Techno at the End of the Future

Around 1989, what were the promises of techno and its fictions? How are they significant today? And to whom? In two episodes, the podcast Techno at the End of the Future traces the connecting lines leading from Detroit to London and Berlin: from the futuristic sounds of the post-industrialized inner city to the “No Future” mindset before the fall of the Berlin Wall and rave euphoria in the UK to the relevance of today’s club culture.

With DeForrest Brown, Jr., Boris Dolinski, Mark Ernestus, Lerato Khathi alias Lakuti, Nkisi and Steve Goodman alias Kode9.

In cooperation with the Camden Art Centre

Episode 1: London

This episode is led by DeForrest Brown, Jr., author of Assembling a Black Counter Culture, in conversation with Steve Goodman (a.k.a. Kode9, founder of Hyperdub) and Nkisi (co-founder of Non Worldwide). Collectively they discuss the migration of techno music from North America to Europe with an initial focus on the situated contexts of the dance music scene in London and across the U.K. during the early 1990s. With reference to techno’s spiritual and technological origins, evolution and relationship with the so-called Hardcore Continuum.

Produced by Zakia Sewell

Episode 2: Berlin

Episode 2 focuses on past, present and future of the Detroit-Berlin axis. By means of an interview collage, writer and Make Techno Black Again activist DeForrest Brown, Jr., Lerato Khathi alias Lakuti (founder of Uzuri Recordings and the Bring Down the Walls initiative), Boris Dolinski (resident DJ at Berghain) and Mark Ernestus (musician and founder of the Hard Wax record store) explore how the rapid growth of club culture in Germany after 1989 relates to techno’s origins in the Black neighbourhoods of Detroit.

Narration by Christine Kakaire, directed and produced by Julia Vorkefeld, script and concept by Arno Raffeiner

Fr 22.10.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr...

Techno at the End of the Future

Welche Versprechen enthielten Techno und seine Fiktionen rund um das Jahr 1989? Welche Bedeutung haben sie heute? Und für wen? In zwei Podcast-Episoden folgt Techno at the End of the Future den Verbindungslinien von Detroit nach London und Berlin: von den futuristischen Klängen einer post-industrialisierten Inner City über die „No Future“-Attitüde vor dem Fall der Berliner Mauer und die Rave-Euphorie in Großbritannien bis zur aktuellen Relevanz von Clubkultur.

Mit DeForrest Brown, Jr.; Boris Dolinski; Mark Ernestus; Lerato Khathi alias Lakuti; Nkisi und Steve Goodman alias Kode9.

Eine Kooperation mit dem Camden Art Centre

Episode 1: London

DeForrest Brown, Jr., Autor von Assembling a Black Counter Culture, erörtert im Gespräch mit Steve Goodman alias Kode9, dem Gründer des Labels Hyperdub, und Nkisi, Mitgründerin des Kollektivs Non Worldwide, die Migration von Techno aus Nordamerika nach Europa. Dabei fokussieren die drei auf den Kontext der Clubszene in London und Großbritannien in den frühen 1990er Jahren, gehen sowohl auf spirituelle als auch technologische Ursprünge von Techno ein und diskutieren die Entwicklung der Musik und ihre Rolle im sogenannten Hardcore Continuum.

Produziert von Zakia Sewell

Episode 2: Berlin

In Form einer Interview-Collage konzentriert sich Episode 2 auf Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Achse Detroit – Berlin. Wie hängt das rasante Wachstum der Clubkultur in Deutschland nach 1989 mit den Ursprüngen von Techno in den Schwarzen Vierteln Detroits zusammen? Mit Make-Techno-Black-Again-Aktivist DeForrest Brown, Jr., der Gründerin von Uzuri Recordings und der Initiative Bring Down the Walls, Lerato Khathi alias Lakuti, mit Boris Dolinski, Resident-DJ im Berghain, und dem Musiker und Gründer des Plattenladens Hard Wax, Mark Ernestus.

Regie und Produktion von Julia Vorkefeld, Kommentar von Christine Kakaire, Skript und Konzept von Arno Raffeiner