2018, Tue, Mar 27

Anthropocene Lecture: Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing

EPFL, École Polytechnique, Alps meterological model, Lausanne, Switzerland | © Armin Linke

EPFL, École Polytechnique, Alps meterological model, Lausanne, Switzerland | © Armin Linke

Modern infrastructures have shaped disturbance-based ecologies that force all living beings to consistently find new ways to survive. The anthropologist Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing explores the possibilities of life in capitalist ruins.

“What if the Anthropocene is patchy—and more than human?” asks Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing as a guiding question for her new collaborative project entitled Feral Atlas. Her lecture reflects upon this new project that investigates how natural scientists, humanists, and artists use field-based curiosities to tell stories that carefully attend to how humans and nonhumans make worlds together at every scale. Tracing the recent spreading of the parasitic water mold Phytophthora from Germany to the Western United States, where it kills off natural woodlands, shows that even when Anthropocene phenomena are planetary in extent, they need to be understood in relation to the patchy occurrences of infrastructures from industrial nursery sheds to the floating plantations in cargo containers.

Feral Atlas explores how digital media could help energize readers and listeners rather than paralyzing them, even if this means offering up terrible accounts. Connecting the scale of hyperobjects such as climate change to the human scales of ecological patches—landscapes, species, local meshworks—compels us to act instead of leaving us feeling overwhelmed.

Following her lecture, she discusses these ideas with curator Bergit Arends, reflecting on the potentialities of transdisciplinary knowledge production in discerning the Anthropocene’s relationship to representation and unpacking the larger sociopolitical consequences in researching the Anthropocene.

Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing is Professor of Anthropology at the University of California, Santa Cruz. She is also Niels Bohr Professor at Aarhus University in Denmark and Director of Aarhus University Research on the Anthropocene (AURA), a long-term partnering project of the Anthropocene Curriculum. She is author of The Mushroom at the End of the World: On the Possibility of Life in Capitalist Ruins (2015; German edition, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2018) and Friction: An Ethnography of Global Connection (2005). She is co-editor of the book Arts of Living on a Damaged Planet: Ghosts and Monsters of the Anthropocene (2017).

Bergit Arends is Curator and Researcher at the Department of Geography at Royal Holloway, University of London and at the Research & Public History Institute of the Science Museum Group. Her PhD thesis of 2017 is titled “Contemporary art, archives and environmental change in the age of the Anthropocene”. She curates the Kunst/Natur program at the Natural History Museum, Berlin (2016–18), and was Curator of Contemporary Art at the Natural History Museum, London (2005–13). She studied Curating at the Royal College of Art, London. In her research, she explores the interferences of the arts and the sciences, focusing on environmental humanities, fine arts, and curating.

The Anthropocene Lectures series is a platform for inviting a number of prominent speakers, accentuating the debate on the Anthropocene.

The Anthropocene Lectures are being developed in cooperation with the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam, and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Di, 27. März 2018

Anthropocene Lecture: Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing

EPFL, École Polytechnique, Modell der Alpen, Lausanne, Schweiz | © Armin Linke

EPFL, École Polytechnique, Modell der Alpen, Lausanne, Schweiz | © Armin Linke

Moderne Infrastrukturen haben Ökosysteme geschaffen, die auf Störungen basieren. Lebewesen müssen in ihnen immer wieder neue Überlebensstrategien entwickeln. Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing erforscht die fragilen Möglichkeiten der Existenz in den Ruinen des Kapitalismus.

Inmitten der bruchstückhaften und heterogenen Erscheinungsformen des Anthropozäns ist der Mensch nur einer von vielen Akteuren. Tsing stellt in ihrem Vortrag ihr jüngstes Gemeinschaftsprojekt Feral Atlas vor, in dem sich Feldforschungen von Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen zu vielschichtigen Erzählungen fügen, die von den realen Formen des Zusammenlebens von Menschen und nicht-menschlichen Spezies berichten. Etwa im Falle des parasitären Wasserschimmelpilzes Phytophthora, der von Deutschland kommend mittlerweile ganze Wälder im Westen der USA befällt. Diese Ausbreitung zeigt, dass anthropozäne Phänomene nur im Zusammenspiel mit Infrastrukturen verstanden werden können, die sich – von industriellen Baumschulen bis zu schwimmenden Plantagen in Frachtcontainern – in unregelmäßigen Mustern über den Planeten erstrecken.

Feral Atlas erforscht, wie digitale Medien Handlungspotenziale eröffnen können, auch wenn sie dafür auf bedrohliche Berichte zurückgreifen müssen. Hyperobjekte wie der Klimawandel und seine sichtbaren und unsichtbaren lokal-ökologischen Ausformungen, wie z. B. in der Veränderung von Landschaftszonen und Vegetationen oder der Migration von Spezies, finden auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen statt. Die Verknüpfung dieser Ebenen zu verschränkten Erzählungen kann aus der Erstarrung herausführen und neue Handlungsmöglichkeiten aufzeigen.

Im Anschluss an ihren Vortrag diskutiert Anna Tsing mit der Kuratorin Bergit Arends über die Möglichkeiten transdisziplinärer Wissensproduktion. Ausgehend von der schwierigen Frage der Repräsentation des Anthropozäns nehmen sie die sozio-politischen Konsequenzen in den Blick, welche die Erforschung des Anthropozäns nach sich zieht.

Anna Lowenhaupt Tsing ist Professorin für Anthropologie an der University of California, Santa Cruz. Zudem hat sie die Niels Bohr Professur an der Universität Aarhus inne und ist Direktorin des Aarhus University Research on the Anthropocene (AURA), einem langjährigen Partner des Anthropocene Curriculum. Sie ist die Autorin von Der Pilz am Ende der Welt. Über das Überleben in den Ruinen des Kapitalismus (deutsche Ausgabe, Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2018) und Friction: An Ethnography of Global Connection (2005) sowie Mitherausgeberin des Arts of Living on a Damaged Planet: Ghosts and Monsters of the Anthropocene (2017).

Bergit Arends ist Kuratorin und Wissenschaftlerin am Institut für Geographie der Royal Holloway, University of London und am Institut für Research & Public History der Science Museum Group. 2017 promovierte sie mit der Arbeit Contemporary Art, Archives and Environmental Change in the Age of the Anthropocene. Sie ist u. a. Kuratorin des Kunst/Natur Programms des Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin (2016-2018) und war Kuratorin für zeitgenössische Kunst am Natural History Museum, London (2005-2013). Sie studierte Curating am Royal College of Art, London, und erforscht die Interferenzen von Kunst und Wissenschaft, insbesondere die Environmental Humanities, bildende Kunst und kuratorische Praxis.

Die Anthropocene Lectures laden profilierte Akteur*innen der Anthropozändebatte dazu ein, das Konzept neu zu akzentuieren und weiterzudenken.

Die Reihe entsteht in Kooperation mit dem Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam, und dem Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin.