Freedom in the Bush of Ghosts

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Freedom in the Bush of Ghosts is the conference accompanying the exhibition Parapolitics: Cultural Freedom and the Cold War, which investigates the battle for cultural hegemony and meaning in the Cold War as fought in the arts. The “bush of ghosts” in the conference title refers to a realm beyond public knowledge, where meaning gets broken down and founded anew. This is where the paths between art, and the work of security agencies such as the USA’s CIA ultimately crosses, as both were pursuing with different aims and means a parapolitics of subversions and counter-subversions. The title is derived from what counts as Nigeria’s first modernist novel, whose author was connected with the covertly CIA-supported MBARI artists clubs: Amos Tutuola’s My Life in the Bush of Ghosts from 1954. In the novel, the young protagonist’s flight from bondage does not earn him freedom. Rather, he finds himself in an absurd, liminal world of talking symbols and delirious phantasms, in which the entire regime of producing meaning constantly shifts.
The lectures and discussions in the conference program address the production of meaning through art and the role of the intellectual in Cold War cultural diplomacy, looking on the ideological Cold War constructs of freedom and the ways in which artistic and cultural autonomy are conceived in the anxious liberal-democratic consensus that pervades the “post”-Cold War contemporariness.

With Alessandro Balteo-Yazbeck, Clare Davies, Kodwo Eshun, Anselm Franke, Nida Ghouse, Paz Guevara, Angela Harutyunyan, Patrick Iber, Nataša Ilić, Alexander Keefe, Christian Kravagna, Antonia Majaca, Jaleh Mansoor, Museum of American Art in Berlin

Friday, Dec 15
Saturday, Dec 16

Freedom in the Bush of Ghosts

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Im Begleitprogramm der Ausstellung Parapolitik. Kulturelle Freiheit und Kalter Krieg thematisiert die Konferenz Freedom in the Bush of Ghosts den in der Kunst ausgefochtenen Kampf um die kulturelle Hegemonie und Deutungshoheit im Kalten Krieg. Der „Busch der Geister“, auf den der Titel der Veranstaltung anspielt, nimmt Bezug auf eine Sphäre, die sich jenseits des öffentlichen Wissens verortet, in der Bedeutung zerfällt und sich neu konstituiert. In ihr kreuzen sich die Wege von Kunst und Geheimdiensten wie dem CIA, die beide – wenn auch mit unterschiedlichen Zielen und Mitteln – eine subversive und kontersubversive Parapolitik betreiben. Freedom in the Bush of Ghosts leitet sich ab von Amos Tutuolas My Life in the Bush of Ghost (1954), der als erster nigerianischer Roman der Moderne gilt. Der Autor stand in Verbindung zu den vom CIA verdeckt gesponserten MBARI Clubs. Der junge Held, von dem Tutuola erzählt, kann aus der Gefangenschaft fliehen und findet dennoch keine Freiheit. Er gerät vielmehr in eine absurde Grenzwelt voll sprechender Symbole und Trugbilder, in der sich das System der Bedeutungsproduktion permanent verschiebt.
Die Beitragenden der Konferenz erörtern die Produktion von Bedeutung in der und durch die Kunst sowie die Rolle Intellektueller in der Kulturdiplomatie des Kalten Krieges. Vorträge und Diskussionen betrachten die ideologischen Konstrukte der Freiheit in jener Zeit und setzen sich mit dem Verständnis von künstlerischer und kultureller Autonomie im liberaldemokratischen Konsens auseinander, der die „Moderne nach dem Kalten Krieg“ bis heute prägt.

Mit Alessandro Balteo-Yazbeck, Clare Davies, Kodwo Eshun, Anselm Franke, Nida Ghouse, Paz Guevara, Angela Harutyunyan, Patrick Iber, Nataša Ilić, Alexander Keefe, Christian Kravagna, Antonia Majaca, Jaleh Mansoor, Museum of American Art in Berlin

Freitag 15.12.
Samstag 16.12.