Politics of the Dance Floor

Podcast by Kerstin Meißner and Sarah Farina

Based on a work by Mark Mumford

Based on a work by Mark Mumford

What is the relationship between rave and resistance? What does social justice look like on and off the dance floor?

During the coronavirus pandemic, the desolate situation of the club scene reflects present-day social, political and cultural challenges. The dance floor, a place of lived social utopia and resistant practices, has been put on a forced break. But it is also globally networked and political, also and especially because it is vulnerable.

The podcast series by Sarah Farina and Kerstin Meißner aka Transmission explores the varied responses of club culture to current events. How can this momentum advance new ways of raving and experiencing club music? In three podcasts, representatives from the diverse spectrum of club culture will focus their eyes and ears on the Politics of the Dance Floor.

Episode 1: Solidarity

Raving is community, solidarity, contact. A club can be a safer space, especially for People of Color, Black people and LGBTQ+ people. How do the communities bridge the pandemic void? What mechanisms of social exclusion exist even in the music scene and club culture? And what role does gentrification play? In the first episode of the Politics of the Dance Floor podcast, Erkan Affan speaks with Yuko Asanuma, Lakuti and Jay Jay Revlon about solidarity. They discuss participation, the advantages and disadvantages of online DJ sets and why it’s always work to show solidarity with others.

Episode 2: Sustainability

(to be released in September 2020)

Politics of the Dance Floor

Podcast von Kerstin Meißner und Sarah Farina

Basierend auf einer Arbeit von Mark Mumford

Basierend auf einer Arbeit von Mark Mumford

Welchen Zusammenhang gibt es zwischen Rave und Widerstand? Wie sieht soziale Gerechtigkeit auf und jenseits der Tanzfläche aus?

In Zeiten der Corona-Pandemie spiegelt die desolate Lage der Clubszenen soziale, politische und kulturelle Herausforderungen der Gegenwart. Der Dance Floor als Ort gelebter gesellschaftlicher Utopie und widerständiger Praktiken ist in eine Zwangspause versetzt. Aber: Er ist auch global vernetzt und politisch, auch und insbesondere, weil er verletzbar ist.

Die Podcast-Serie von Sarah Farina und Kerstin Meißner aka Transmission erkundet die vielfältigen Antworten der Clubkultur auf die aktuellen Ereignisse. Wie kann dieses Momentum genutzt werden, um neue Formen des Raves und des Cluberlebnisses zu imaginieren? In drei Ausgaben richten Vertreter*innen aus dem diversen Spektrum der Clubkultur Blick und Gehör auf die Politics of the Dance Floor.

Folge 1: Solidarität

Raven bedeutet Gemeinschaft, Verbundenheit, Kontakt. Der Club kann ein Safer Space sein, besonders auch für People of Color, Schwarze und LGBTQ+ Personen. Wie überbrücken die Communities die durch die Pandemie entstandene Leerstelle? Welche gesellschaftlichen Ausschlussmechanismen existieren ebenso in der Musikszene und Clubkultur? Und welche Rolle spielt dabei Gentrifizierung? In der ersten Folge des Podcasts Politics of the Dance Floor spricht Erkan Affan mit Yuko Asanuma, Lakuti und Jay Jay Revlon über Solidarität. Sie diskutieren über Partizipation, Vor- und Nachteile von Online-DJ-Sets und weshalb es immer auch Arbeit ist, sich mit anderen zu solidarisieren.

Folge 2: Nachhaltigkeit

(erscheint am 6. Oktober 2020)