Sun, May 27: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information

2014, Sat, Mar 22

Distributing

with Christopher M. Kelty, Mignon Hardie, Moderation: Sven Asmussen

Literature is distributed using many different business models and spreads digitally in ways that are subject to many different social and societal norms. In his lecture, Christopher M. Kelty will describe the work of pirate publishers. What are their ethics, what is their intention, and what are the practical problems that result in illegal publishing? Unlike books, smartphones are widespread in almost all regions of the world today. In South Africa, for example, almost everyone has access to a smartphone. FundZa Literacy Trust uses this opportunity to promote reading and writing with the help of electronic texts, especially among young people. In conversation, Mignon Hardie will discuss the background and goals of the project.

Pirate Publishing Models
Lecture by Prof. Christopher M. Kelty (Department of Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles)

Apps & Alphabetization
Practice talk with Mignon Hardie (The FunDza Literacy Trust) and Christopher M. Kelty (Department of Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles)

Moderation by Sven Asmussen (Law, Humboldt University Berlin)


Sven Asmussen, Law, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin, is a researcher at Berlin’s Humboldt-Universität, where he is director of the Humboldt Law Clinic Internetrecht. He studied law in Rostock and Freiburg and is completing his doctorate on competition law.

Mignon Hardie, The FunDza Literacy Trust, South Africa, Managing Trustee, is managing director of FunDza Literacy Trust, a non-profit organization promoting the distribution of literature among young people using digital technologies. She has participated in founding and managing several small and mid-sized companies and is currently director of Cover2Cover, a social entrepreneurship venture that publishes teen literature.

Prof. Christopher M. Kelty, Anthropology and Information Studies, University of California, Los Angeles, CA, is associate professor at the Center for Society and Genetics and the Department of Information Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles. The focus of his research is the cultural importance of information technologies, especially in the realm of scholarship, science, and technology. In his book Two Bits: The Cultural Significance of Free Software (Duke University Press, 2008) he deals with collaborative processes in the free software movement and relevant developments for literature, music, science, and education.

Sa, 22. März 2014

Verbreiten

mit Christopher M. Kelty, Mignon Hardie, Moderation: Sven Asmussen

Literatur wird durch unterschiedlichste Geschäftsmodelle und entlang verschiedenster sozialer und gesellschaftlicher Normen digital verbreitet. In seinem Vortrag beschreibt Christopher M.  Kelty die Arbeit von Piratenverlagen. Welchem Ethos folgen sie, was bezwecken sie und welche praktischen Probleme stellen sich bei der Verlagstätigkeit im Illegalen? Anders als Bücher sind Smartphones in den meisten Regionen der Welt weit verbreitet. In Südafrika hat fast jeder Zugang zu ihnen. Dies nutzt The FundZa Literacy Trust aus, um mithilfe elektronischer Texte Lesen und Schreiben insbesondere bei jüngeren Menschen zu fördern. Im Gespräch gibt Mignon Hardie Einblicke in Hintergründe und Ziele des Projekts.

Pirate Publishing Modelle
Vortrag von Christopher M. Kelty (Anthropologie und Informationswissenschaften, University of California, Los Angeles)

Apps & Alphabetisierung
Praxis-Gespräch mit Mignon Hardie (Vorsitzende, The FunDza Literacy Trust, Südafrika) und Christopher M. Kelty (Anthropologie und Informationswissenschaft, University of California, Los Angeles)

Moderiert von Sven Asmussen (Rechtswissenschaften, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)


Sven Asmussen, Rechtswissenschaften, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Prof. Dr. Katharina de la Durantaye LL.M. (Yale) an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und betreut dort die Humboldt Law Clinic Internetrecht. Er studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Rostock und Freiburg und promoviert zu einem wettbewerbsrechtlichen Thema.

Mignon Hardie, The FunDza Literacy Trust, Südafrika, ist Geschäftsführerin des FundZa Literacy Trust, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, die Verbreitung von Literatur unter Jugendlichen mithilfe digitaler Technologien zu fördern. Sie war an der Gründung und Leitung verschiedener kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen beteiligt und ist Direktorin von Cover2Cover, einem sozialunternehmerischen Verlag für Jugendliteratur.

Prof. Christopher M. Kelty, Anthropologie und Informationswissenschaften, University of California, Los Angeles, CA, arbeitet als Associate Professor am Center for Society and Genetics sowie am Department of Information Studies der University of California, Los Angeles, CA. Seinen Forschungsschwerpunkt bildet die kulturelle Bedeutung der Informationstechnologien, insbesondere im Bereich von Wissenschaft und Technik. In seinem Buch „Two Bits: The Cultural Significance of Free Software“ (Duke University Press, 2008) befasst er sich mit den kollaborativen Schaffensprozessen in der freien Software-Bewegung sowie den Entwicklungen, die sich daraus auch für Literatur, Musik, Film, Wissenschaft und Bildung ergeben.