Fri, May 24: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More…

2018, Fri, Oct 12 and 2018, Sat, Oct 13

Forecast Festival

Photos (from top left): Jon Stam, Lukas Glickman, Saverio Cantoni, Omar A. Chowdhury, Dave Miller, Chayanit Mathong

Photos (from top left): Jon Stam, Lukas Glickman, Saverio Cantoni, Omar A. Chowdhury, Dave Miller, Chayanit Mathong

Film and sound projects, exhibition design, radio, artistic intervention: The third edition of the mentoring program again promotes the transdisciplinary exchange of forward-looking ideas.

For the grand finale, the mentees will reveal what they have been working on over the past six months with their mentors—museum director Tulga Beyerle, curator David Elliott, video artist Omer Fast, musician Holly Herndon, artist Laura Lima, and curator and producer Peter Meanwell. Together they present their innovative projects: from an experimental science-fiction radio drama, to a soundtrack for the post-human future, to a critical alternative to traditional museology presentation.

At the Forecast Forum in May 2018, the mentors each chose one project from six categories. They will now be presented at the Forecast Festival:

Invasive Design
Backchannel Tools
Prototype exhibition
Mentee: Commonplace Studio
Mentor: Tulga Beyerle

Looking
The Exhaustion Project
Dance performance, video installation, exhibition, and concert
Mentee: Abhijan Toto
Mentor: David Elliott

Moving Image
Augustijn
Video installation
Mentee: Omar A. Chowdhury
Mentor: Omer Fast

Composition
A Music Report on the Human Species: Beyond Extinction
Music and video performance
Mentee: MIIIN
Mentor: Holly Herndon

Living Matter
Organism 518400
Immersive Installation
Mentee: Saverio Cantoni
Mentor: Laura Lima

Beyond Radio
Frequency Interference
Sound installation and radiophonic performance
Mentee: Julia E Dyck
Mentor: Peter Meanwell

On Saturday, Oct 13, at 6 pm, the festival will also host Forecast's new transnational initiative Housing the Human, a collaboration of five European festivals and institutions. Presentations and discussions will play through fictional scenarios of possible futures, which explore correlations between architecture, urban planning, and design, presented and tested through tangible prototypes.

Forecast is a project by Skills e.V. in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt, and supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. Under the auspices of Heiko Maas, Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe. Supported by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Lithuanian Culture Institute, Koreanisches Kulturzentrum, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Quebec, Embassy of Canada, Future Architecture Platform, Co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union. Presented by brand eins and Le Monde diplomatique

Housing the Human is a project by Skills e.V. in cooperation with Copenhagen Architecture Festival (CAFx), Demanio Marittimo. Km-278, Istanbul Foundation for Culture & Arts IKSV, and Z33. It is supported by the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development BBSR within the Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning of Germany BBR, and held in collaboration with acatech.

forecast-platform.com
housingthehuman.com

Fr, 12. Oktober 2018 und Sa, 13. Oktober 2018

Forecast Festival

Fotos (von links oben): Jon Stam, Lukas Glickman, Saverio Cantoni, Omar A. Chowdhury, Dave Miller, Chayanit Mathong

Fotos (von links oben): Jon Stam, Lukas Glickman, Saverio Cantoni, Omar A. Chowdhury, Dave Miller, Chayanit Mathong

Film- und Klangprojekte, Ausstellungsdesign, Radio, künstlerische Intervention: Auch die dritte Ausgabe des Mentor*innenprogramms fördert den transdisziplinären Austausch zukunftsweisender Ideen.

Zum großen Finale präsentieren die Mentees, was sie im letzten halben Jahr mit ihren Mentor*innen – der Museumsdirektorin Tulga Beyerle, dem Kurator David Elliott, dem Videokünstler Omer Fast, der Musikerin Holly Herndon, der Künstlerin Laura Lima oder dem Kurator und Produzenten Peter Meanwell – entwickelt haben. Zusammen stellen sie ihre innovativen Projekte vor: von einem experimentellen Science-Fiction-Drama für das Radio über einen Soundtrack für die posthumane Zukunft bis hin zu einer kritischen Alternative zur traditionellen museologischen Präsentation.

Beim Forecast Forum im Mai 2018 wählten die Mentor*innen aus sechs Kategorien jeweils ein Projekt aus. Nun werden sie beim Forecast Festival vorgestellt:

Invasive Design
Backchannel Tools
Ausstellung Prototypen
Mentee: Commonplace Studio
Mentorin: Tulga Beyerle

Looking
The Exhaustion Project
Tanzperformance, Videoinstallation, Ausstellung und Konzert
Mentee: Abhijan Toto
Mentor: David Elliott

Moving Image
Augustijn
Videoinstallation
Mentee: Omar A. Chowdhury
Mentor: Omer Fast

Composition
A Music Report on the Human Species: Beyond Extinction
Musik- und Videoperformance
Mentee: MIIIN
Mentor: Holly Herndon

Living Matter
Organism 518400
Immersive Installation
Mentee: Saverio Cantoni
Mentor: Laura Lima

Beyond Radio
Frequency Interference
Klanginstallation und radiophone Performance
Mentee: Julia E Dyck
Mentor: Peter Meanwell

Während des Festivals ist am Samstag, dem 13. Oktober um 18 Uhr auch die von Forecast ins Leben gerufene Initiative Housing the Human zu erleben, die aus einer Zusammenarbeit von fünf europäischen Festivals und Institutionen entstanden ist. In Präsentationen und Diskussionen werden fiktive Szenarien künftiger Lebens- und Arbeitsweisen und ihre Ausprägungen in Architektur, Städtebau und Design durchgespielt, um hieraus konkret erfahrbare Prototypen zu entwickeln.

Forecast ist ein Projekt von Skills e.V. in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Heiko Maas, Bundesminister des Auswärtigen, und Thorbjørn Jagland, Generalsekretär des Europarats. Unterstützt vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, Königreich der Niederlande, Litauisches Kulturinstitut, Koreanisches Kulturzentrum, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Quebec, Botschaft von Kanada, Future Architecture Platform, kofinanziert durch das Programm Creative Europe der Europäischen Union. Präsentiert von brand eins und Le Monde diplomatique

Housing the Human ist ein Projekt von Forecast - Skills e.V. in Kooperation mit Copenhagen Architecture Festival (CAFx), Demanio Marittimo, Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts und Z33/House for Contemporary Art. Es wird gefördert vom Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR) im Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung (BBR). In Zusammenarbeit mit acatech - Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaft.

forecast-platform.com
housingthehuman.com