an editor for the economics and society department at Deutschlandfunk. She worked as a freelance journalist and ARD-radio correspondent in Brazil and southern Africa (particularly South Africa, Angola, and Mozambique) and reported on the wars in the Balkans. Reimer received a degree in political economy from the University of Cologne, where she also minored in Portuguese. She received her journalistic training at the Kölner Journalistenschule and as a trainee at Deutsche Welle.

Storm Janse Van Rensburg is an independent contemporary art curator and writer. He was senior curator at the Goodman Gallery Cape Town from 2007 to 2012, and has curated numerous group and solo exhibitions, most recently “A temporary admission” by Bridget Baker for the National Arts Festival, Gahamstown, South Africa (2014). Since relocating to Berlin in 2012 he curated the group exhibition “The Beautyful Ones” at the Galerie Nolan Judin and co-curated the exhibition “GhostBusters II” in SAVVY Contemporary. He is project curator for “Oblique” an ongoing travelling exhibition by Abrie Fourie, which was shown at HKW (2012), Johannesburg Art Gallery (2012), and Savannah College of Art and Design, USA (2013/14) amongst others. Janse van Rensburg has written for numerous publications, including Art South Africa, Canvas Magazine and Metropolis M. He is currently a fellow at the Bayreuth Academy for Advanced African Studies and is a co-curator for the research and exhibition project ”Giving Contours to Shadows, “an initiative by Savvy Contemporary in partnership with the Neuer Berlin Kunstverein.

Thabo Thindi is a South African Berlin based independent filmmaker and live performer. Winner of the 2012 best cinematography award for the “48 Hour Film Project Berlin”. He is currently performing on stage in German theatres in Athol Fugard’s “Blood Knot”.
Thabo Thindi is the founder and director of Jozi.tv hub, which produces – amongst multiple other projects – an online TV channel called Jozi.tv. The vision of Jozi.tv is to serve as a multimedia communication platform and voice of Africa in Germany. Its aim is to play a fundamental role in the representation of Africans, developing and documenting African related content across Germany.
Thabo Thindi is also the director and producer of “Exile Faces”; an interview series in which he documents the life stories of South Africans who fled their home country during the apartheid era and for different reasons continue to live in Germany; to this day remaining in a state of Exile.

Barbara Wahlster is the managing editor for literature at Deutschlandradio Kultur. She previously worked as a freelance author, journalist, and critic for radio and other outlets for several years. She has translated from French to German and recently served as Max Kade Visiting Professor at Vanderbilt University in Nashville.

Biografien

Im Rahmen von "20 Jahre Demokratie in Südafrika" sind zu sehen:

Carole Bloch ist Leiterin von PRAESA, einer Nichtregierungsorganisation für multilinguale Bildung, angeschlossen an die University of Cape Town. PRAESA untersucht und entwickelt alternative Bildungswege im Bereich Sprache und Alphabetisierung in Südafrika und unterstützt die nationale Lesekampagne „Nal’ibali“ in der Einrichtung von Leseclubs, die unter Erwachsenen und Kindern die Freude am Lesen und Erzählen fördern und aufrechterhalten sollen. Zudem ist Bloch die Gründerin von der Initiative „Little Hands Trust“ zur Förderung von multilingualer Kinderliteratur in Afrika.

Rehad Desai ist Produzent und preisgekrönter Regisseur zahlreicher Dokumentarfilme. Er studierte Geschichte und Sozialgeschichte an der University of Zimbabwe und der University of the Witwatersrand. Sein Dokumentarfilm „Born Into Struggle“ (2004) war auf internationalen Filmfestivals vertreten und wurde u. a. mit dem Publikumspreis für den besten südafrikanischen Dokumentarfilm des Encounters Documentary Film Festival in Kapstadt prämiert. Auch „Miners Shot Down“, seine neueste Produktion, hat bereits einige Auszeichnungen erhalten, u.a. als Bester Film beim One World Film Festival in Prag. Als Eröffnungsfilm oder im regulären Programm ist er auf verschiedenen Festivals rund um den Globus vertreten und hat darüber hinaus internationale Unterstützung für die Marikana Justice Campaign ausgelöst.

Jihan El-Tahri ist eine ägyptisch-französische Produzentin und preisgekrönte Dokumentarfilmmacherin. Ihre Karriere begann sie als Journalistin, von 1984 bis 1990 war sie als Korrespondentin für u. a. Reuters, Washington Post und die Sunday Times tätig. 2005 wurde sie mit „The House of Saud“ für einen Emmy nominiert. In „Behind the Rainbow“ (2008) untersucht sie die Entwicklung des ANC nach der Apartheid in Südafrika. Jihan El-Tahri verfasste zwei Bücher, „The Nine Lives of Yasser Arafat“ und „Israel and the Arabs: the 50 Years War“.

Nomboniso Gasa ist politische Analystin, öffentliche Rednerin zu Gender-, Politik- und Kulturfragen sowie Senior Research Associate am Centre for Law and Society an der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität von Kapstadt. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Schnittfläche von Land, lebendiger Tradition, der Konstruktion von Identitäten und traditioneller politischer Führung. In den 1990er Jahren war sie als Geschäftsführerin in der Kommission zur Emanzipation der Frau des ANC für Politikentwicklung zuständig. Sie war stark an den entscheidenden Beiträgen des ANC bei den Verhandlungen für eine neue Verfassung involviert und hat sich dabei vor allem auf die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter konzentriert. Gasa leitete das International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (I-IDEA) in Nigeria, dabei entwickelte und leitete sie ein riesiges Forschungsprogramm mit Wissenschaftlern aus Nigeria und der ganzen Welt. Dies gipfelte in einem von I-DEA herausgegebenen Buch, „Democracy in Nigeria: Continuing Dialogue(s) for Nation Building“, sowie etlichen Politikgesprächen mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren aus Politik und Wissenschaft, führenden Geistlichen diverser Religionen sowie Persönlichkeiten der Zivilgesellschaft. Diese Publikation gilt bei vielen Nigerianern, in der Wissenschaft und unter Analysten als ein Schlüsselwerk zu vielen aktuellen Themen in Nigeria. Zu ihren weiteren Publikationen gehört unter anderem „Women in South African History“ (2007, HSRC Press). Als Kunstkritikerin hat sie Essays in Katalogen und auch in der Presse veröffentlicht. Seit ihrer Teenagerzeit ist Gasa politische Aktivistin; erstmals war sie mit 14 Jahren in der damaligen Transkei ohne Prozess inhaftiert und wurde gefoltert.

Pumla Dineo Gqola ist Dozentin für afrikanische Literaturwissenschaften und Gender Studies an der University of Witwatersrand. Ihre Forschungsthemen sind u.a. Gedächtnis der Sklaverei, Postkolonialismus, gendered Blackness, öffentliche Kultur in der Post-Apartheid und afrikanischer Feminismus. Sie erhielt MA Abschlüsse an der University of Cape Town und an der University of Warwick sowie einen DPhil an der Ludwig-Maxmilians-Universität München. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen „What is slavery to me? Postcolonial/Slave memory in post-apartheid South Africa“ (Wits Press, 2010) und “A renegade called Simphiwe” (MFBooks Joburg/Jacana, 2013).

Christian Kesten – Vokalist und Performer, Komponist und Regisseur – entwickelte ein Repertoire an erweiterten Vokaltechniken, die das Geräusch und die feine Nuancierung von Klangfarben in den Vordergrund stellen. Seine Arbeit erforscht die Verbindungen von Stimme und Aktion, Musik und Sprache, Musik und Bildender Kunst, die Durchdringung von Klang und Raum.
Als Interpret Neuer Vokalmusik und Neuen Musiktheaters mit zahlreichen Uraufführungen und internationaler Konzerttätigkeit arbeitete er mit Alessandro Bosetti, Lucio Capece, Jacques Demierre, Radu Malfatti, Chico Mello, Makiko Nishikaze, Josef Anton Riedl, Klaus Schedl, Iris ter Schiphorst, Dieter Schnebel, dem Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, dem Ensemble Modern, Apartment House London u.v.a. zusammen. Er ist Mitglied des Ensembles Maulwerker. Kesten erhielt diverse Stipendien, Kompositionsaufträge und Förderungen, z.B. Villa Aurora Los Angeles 2007. Gastvorträge, -seminare, Lehraufträge in Berlin, Europa, Israel, USA, Kanada. [christiankesten.de]

Ben Khumalo-Seegelken ist Theologe und Hochschullehrer für Bildungs- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Evangelische Theologie und Religionspädagogik an der Universität Oldenburg. Nach seinem Studium in Südafrika musste er 1975 im Widerstand gegen die Apartheid das Land verlassen. Von 1985 bis 1986 war er Lehrbeauftragter für Systematische und Ökumenische Theologie an der Universität Wien, anschließend war er bis 1994 als Evangelischer Pfarrer im Rheinland tätig. 2004/2005 leitete er das Integrationszentrum für lesbische Migrantinnen und schwule Migranten und organisierte 2005/2006 die Veranstaltungsreihe „Berliner Tage des interkulturellen Dialogs“.

Antjie Krog ist Lyrikerin, Schriftstellerin, Journalistin und Professorin an der University of the Western. Sie veröffentlichte zwölf Lyrikbände und drei Sachbücher: „Country of my Skull“ (1998) über die südafrikanische Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission (TRC), über die sie als Radiojournalistin berichtete, und „A Change of Tongue“ (2004) über den Transformationsprozess Südafrikas nach zehn Jahren wurden 2004 von LIASA, dem Verband südafrikanischer Bibliothekare, zu zwei der zehn wichtigsten Bücher des demokratischen Südafrikas erklärt. Ihr drittes Buch „Begging to be Black“ (2009) handelt vom Umgang mit dem Leben innerhalb einer `schwarzen´ Mehrheit. Darüber hinaus übersetzte Krog Nelson Mandelas Autobiografie „Long Walk to Freedom“ ins Afrikaans. Sie wurde mit allen renommierten südafrikanischen Preisen für Sachliteratur, Übersetzung und Lyrik in Afrikaans und Englisch ausgezeichnet und gewann den Stockholm Award der Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture im Jahr 2000 sowie den Preis der Open Society der Central European University (frühere Gewinner waren Jürgen Habermas und Vaclav Havel).

Xolela Mangcu ist Lehrbeauftragter für Soziologie an der Universität Kapstadt und Oppenheimer Fellow am Hutchins Center for African and African American Research der Universität Harvard. Er ist Autor und Ko-Autor von sieben Veröffentlichungen, u. a. „Biko: A Biography“ (Tafelberg, 2012) und war zuvor Kolumnist für u. a. Business Day, the Weekender sowie die Sunday Independent in Südafrika und Kommentator für CNN, BBC und Al-Jazeera. Mangcu war Stipendiat der Brookings Institution der Universität Harvard, des Massachusetts Institute of Technology und der Rockefeller Foundation. Seinen Ph. D. erhielt er in Stadt- und Regionalplanung an der Universität Cornell, an der Wits University erhielt er seinen MSc in Entwicklungsplanung und seinen BA in Soziologie. Die südafrikanische Sunday Times nannte ihn „den wahrscheinlich vielversprechendsten öffentlichen intellektuellen in Südafrika“.

Pia Marais ist preisgekrönte Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin. Aufgewachsen in Südafrika, Schweden und Spanien, studierte sie zunächst Fotografie und Bildhauerei an der Chelsea School of Art in London, der Rietveld Akademie in Amsterdam und der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie. Anschließend absolvierte sie ihr Filmstudium an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin (dffb). Ihr Spielfilmdebüt gab sie 2007 mit „Die Unerzogenen“. 2010 hatte ihr zweiter Film „Im Alter von Ellen“ Premiere auf dem Locarno Film Festival. Mit „Layla Fourie“ war sie 2013 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale vertreten und bekam eine lobende Erwähnung der Jury.

Hugh Masekela gilt als einer der wichtigsten Jazzmusiker aus Südafrika. Zu seinen größten Erfolgen zählen „Grazing in the Grass“ (1968) und der Song „Bring Him Back Home“ (1987), der zur Hymne der Freilassung Nelson Mandelas wurde. Masekela begann 1954 auf Vermittlung des britischen Geistlichen und Anti-Apartheid-Aktivisten Trevor Huddleston an Trompete zu spielen. 1961 ging er ins Exil nach London, dann in die USA; später lebte er in verschiedenen afrikanischen Ländern. Ab 1973 u. a. mit Fela Kuti und der Band Hedzoleh Soundz aktiv, kehrte er nach Ende des Apartheidregimes in seine Heimat zurück. Seit 2007 ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Woyome Foundation for Africa.

Khalo Matabane ist preisgekrönter Filmemacher, Autor und Produzent. Die Doku-Fiktion „Conversations on a Sunday Afternoon“, die die Lage von Flüchtlingen in Südafrika erkundet, war Teil des offiziellen Programms auf dem Toronto Film Festival und gewann den Preis der ökumenischen Jury auf der Berlinale 2006. Sein erster Spielfilm „State of Violence“ (2010) fand regen Zuspruch unter Kritikern auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals, u.a. von Toronto und Berlin. 2013 erschien sein neuer Film „Nelson Mandela: The Myth and Me“, ein Dokumentarfilm über die Kontroversen um Mandelas Politik der Versöhnung.

Birgit Morgenrath, Autorin und Journalistin, ist u.a. für Hörfunkanstalten der ARD tätig. Nach ihrem Studium der Germanistik und der Politischen Wissenschaft sowie ihrer Journalistenausbildung arbeitete sie zunächst Mitte der 1980e Jahre als Redakteurin, Reporterin und Moderatorin für den WDR. Danach war Birgit Morgenrath bis 2011 Mitglied im Kollektiv des Rheinischen JournalistInnenbüros Köln. Ihre Schwerpunktthemen sind u. a. Geschichte, Wirtschaft und Umwelt in Südafrika und in der Region des südlichen Afrika sowie afrikanische Literatur. Sie ist Ko-Autorin des Buches Deutsches „Kapital am Kap – Kollaboration mit dem Apartheidregime“, Hamburg 2003, sowie Übersetzerin und Bearbeiterin der Autobiografie von Denis Goldberg: "Der Auftrag. Ein Leben für die Freiheit in Südafrika", Hamburg 2010.

Njabulo S Ndebele ist Schriftsteller, Essayist, Publizist und eine Schlüsselfigur des südafrikanischen Hochschulwesens. Seit 2013 ist er Vorsitzender der Mandela Rhodes Foundation und der Nelson Mandela Foundation, 2012 wurde er ins Amt des Kanzlers der Universität von Johannesburg berufen. Als Publizist ist er bekannt für seine Essays über südafrikanische Literatur und Kultur sowie seine präzisen Interventionen zu politischen Fragen. Zu seinen bekanntesten Veröffentlichungen gehören die Essaysammlung „Rediscovery of the Ordinary“ (COSAW, 1991), der mit dem Noma Award prämierte Erzählband „Fools and Other Stories“ (Ravan Press , 1984), der Roman „The Cry of Winnie Mandela“ (Ayebia Clarke, 2004) und die Essaysammlung „Fine Lines from the Box“ (Umuzi, 2007).

Nozinja (Shangaan Electro) ist Musikproduzent und Entertainer. Aufgewachsen in der ländlichen Provinz Limpopo, Heimat der Shangaan-Kultur, zog es ihn später nach Soweto, wo er zunächst eine Repartaurwerkstatt für Mobiltelefone in einem Township eröffnete. Nachdem Nozinja in Soweto auf eine große und begeisterte Shangaan-Tanzszene traf, begann er 2004 seinen Shangaan Electro zu entwickeln – traditionelle Tanz- und Musikstile vermischt mit zeitgenössischen Musikgenres wie Kwaito und House. Das Ergebnis ist ein ganz eigener afrofuturistischer Electro-Dance, der bald weltweite Bekanntheit erlangte.

Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza war 1995 Mitglied der Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission. Sein Jurastudium absolvierte er, während er wegen politischem Aktivismus Mitte der 1970er und Anfang der 1980er Jahre inhaftiert war. Ntsebeza war verschiedentlich für kürzere Perioden amtierender Richter am High Court of South Africa sowie am Arbeitsgericht. Einige seiner Urteile wurden ausführlich in juristischen Zeitschriften wie dem „South African Law Journal“ besprochen. 2004 wurde er vom damaligen Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen Kofi Annan in die Internationale Untersuchungskommission zu Verstößen gegen die Menschenrechte in Dafur, Sudan, berufen. 2005 wurde Ntsebeza der erste afrikanische Senior Counsel in der Geschichte der Cape Bar, einer Gesellschaft von am High Court of South Africa zugelassenen Anwältinnen und Anwälten. Immer wieder nimmt er führende Positionen im Rechtssystem Südafrikas ein. So ist er Gründungsmitglied und Präsident der National Association of Democratic Lawyers sowie vormaliger Präsident und jetziger Vizepräsident der Black Lawyers Association. Zurzeit ist er zudem Vorsitzender der Advocates for Transformation. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Firmen Barloworld und Equillore Limited sowie des Desmond Tutu Peace Trusts und weitere Organisation praktiziert er weiterhin als Anwalt und betreibt seine Kanzlei in Sandton, Johannesburg, als Mitglied der Victoria Mxenge Group of Advocates.

Bernd Pickert ist seit 1994 Redakteur im Auslandsressort bei taz.die tageszeitung. Seine Themenschwerpunkte sind Menschenrechte, die USA und Lateinamerika. Von 2000 bis 2012 war er Mitglied im Vorstand der taz-Genossenschaft und engagiert sich seit ein paar Jahren in der Jury des taz-Panterpreises.

Mzukisi Qobo unterrichtet Internationale Politische Ökonomie an der Universität von Pretoria und ist stellvertretender Leiter des Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation (GovInn) derselben Universität. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Rolle aufkommender Mächte innerhalb der Global Governance sowie die politische Ökonomie Afrikas. Als leitender Direktor im südafrikanischen Handelsministerium war er für die Entwicklung der Handelspolitik des Landes verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus leitete er den Bereich Emerging Powers and Global Challenge am South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA). Er ist Co-Autor des Buches “The Fall of the ANC: What Next?” und erhielt seinen PhD an der Universität Warwick, Vereinigtes Königreich.

Jule Reimer arbeitet als Redakteurin im Ressort Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft des Deutschlandfunks. Sie hat als freie Journalistin und als ARD-Hörfunkkorrespondentin aus Brasilien, dem südlichen Afrika (insbesondere Südafrika, Angola und Mosambik) und den Balkankriegen berichtet. Jule Reimer erhielt ihr Diplom in Volkswirtschaft an der Universität Köln, wo sie auch Portugiesisch im Nebenfach studierte. Ihre journalistische Ausbildung hat sie an der Kölner Journalistenschule und als Hörfunkvolontariat bei der Deutschen Welle absolviert.

Storm Janse Van Rensburg ist unabhängiger Kurator für zeitgenössische Kunst und Autor. 2007 bis 2011 war er als leitender Kurator in der Goodman Gallery Cape Town tätig. Er kuratierte zahlreiche Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen, darunter gehörte zuletzt „A temporary admission“ von Bridget Baker beim National Arts Festival 2014 in Gahamstown, Südafrika. Seit seinem Umzug nach Berlin im Jahr 2012 kuratierte er 2013 die Gruppenausstellung „The Beautyful Ones“ in der Galerie Nolan Judin und war Ko-Kurator der Ausstellung „GhostBusters II“ im SAVVY Contemporary. Janse Van Rensburg ist Kurator der laufenden Wanderausstellung „Oblique“ von Abrie Fourie, die u. a. 2012 im HKW und 2013/2014 im Savannah College of Art and Design in den USA gezeigt wurde. Er schrieb u. a. für die Kunstmagazine Art South Africa, das Canvas Magazine und Metropolis M.. Zurzeit ist er Gastdozent an der Bayreuth Academy for Advanced African Studies und Ko-Kurator des Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekts „Giving Contour to Shadows“, eine Initiative des SAVVY Contemporary in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein.

Thabo Thindi ist ein in Berlin lebender Filmemacher und Live-Performer aus Südafrika. In 2012 gewann er im Rahmen des „48 Hour Film Project Berlin“ den Preis für die Beste Kamera. Zurzeit ist er als Schauspieler in Athol Fugards „Blood Knot“ auf deutschen Bühnen zu sehen.
Thabo Thindi ist Gründer und Regisseur der Plattform Jozi.tv, die neben zahlreichen Projekten auch den online TV-Sender Jozi.tv produziert. Die Vision von Jozi.tv ist die mediale Vermittlung zwischen Deutschland und Afrika. Ziel der Plattform ist es maßgeblich an der Darstellung und Repräsentation von Afrikanern in Deutschland beteiligt zu sein. So entwickelt und dokumentiert die Plattform Inhalte mit Afrikabezug aus ganz Deutschland.
Thabo Thindi ist darüber hinaus Regisseur und Produzent der Videoausstellung „Exile Faces“, einer Serie von Interviews, die die Lebensgeschichten von Südafrikanern dokumentieren die während des Apartheidregimes ins Exil getrieben wurden und aus verschiedenen Gründen bis heute im Exil in Deutschland blieben.

Barbara Wahlster ist Leiterin der Literatur-Redaktion bei Deutschlandradio Kultur. Zuvor war sie langjährig als freie Autorin, Journalistin und Kritikerin für den Rundfunk und andere Medien tätig. Sie hat aus dem Französischen übersetzt und war zuletzt Max Kade Visiting Professor an der Vanderbilt-University in Nashville .