2018, Thu, Sep 13 and 2018, Fri, Sep 14

Anthropology, Art & Alterity

Julia Schwarz, Je est un autre (ICH IST EIN ANDERER)

Julia Schwarz, Je est un autre (ICH IST EIN ANDERER)

“Alterity” describes a state of being other or different and has become an integral element of postcolonial criticism. The symposium approaches the term both from an artistic and anthropological perspective and asks: What comparisons, relationships, and standards does the construction of alterity imply?

Is alterity a relational and situational concept? How are differences manifested? Anthropologists, curators, art historians, and philosophers not only discuss how the concept can be utilized and mobilized, but also shed light on criticism of it. Building on traditional academic approaches, they discuss new ways to artistically express alterity.

With contributions by Emmanuel Alloa, Khadija Zinnenburg Carroll, Hamid Dabashi, Martin Holbraad, Nora Sternfeld, Clio Nicastro, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Nigel Rapport, Alya Sebti, Rupert Stasch, Julian Warner, and others. Organized by Jonas Tinius (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

The panels on Sep 13 and 14 take place at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. The concluding keynote by Hamid Dabashi on Sep 14, at 7 pm, takes place at SAVVY Contemporary (Plantagenstraße 31, 13347 Berlin).”

Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage (CARMAH) as a guest at HKW

Detailed program: www.carmah.berlin

Do, 13. September 2018 und Fr, 14. September 2018

Anthropology, Art & Alterity

Julia Schwarz, Je est un autre (ICH IST EIN ANDERER)

Julia Schwarz, Je est un autre (ICH IST EIN ANDERER)

Der Begriff „Alterität“ beschreibt einen Zustand der Andersartigkeit oder Verschiedenheit und ist zu einem integralen Bestandteil der postkolonialen Kritik geworden. Das Symposium nähert sich dem Begriff sowohl aus künstlerischer als auch aus anthropologischer Perspektive und fragt: Welche Vergleiche, Beziehungen und Normen impliziert die Konstruktion von Alterität?

Ist Alterität ein relationales und situatives Konzept? Wie manifestieren sich Unterschiede? Anthropolog*innen, Kurator*innen, Kunsthistoriker*innen und Philosoph*innen diskutieren nicht nur, wie das Konzept nutzbar gemacht und mobilisiert werden kann, sondern beleuchten auch seine Kritik. Aufbauend auf traditionellen wissenschaftlichen Ansätzen diskutieren sie neue Möglichkeiten, Alterität künstlerisch Ausdruck zu verleihen.

Mit Beiträgen von Emmanuel Alloa, Khadija Zinnenburg Carroll, Hamid Dabashi, Martin Holbraad, Nora Sternfeld, Clio Nicastro, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Nigel Rapport, Alya Sebti, Rupert Stasch, Julian Warner u .a. Organisiert von Jonas Tinius (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

Die Panels am 13. und 14. September finden im Haus der Kulturen der Welt statt, die abschließende Keynote von Hamid Dabashi am 14. September um 19h ist im SAVVY Contemporary (Plantagenstraße 31, 13347 Berlin).

Centre for Anthropological Research on Museums and Heritage (CARMAH) zu Gast im HKW

Ausführliches Programm: www.carmah.berlin