Re Asia

Exhibition, Films, Literature, Dance, Conference, Workshops
2008, Mar 14, Fri — 2008, May 18, Sun

The economic and cultural explosion in Asia is increasingly challenging the dominance of Euro-centric perspectives. This is true, for instance, of the comparison between modernity and tradition. For a long time, all that counted as modern in the West were cultural products that completely re-invented themselves. Western modernity has always seen itself in terms of an either/or: either modern or backward. What pictures and stories are created when artists open themselves up to regional traditions as they search for new answers to questions relating to the present?

Global networking is creating relationships between local and global phenomena and forging hitherto unforeseeable constellations. In the globalised culture business, art often loses its contour. Without a context it becomes depoliticised. Countering this trend, Re Asia views regional points of reference in a political context, in which it is always a question of how human beings deal with transformations taking place in the present.

Under the heading Re-Imagining Asia, an exhibition, a conference and a film series will examine the images use to re-invent Asia and the way in which the post-colonial production of knowledge is challenging Euro-centric concepts of art. The curators, Wu Hung and Shaheen Merali, are both established experts of the new Asian arts scene. The paths Asian epics have pursued to the present will be the theme of the literature festival Avatar: Asia's narrators curated by writer Ilija Trojanow. With his project, The Abduction of Sita, choreographer Joachim Schlömer explores new forms of narrating and interpreting traditional material.

Re Asia

Ausstellung, Filme, Literatur, Tanz, Konferenz, Workshops
Fr, 14. März 2008 — So, 18. Mai 2008

Asiens wirtschaftlicher und kultureller Aufbruch stellt eurozentrische Sichtweisen umso stärker in Frage. Das betrifft etwa die Gegenüberstellung von Moderne und Tradition. Lange Zeit galt im Westen, dass nur das modern sein konnte, was sich vollkommen neu erfand. Die westliche Moderne verstand sich immer als Entweder/Oder - entweder modern oder rückwärtsgewandt. Welche Bilder und Geschichten entstehen, wenn Künstler sich auf regionale Traditionen einlassen, um neue Ansätze für Fragen der Gegenwart zu entdecken?

Durch die weltweite Vernetzung treten Lokales und Globales in Beziehung und bringen unvorhersehbare Konstellationen hervor. Im globalisierten Kulturbetrieb verliert die Kunst oftmals an Kontur, ohne Kontext wird sie entpolitisiert. Re Asia stellt dagegen regionale Bezüge auch in einen politischen Zusammenhang. Dabei geht es immer wieder um die Frage, wie die Menschen mit den Transformationsprozessen unserer Zeit umgehen.

Unter dem Titel Re-Imagining Asia erkunden eine Ausstellung, eine Konferenz und eine Filmreihe durch welche Bilder Asien neu erfunden wird, und wie die postkoloniale Wissensproduktion eurozentrische Kunstauffassungen zur Rede stellt. Die Kuration verantworten Wu Hung und Shaheen Merali, ausgewiesene Kenner der neuen asiatischen Kunstszene. Welche Wanderwege asiatische Epen bis in die Gegenwart hinein nehmen ist das Thema des Literaturfestivals „Avatar. Asiens Erzähler“, das der Schriftsteller Ilija Trojanow kuratiert. Der Choreograf Joachim Schlömer lotet mit seinem Projekt Die Entführung von Sita neue Erzählformen und Lesarten für althergebrachte Stoffe aus.