2014, Sat, Mar 22

Writing & Code

with Wolfgang Coy, Catharina Maracke, Moderation: Stefan Beck

Writing, whether literary or not, follows a technological and a legal code. The development of texts is closely linked to the (technological) form of their distribution. The same is true of their accessibility, openness, or alterability. Free and open source have been raising these questions for some time: can the answers provided there be transferred to (digital) literature?


Conversation with Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Coy (Computer Sciences, Humboldt University Berlin) and Prof. Dr. Catharina Maracke (Media and Governance, Keio University, Tokio). Moderation by Prof. Dr. Stefan Beck (European Ethnology, Humboldt University Berlin)


Prof. Dr. Stefan Beck, European Ethnology, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin, is professor of European ethnology at Berlin’s Humboldt University. Using a social and cultural anthropological approach, his work is focused on the interrelation between science, technology, and society, distilling its significance for cultural production and media use.

Prof. em. Dr. Wolfgang Coy, Computer Sciences, Humboldt University of Berlin, is professor emeritus for computer science at Berlin’s Humboldt University . His research is focused in particular on the social and cultural history of computer science, digital media theory, and the ethics of the information society. He calls for a cautious approach in dealing with the impacts of the mechanization of societal processes.

Prof. Dr. Catharina Maracke, Media and Governance, Keio University, Tokio, Japan. Until 2009, Maracke held a leadership position at the Creative Commons Foundation. An expert on copyright law, she is currently professor at the Global Information and Communication Technology and Governance Academic Program (GIGA) at Keio University in Tokyo and a fellow at the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University.

Sa, 22. März 2014

Schreiben & Code

mit Wolfgang Coy, Catharina Maracke, Moderation: Stefan Beck

Schreiben, ob literarisch oder nicht, folgt einem technischen und rechtlichen Code. Die Entwicklung von Texten ist eng mit der (technischen) Form ihrer Verbreitung verbunden. Gleiches gilt für ihre Zugänglichkeit, Offenheit sowie Veränderbarkeit. Im Hinblick auf Free and Open Source werden diese Fragen schon seit langem gestellt; lassen sich die dort gefundenen Antworten auf (digitale) Literatur übertragen?


Gespräch mit Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Coy (Informatik, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Catharina Maracke (Medien und Governance, Keio Universität, Tokio). Moderiert von Prof. Dr. Stefan Beck (Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)


Prof. Dr. Stefan Beck, Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, hat eine Professur am Institut für Europäische Ethnologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin inne. In seinen sozial- und kulturanthropologischen Studien beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit der Verschränkung von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Gesellschaft. Dabei stellt er auch die Bedeutung heraus, die diese für Kulturproduktion und Mediennutzung haben.

Prof. em. Dr. Wolfgang Coy, Informatik, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ist emeritierter Professor für Informatik an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Er erforscht insbesondere die Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte der Informatik, die Theorie digitaler Medien sowie die Ethik der Informationsgesellschaft. Dabei sieht er die Protagonisten zum rücksichtsvollen Umgang mit der sozialen Verantwortung verpflichtet, die mit der Maschinisierung gesellschaftlicher Vorgänge einhergeht.

Prof. Dr. Catharina Maracke, Medien und Governance, Keio University, Tokio, Japan,war bis 2009 in leitender Stellung bei der Creative Commons-Stiftung tätig. Heute ist die Urheberrechtlerin Professorin am Global Information and Communication Technology and Governance Academic Program (GIGA) der Keio University in Tokio, Japan, und Fellow am Berkman Center for Internet & Society der Harvard University in Cambridge, MA.