Bad Words


2021/2022

Bad Words | Design: Studio Yukiko

Bad Words | Design: Studio Yukiko

“I now no longer use the better words.” This is the beginning of Ilse Aichinger’s brief essay Bad Words and the anthology of the same name in which she develops her resistant poetics. A refusal of the imperative, of false certainties and the unassailable. Can we unlearn the reproduction of violence in language? Are the weaker expressions our salvation?

Based on Aichinger’s work, the audio series Bad Words creates a place for a different way of speaking about language and literature, for approaching a new sense of language. From conversations, readings, voice messages, field recordings and music, a polyphonic space is created with changing guests. The idea is: We start from one text so that another text can begin.

An audio series by Fabian Saul, in cooperation with Mathias Zeiske. Contributors include Sophia Eisenhut, Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah, Uljana Wolf and others.

Part of The New Alphabet

Audio series

2021/2022

In German and English

Listen and subscribe to the podcast

Apple Podcasts / Spotify / Stitcher

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here



Bad Words #1

With Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah and Uljana Wolf



Bad Words #2

With Sophia Eisenhut, Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah and Uljana Wolf

Schlechte Wörter


2021/2022

Schlechte Wörter | Design: Studio Yukiko

Schlechte Wörter | Design: Studio Yukiko

„Ich gebrauche jetzt die besseren Wörter nicht mehr.“ So beginnt Ilse Aichinger ihren kurzen Essay Schlechte Wörter und die gleichnamige Textsammlung, in der sie ihre widerständige Poetik entwickelt. Eine Verweigerung gegen das Gebotene, gegen falsche Zusammenhänge und Gewissheiten. Können wir verlernen, die Gewalt in der Sprache zu reproduzieren? Sind die schwächeren Ausdrücke die Rettung?

Ausgehend von Aichingers Text, schafft die Audioserie Schlechte Wörter einen Ort für ein anderes Sprechen über Sprache und Literatur, für die Annäherung an ein neues Sprachgefühl. Aus Gesprächen, Lesungen, Sprachnachrichten, Field Recordings und Musik entsteht mit wechselnden Gästen ein begehbarer, vielstimmiger Raum. Die Verabredung lautet: Wir gehen von einem Text aus, damit ein anderer Text beginnen kann.

Eine Audioserie von Fabian Saul, in Zusammenarbeit mit Mathias Zeiske. Mit Beiträgen von Sophia Eisenhut, Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah, Uljana Wolf und anderen.

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Audioserie

2021/2022

Auf Deutsch und Englisch

HKW Podcast hören und abonnieren

Apple Podcasts / Spotify / Stitcher

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung



Schlechte Wörter / Bad Words #1

Mit Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah und Uljana Wolf



Schlechte Wörter / Bad Words #2

Mit Sophia Eisenhut, Merve Emre, Hanne Lippard, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Karosh Taha, Senthuran Varatharajah und Uljana Wolf