HKW is undergoing renovations. The restaurant will remain open. Wassermusik and Internationaler Literaturpreis will be held on the roof terrace and in the restaurant. | More information...

2014, Mon, Aug 25 — 2014, Sun, Aug 31

Exile Faces

Director and producer: Thabo Thindi – Jozi.tv , D 2011/2014

"Bra Chipa" Stanford Moagi | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Eric Singh | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Eric Singh | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Janet Selby | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Janet Selby | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Sacks Stuurman | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Sacks Stuurman | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Arnold Isaacs | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Arnold Isaacs | Exile Faces, video still | © jozi.tv

Apartheid forced a number of South Africans into exile, and some sought refuge in the former divided Germany especially in the East. Many returned home after the collapse of apartheid in the 1990s but a number of them still live in Germany today. In interviews anti-apartheid activists like Eric Singh who has recently passed, “ Bra Chipa” Stanford Moagi, and others talk about their own views regarding South Africa then and today and explain why their return to the country remains a distant dream.

Thabo Thindi is a South African Berlin based independent filmmaker and live performer. Winner of the 2012 best cinematography award for the “48 Hour Film Project Berlin”. He is currently performing on stage in German theatres in Athol Fugard’s “Blood Knot”.
Thabo Thindi is the founder and director of Jozi.tv hub, which produces – amongst multiple other projects – an online TV channel called Jozi.tv. The vision of Jozi.tv is to serve as a multimedia communication platform and voice of Africa in Germany. Its aim is to play a fundamental role in the representation of Africans, developing and documenting African related content across Germany.
Thabo Thindi is also the director and producer of “Exile Faces”; an interview series in which he documents the life stories of South Africans who fled their home country during the apartheid era and for different reasons continue to live in Germany; to this day remaining in a state of Exile.

Mo, 25. August 2014 — So, 31. August 2014

Exile Faces

Regisseur und Produzent: Thabo Thindi – Jozi.tv , D 2011/2014

"Bra Chipa" Stanford Moagi | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Eric Singh | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Eric Singh | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Janet Selby | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Janet Selby | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Sacks Stuurman | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Sacks Stuurman | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Arnold Isaacs | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Arnold Isaacs | Exile Faces, Videostill | © jozi.tv

Die Grausamkeiten der Apartheid zwangen viele Südafrikaner ins Exil, u. a. auch in die ehemalige DDR und BRD. Nach dem Ende der Apartheid in den 1990er Jahren kehrten viele in ihre Heimat zurück, zahlreiche leben jedoch bis heute in Deutschland. In Interviews erzählen Anti-Apartheid-Aktivisten wie der kürzlich verstorbene Eric Singh, wie “Bra Chipa” Stanford Moagi und andere von ihrer Sicht auf Südafrika und warum die Rückkehr dorthin bis heute ein fast unerfüllbarer Traum bleibt.

Thabo Thindi ist ein in Berlin lebender Filmemacher und Live-Performer aus Südafrika. In 2012 gewann er im Rahmen des „48 Hour Film Project Berlin“ den Preis für die Beste Kamera. Zurzeit ist er als Schauspieler in Athol Fugards „Blood Knot“ auf deutschen Bühnen zu sehen.
Thabo Thindi ist Gründer und Regisseur der Plattform Jozi.tv, die neben zahlreichen Projekten auch den online TV-Sender Jozi.tv produziert. Die Vision von Jozi.tv ist die mediale Vermittlung zwischen Deutschland und Afrika. Ziel der Plattform ist es maßgeblich an der Darstellung und Repräsentation von Afrikanern in Deutschland beteiligt zu sein. So entwickelt und dokumentiert die Plattform Inhalte mit Afrikabezug aus ganz Deutschland.
Thabo Thindi ist darüber hinaus Regisseur und Produzent der Videoausstellung „Exile Faces“, einer Serie von Interviews, die die Lebensgeschichten von Südafrikanern dokumentieren die während des Apartheidregimes ins Exil getrieben wurden und aus verschiedenen Gründen bis heute im Exil in Deutschland blieben.