2018, Sun, Jan 07

Native Son

D: Pierre Chenal, 1951, 107 min, English original version

Pierre Chenal, Native Son, 1951. Film still | Preserved by The Library of Congress, U.S.

Pierre Chenal, Native Son, 1951. Film still | Preserved by The Library of Congress, U.S.

Richard Wright was one of the most outstanding literary figures of the 20th century and a key figure in the African-American emancipation movement. His landmark novel Native Son was published in 1940. It unfolds the drama of racism, through a harsh and searching narrative on the conditions of oppression and segregation that African-Americans were experiencing in the U.S.

Although the novel became a bestseller, and Wright and director Pierre Chenal wrote the screenplay in 1950, a film version of the book could not be completed in the U.S. because Hollywood producers wanted to have the African-American protagonist played by a white man. After trying to shoot in France and Italy, Argentina’s historic neutrality offered about the only possible location.
Native Son depicts the reverse of the “freedom” discourse, ultimately interrogating the promise of democracy. Beyond the Cold War binary of the East–West rivalry, Wright’s oeuvre and practice sought to empower the anti-colonial struggles connecting the battle against discrimination in the U.S. with the emancipatory political projects and communities of the Third World. Native Son remains an extraordinary example of filmmaking that engages with the Global South or South-to-South relational framework within the tightly woven net of exile and politics.

The presented copy is a 35mm work-in-progress version of the film currently undergoing restoration. Preserved by The Library of Congress, U.S.

Clara Masnatta (ICI Institute for Cultural Inquiry in Berlin) will introduce the film with her short talk: A Hot Spot in the Cold War: Buenos Aires, 1950.

So, 07. Januar 2018

Native Son

R: Pierre Chenal, 1951, 107 min, englische OV

Pierre Chenal, Native Son, 1951. Filmstill | Preserved by The Library of Congress, U.S.

Pierre Chenal, Native Son, 1951. Filmstill | Preserved by The Library of Congress, U.S.

Richard Wright war einer der herausragenden Vertreter der Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts und spielte eine Schlüsselrolle in der afroamerikanischen Emanzipationsbewegung. 1940 erschien sein bahnbrechender Roman Native Son: eine ungeschönte Erzählung über die Bedingungen der Unterdrückung und Segregation, die das Drama des Rassismus schildert, das Afroamerikaner*innen in den USA erlebten.

Native Son wurde zum Bestseller und sollte auf der Grundlage eines 1950 vom Autor selbst zusammen mit Regisseur Pierre Chenal verfassten Drehbuchs verfilmt werden. Allerdings fanden die Dreharbeiten nicht in den USA statt: Hollywood wollte, dass der afroamerikanische Held der Geschichte von einem Weißen gespielt würde. Nach Überlegungen, den Dreh nach Frankreich oder Italien zu verlegen, entschied man sich schließlich für das historisch neutrale Argentinien.

Native Son illustriert die Umkehrung des „Freiheits“-Diskurses und hinterfragt letztlich das Versprechen der Demokratie: Jenseits von Ost-West-Gegensätzen und -Rivalitäten des Kalten Krieges sollte Wrights Werk den antikolonialistischen Kampf stärken und eine Verbindung herstellen zwischen dem Widerstand gegen die Diskriminierung in den USA und den emanzipatorischen politischen Projekten und Communities der Dritten Welt. Native Son ist ein außergewöhnliches Beispiel für ein cineastisches Projekt, dass sich auf den Globalen Süden beziehungsweise die Süd-Süd-Beziehungen in einem eng gewebten Netz von Exil und Politik einlässt.

Gezeigt wird eine 35mm-Version des Films, als work in progress: Der Film wird aktuell restauriert. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von The Library of Congress, U.S.

Clara Masnatta (ICI Institute for Cultural Inquiry, Berlin) wird das Screening mit ihrem Kurzvortrag A Hot Spot in the Cold War: Buenos Aires, 1950, einführen.