Parapolitics: Cultural Freedom and the Cold War


2017, Nov 03, Fri — 2018, Jan 08, Mon

Didactic Exhibition, Panel No. 40 (Hans Arp, The Glove, collage), detail, group of authors (Depolo, Picelj, Putar, Ravlić, Richter, Šegvić, Kovačević, Barbić), 1957 | Courtesy Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb

Didactic Exhibition, Panel No. 40 (Hans Arp, The Glove, collage), detail, group of authors (Depolo, Picelj, Putar, Ravlić, Richter, Šegvić, Kovačević, Barbić), 1957 | Courtesy Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb

Art & Language, Picasso’s Guernica in the Style of Jackson Pollock, 1980. | Photo: Dirk Pauwels, S.M.A.K., Gent

Art & Language, Picasso’s Guernica in the Style of Jackson Pollock, 1980. | Photo: Dirk Pauwels, S.M.A.K., Gent

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Samuel Beckett, Quadrat I+II, 1981, still. | Courtesy SWR Media Services GmbH, Suhrkamp Verlag, Beckett Estate

Samuel Beckett, Quadrat I+II, 1981, still. | Courtesy SWR Media Services GmbH, Suhrkamp Verlag, Beckett Estate

After the Second World War, the battle of the systems also embroiled the arts and culture in a symbolic arms race. One example of this was the Congress for Cultural Freedom (CCF), an organization founded in West Berlin in June 1950 by a group of writers driven to consolidate an “anti-totalitarian” intellectual community. From its headquarters in Paris, the CCF subsidized countless cultural programs from Latin America to Africa and Southeast Asia, developing a network of journals, conferences, and exhibitions that advanced a “universal” language of modernism in literature, art, and music. By 1967, it was revealed that the CCF was secretly bankrolled by America’s espionage arm, the Central Intelligence Agency. The CIA scandal confirmed that the CCF had been enlisted in shoring up an anti-Communist consensus in the service of U.S. hegemony during the cultural Cold War. The disclosure destroyed the CCF’s reputation, exposing the ideological contradictions and moral ambiguities of advocating freedom and transparency by means that were themselves outside of democratic accountability.

Parapolitics: Cultural Freedom and the Cold War is devoted to the global dimension of cultural politics in the Cold War and to the changing meanings and aims assigned to modernism. Departing from an examination of the interdependencies between the political and aesthetic struggles of the era, the exhibition further reflects the ideological foundations of the conflict lines of today’s global contemporary art.

The friction between the political use of art and artists’ striving for autonomy is the focus of the exhibition. The artworks and archival materials on show explore the ideological contradictions and echoes of the postwar U.S. “freedom offensive.” Contemporary contributions deal with the legacy of the Cold War while looking into the relationship between political engagement and critical detachment. The show furthermore stages artworks from the 1930s to the present day that reflect the ideologically inflated contrast between abstraction and realism or are concerned with the question of artistic freedom and its forms. Archival materials, including influential international postwar journals that were initiated or supported by the CCF, illustrate how modernism became a signifier for individual freedom and was instrumental in establishing Western cultural hegemony in the 20th century.

Curated by Anselm Franke, Nida Ghouse, Paz Guevara, and Antonia Majaca

With works by Art & Language, Doug Ashford, Michael Baers, Antonina Baever, Alessandro Balteo-Yazbeck (mit Media Farzin & Paolo Gasparini), Romare Bearden, Samuel Beckett, Lene Berg, Broomberg & Chanarin, Fernando Bryce, Daniel Buren, Luis Camnitzer, Alice Creischer, Didactic Exhibition, Liu Ding, Charles & Ray Eames, Miklós Erdély, Peter Friedl, Liam Gillick, Sheela Gowda, Philip Guston, Gruppe Gummi K, Max de Haas, Chia-Wei Hsu, Iman Issa, Voluspa Jarpa, David Lamelas, Norman Lewis, İlhan Mimaroğlu, Moiseyev Dance Company, Museum of American Art in Berlin, Irving Norman, Guillermo Nuñez, Branwen Okpako, Boris Ondreička, Nam June Paik, Décio Pignatari, Howardena Pindell, Sigmar Polke, Rebecca H. Quaytman, Walid Raad, Steve Reich, Ad Reinhardt, Gerhard Richter, Faith Ringgold, Norman Rockwell, Peter Roehr, Martha Rosler, Charles Shaw, Yashas Shetty, Francis Newton Souza, Frank Stella, The Otolith Group, Endre Tót, Suzanne Treister, Twins Seven Seven, Josip Vaništa, Wolf Vostell, Susanne Wenger, and others

An English-language, extensively illustrated publication will be issued in spring 2018. Pre-order at

Part of Kanon-Fragen

Exhibition
Nov 3, 2017–Jan 8, 2018

Daily (except Tue)
11am–7pm
Closed on Dec 24–26 & 31
Open Jan 1, 2018

7€/5€
Mondays & under-16s free admission
Tickets at the box office

Exhibition Hall 1 + 2

Conference
Dec 15 & 16
Day ticket including exhibition: 10€/7€

Parapolitik: Kulturelle Freiheit und Kalter Krieg


Fr, 03. November 2017 — Mo, 08. Januar 2018

Didactic Exhibition, Panel No. 40 (Hans Arp, The Glove, collage), detail, group of authors (Depolo, Picelj, Putar, Ravlić, Richter, Šegvić, Kovačević, Barbić), 1957 | Courtesy Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb

Didactic Exhibition, Panel No. 40 (Hans Arp, The Glove, collage), detail, group of authors (Depolo, Picelj, Putar, Ravlić, Richter, Šegvić, Kovačević, Barbić), 1957 | Courtesy Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb

Art & Language, Picasso’s Guernica in the Style of Jackson Pollock, 1980. | Foto: Dirk Pauwels, S.M.A.K., Gent

Art & Language, Picasso’s Guernica in the Style of Jackson Pollock, 1980. | Foto: Dirk Pauwels, S.M.A.K., Gent

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Lene Berg, Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of Woman with Moustache, facade-banner, 2008 | Courtesy the artist

Samuel Beckett, Quadrat I+II, 1981, Still. | Courtesy SWR Media Services GmbH, Suhrkamp Verlag, Beckett Estate

Samuel Beckett, Quadrat I+II, 1981, Still. | Courtesy SWR Media Services GmbH, Suhrkamp Verlag, Beckett Estate

Der Kampf der Systeme nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg verwickelte auch Kunst und Kultur in ein symbolisches Wettrüsten. Dafür steht beispielhaft der Kongress für kulturelle Freiheit (Congress for Cultural Freedom, CCF), von einer Gruppe Schriftsteller*innen im Juni 1950 in West-Berlin gegründet zur Stärkung eines „antitotalitären“ Bündnisses Intellektueller. Ausgehend vom Pariser Hauptquartier unterstützte der CCF zahlreiche Kulturprogramme in Lateinamerika, Afrika und Südostasien und spann ein Netzwerk von Zeitschriften, Konferenzen und Ausstellungen, um die „universelle“ Sprache der Moderne in Literatur, Kunst und Musik zu fördern. 1967 stellte sich heraus, dass der CCF im Verborgenen von der CIA finanziert worden war, um den antikommunistischen Konsens und damit die hegemonialen Interessen der USA in einem Kalten Krieg der Kultur zu befördern. Mit der Enthüllung des CIA-Skandals war der Ruf des CCF ruiniert. Zu offensichtlich waren die ideologischen Widersprüche und die moralisch zweifelhafte Verteidigung von Freiheit und Transparenz mit Mitteln, die sich ihrerseits der demokratischen Rechenschaftspflicht entzogen.

Parapolitik widmet sich der globalen Dimension der Kulturpolitik im Kalten Krieg und den sich wandelnden Bedeutungen und Zielen, die mit der Moderne assoziiert wurden. Ausgehend von einer Untersuchung der Interdependenzen der politischen und ästhetischen Auseinandersetzungen der Ära, thematisiert die Ausstellung die ideologischen Grundlagen der Konfliktlinien globaler Gegenwartskunst.

Das Verhältnis von ideologischer Inanspruchnahme und künstlerischem „Autonomieverhalten” ist zentrales Thema der Ausstellung. Die gezeigten Arbeiten und Archivmaterialien setzen sich mit den ideologischen Widersprüchen und dem Widerhall der US-„Freiheitsoffensive“ der Nachkriegsjahre auseinander. Zeitgenössische Beiträge thematisieren das Erbe des Kalten Krieges und erkunden die Beziehung zwischen politischem Engagement und kritischer Distanz. Daneben stehen Werke aus den 1930er Jahren bis heute, die den ideologisch geprägten Kontrast zwischen Abstraktion und Realismus reflektieren und die Frage nach der künstlerischen Freiheit und ihren Formen stellen. Archivmaterialien — darunter bedeutende, vom Kongress für kulturelle Freiheit gegründete oder finanzierte internationale Journale der Nachkriegszeit — illustrieren, wie die Moderne zum Bedeutungsträger für individuelle Freiheit wurde und so die kulturelle Hegemonie des Westens im 20. Jahrhundert beförderte.

Kuratiert von Anselm Franke, Nida Ghouse, Paz Guevara und Antonia Majaca

Mit Arbeiten von Art & Language, Doug Ashford, Michael Baers, Antonina Baever, Alessandro Balteo-Yazbeck (mit Media Farzin & Paolo Gasparini), Romare Bearden, Samuel Beckett, Lene Berg, Broomberg & Chanarin, Fernando Bryce, Daniel Buren, Luis Camnitzer, Alice Creischer, Didactic Exhibition, Liu Ding, Charles & Ray Eames, Miklós Erdély, Peter Friedl, Liam Gillick, Sheela Gowda, Philip Guston, Gruppe Gummi K, Max de Haas, Chia-Wei Hsu, Iman Issa, Voluspa Jarpa, David Lamelas, Norman Lewis, İlhan Mimaroğlu, Moiseyev Dance Company, Museum of American Art in Berlin, Irving Norman, Guillermo Nuñez, Branwen Okpako, Boris Ondreička, Nam June Paik, Décio Pignatari, Howardena Pindell, Sigmar Polke, Rebecca H. Quaytman, Walid Raad, Steve Reich, Ad Reinhardt, Gerhard Richter, Faith Ringgold, Norman Rockwell, Peter Roehr, Martha Rosler, Charles Shaw, Yashas Shetty, Francis Newton Souza, Frank Stella, The Otolith Group, Endre Tót, Suzanne Treister, Twins Seven Seven, Josip Vaništa, Wolf Vostell, Susanne Wenger u. a.

Eine englischsprachige Publikation mit Essays und umfangreichem Bildmaterial erscheint im Frühjahr 2018. Vorbestellungen unter

Im Rahmen von Kanon-Fragen

Ausstellung
03.11.2017–08.01.2018

Täglich (außer Di)
11–19h
01.12. & 02.12. bis 20h geöffnet
24.–26.12. & 31.12. geschlossen
01.01.2018 geöffnet

7€/5€
Montags & U16 freier Eintritt
Tickets an der Kasse

Ausstellungshalle 1 + 2

Konferenz
15. & 16.12.
Tagesticket 10€/7€ inkl. Ausstellung