2018, Sat, Oct 20

Copyleft or Copywrong? Part 1

Larisa Kingston Mann, Joe Bennett, Monika Dommann, Martin Kretschmer, Fiona Macmillan, Marisella Ouma, Anjali Vats

4pm: Blurred Lines of Plagiarism: On Musical Appropriation and Business
Lectures and discussion with Joe Bennett (forensic musicologist, Berklee College of Music), Martin Kretschmer (legal scholar, University of Glasgow; director of the CREATe Centre), Anjali Vats (communications and legal scholar, attorney, Boston College)
moderated by Andrea Goetzke (cultural producer and curator, Music Pool Berlin; Torstraßenfestival)

Music on trial: How can we tell if one song is the copy of another? What is a mere tribute, what is real plagiarism? Can the sound of a piece of music be protected? What forms of musical appropriation and transformation are legitimate, what are not and why? Cases of plagiarism have become a big part of the music business. Copyright is seen as a new “currency” for investors in creativity – less for the artists themselves. But it’s not just about huge amounts of money: nothing less than the definitions and ethics of creative practice are up for negotiation here. Music analysis, conceptual rhetoric, moral value systems and cultural history: Many factors beyond the law may decide who wins a case and what precedents will shape the music of tomorrow.

5.30pm: Protection of Traditions: Cultural Expressions in the Postcolonial Condition
Lectures and discussion with Fiona Macmillan (legal scholar, Birkbeck University of London), Marisella Ouma (Intellectual Property lawyer; Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice Kenya), Monika Dommann (historian, University of Zürich)
moderated by Andrea Goetzke (cultural producer and curator, Music Pool Berlin; Torstraßenfestival)

Tribal Voice by Yothu Yindi reached #4 on the Australian album charts in 1991. In the Aboriginal rock band’s music, millennia-old indigenous chants encounter typical pop instruments and song structures. How are folklore and copyright related to each other? What is public domain, what is cultural property? As a European invention, copyright for musical compositions is based on the exclusion of traditional, oral and community music practice, which include many works from the US folk and blues canons. Over the course of decolonization as well as the expansion of international trade agreements, postcolonial discourses and demands have called this distinction into question. Since then, the protection of Traditional Cultural Expressions (TCE) has been discussed and put into legal force in many places. What are the characteristics of such forms of expression deserving of protection? What is their political benefit to local communities? The juridification on the basis of authorship and private property transforms cultural practices. What are the consequences of the resulting fixation and commodification? What alternatives do collaborative and commons-based models offer?

7pm: Rude Citizenship: Jamaican Musical Challenges to Copyright(ed) Culture
Keynote by Larisa Kingston Mann (legal ethnographer, Temple University)

With its creative center of remix culture, dub versions, sound systems, and street parties, Jamaican musical practice is collaborative and undermines conventional copyright principles. What could alternative ideas of music ownership, control and exploitation look like? What musical techniques do marginalized communities employ that oppose the concepts of authorship and ownership of legal institutions? – When she’s not filling clubs with global bass sounds as DJ Ripley, Larisa Kingston Mann examines possibilities for autonomous cultural practice and how the law and media shape them. Copyright is also a cultural technology that presupposes specific institutional structures and reproduces a particular understanding of creative practice. How do these assumptions relate to the interests and practices of musicians?

Sa, 20. Oktober 2018

Copyleft or Copywrong? Part 1

Larisa Kingston Mann, Joe Bennett, Monika Dommann, Martin Kretschmer, Fiona Macmillan, Marisella Ouma, Anjali Vats

16h: Blurred Lines of Plagiarism: On Musical Appropriation and Business
Vorträge und Diskussion mit Joe Bennett (forensischer Musikwissenschaftler, Berklee College of Music), Martin Kretschmer (Jurist, University of Glasgow; Leiter des CREATe Centre), Anjali Vats (Kommunikationswissenschaftlerin, Juristin, Boston College)
moderiert von Andrea Goetzke (Kulturproduzentin und Kuratorin, Music Pool Berlin; Torstraßenfestival)

Musik vor Gericht: Wie lässt sich feststellen, ob ein Song die Kopie eines anderen ist? Was ist noch Hommage, was schon Plagiat? Kann der Klang eines Musikstücks geschützt werden? Welche Form musikalischer Aneignung und Transformation gilt als legitim, welche nicht und warum? Plagiatsfälle sind ein großer Teil des Musikgeschäfts geworden. Copyright gilt als neue „Währung“ für die Investoren in Kreativität – weniger für die Kreativen selbst. Es geht aber nicht nur um sehr viel Geld: Nichts Geringeres als die Definitionen und Ethik kreativer Praxis stehen hier zur Verhandlung. Musikanalyse, Begriffsrhetorik, moralische Wertesysteme und Kulturgeschichte: Viele Faktoren jenseits des Gesetzes können entscheiden, wer Recht bekommt – und welche Präzedenzfälle das Musikschaffen von morgen prägen.

17.30h: Protection of Traditions: Cultural Expressions in the Postcolonial Condition
Vorträge und Diskussion mit Fiona Macmillan (Juristin, Birkbeck University of London), Marisella Ouma (Anwältin für geistiges Eigentumsrecht; Generalstaatsanwaltschaft und Justizministerium Kenia), Monika Dommann (Historikerin, Universität Zürich)
moderiert von Andrea Goetzke (Kulturproduzentin und Kuratorin, Music Pool Berlin; Torstraßenfestival)

1991 erreichte das Album Tribal Voice von Yothu Yindi Platz 4 der australischen Albumcharts. In der Musik der Aboriginal-Rock-Band treffen jahrtausendealte indigene Gesänge auf pop-typische Instrumente und Songstrukturen. Wie stehen Folklore und Copyright zueinander? Was ist public domain, was kulturelles Eigentum? Als europäische Erfindung basiert das Copyright für Musikkompositionen auf dem Ausschluss tradierter, oraler und gemeinschaftlicher Musikpraxis – dazu zählen auch viele Stücke des US-amerikanischen Folk- und Blueskanons. Postkoloniale Diskurse und Forderungen im Zuge der Dekolonialisierung ebenso wie die Ausweitung internationaler Handelsverträge haben diese Unterscheidung in Frage gestellt. Seither wird der Schutz für Traditionelle Kulturelle Ausdrucksformen (Traditional Cultural Expressions – TCE) diskutiert und vielerorts gesetzlich implementiert. Was sind die Charakteristika solcher schützenswerter Ausdrucksformen? Was ist ihr politischer Nutzen für lokale Gemeinschaften? Wie verändert die Verrechtlichung auf Basis von Autorschaft und Privateigentum die betreffenden Kulturpraxen, welche Auswirkungen hat die resultierende Fixierung und Kommodifizierung? Welche Alternativen bieten kollaborative und Commons-basierte Modelle?

19h: Rude Citizenship: Jamaican Musical Challenges to Copyright(ed) Culture
Keynote von Larisa Kingston Mann (Rechtsethnologin, Temple University)

Remix-Kultur, Dub Versions, Sound Systems und Straßenpartys als kreatives Zentrum: Jamaikanische Musikpraxis ist kollaborativ und unterläuft gängige Copyrightprinzipien. Wie können alternative Vorstellungen von Eigentum, Kontrolle und Verwertung von Musik aussehen? Welche Musiktechniken setzen marginalisierte Communities dem Urheberbegriff der Rechtsinstitutionen entgegen? – Wenn sie nicht gerade als DJ Ripley die Clubs mit globalen Bass-Sounds anheizt, untersucht Larisa Kingston Mann Möglichkeitsräume für autonome Kulturpraxis und wie Recht und Medien diese formen. Copyright ist auch eine Kulturtechnologie, die gewisse institutionelle Strukturen voraussetzt und ein bestimmtes Verständnis kreativer Praxis reproduziert. Wie verhalten sich diese Vorannahmen zu den Interessen und Praktiken von Musiker*innen?