2014, Sat, Mar 22

In the Beginning is the Signal

with Tom McCarthy, Ingo Niermann

To what extent were mechanisms of digital culture introduced long before technical digitalization? Beginning with ancient navigational fires, Tom McCarthy and Ingo Niermann discuss this issue on a quick rundown of the history of Western media.


Talk with Tom McCarthy (author, London) and Ingo Niermann (author, Fiktion, Berlin/New York)


Tom McCarthy, author, artist, is a London-based writer and artist. The main motifs of his works are repetition, multiplication, and recombination. In so doing, he declares an idealist intellectual history to be a failure, postulating a new age of the ingenuine and frustrated ideals. His most recent publication is Transmission and the Individual Remix: How Literature Works (Vintage, 2012).

Ingo Niermann, author, artist, Basel/ Berlin, Project director Fiktion, lives in Basel and Berlin and is the author of numerous works of fiction and non-fiction, recenty “Drill dich/ Choose Drill” (Hatje Cantz, 2012). Since 2008, he has been editor of the speculative series Solution, and since 2012 he has jointly coordinated the Fiktion project with Mathias Gatza and Henriette Gallus.

Sa, 22. März 2014

In the Beginning is the Signal

mit Tom McCarthy, Ingo Niermann

Inwieweit sind die Mechanismen der digitalen Kultur bereits lange vor der technischen Digitalisierung eingeführt worden? Dies diskutieren Tom McCarthy und Ingo Niermann und nehmen sich aus dieser Perspektive, beginnend mit einem antiken Leuchtfeuer, im Schnelldurchlauf die abendländische Mediengeschichte vor.


Gespräch mit Tom McCarthy (Autor, London) und Ingo Niermann (Autor, Fiktion, Berlin/New York)


Tom McCarthy, Autor, Künstler, ist ein in London lebender Schriftsteller und Künstler. Hauptmotive seiner Werke sind Wiederholung, Vervielfältigung und Remontage. Dabei erklärt er die idealistische Geistesgeschichte für gescheitert und postuliert ein neues Zeitalter der Unechtheit und frustrierter Ideale. Zuletzt veröffentlichte er den Essay „Transmission and the Individual Remix. How Literature Works“ (Vintage, 2012).

Ingo Niermann, Autor, Basel/Berlin, Projektleitung Fiktion, lebt in Basel und Berlin und ist Autor zahlreicher literarischer und Sachtitel, zuletzt “Drill dich/ Choose Drill” (Hatje Cantz, 2011). Seit 2008 gibt er die von Sternberg Press verlegte spekulative Solution-Reihe heraus, seit 2012 führt er gemeinsam mit Mathias Gatza und Henriette Gallus Fiktion e.V.