2017, Fri, Oct 06

How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?

Ahmad Beydoun
Discursive Management of a Paralyzed System: Communitarianism in Lebanon
With simultaneous translation into German and English

In Lebanon, for a long time, the division of society along communitarian and confessional lines has played the major role in its sociopolitical system. Ahmad Beydoun examines the recent changes in the political economy of communitarian discourse in Lebanon: since just before the Civil War from 1975 to 1990, in a climate of deep distrust, the persistent institutionalization of each one of the religious communities in Lebanon has been compounded by the suppression of political competition. This phenomenon has considerably strengthened the community representatives while weakening and often paralyzing state power, yet not mitigating intercommunity rivalries. What can be concluded from such developments for the unity of a society that is based on multi-belonging?

Lina Majdalanie
Do I Know You?
French with German and English subtitles

Lina Majdalanie explores the origins and political, social, and ethical implications of prosopagnosia, which describes the inability to memorize and recognize faces. Based on her own experience of having difficulties with remembering faces, she questions the implications of prosopagnosia within a society, the political and historical legacies of which are entwined with the metaphorical narratives of the face itself: with Lebanon’s declaration of independence in 1943, the country was proclaimed as having an “Arab face.” Only later, in the post-war period, this narrative was altered into Lebanon being understood as a full-fledged “Arab country.” Intertwining the personal with the political, Majdalanie explores on what grounds strategies of identification, categorization, and recognition are being deployed or can happen.

Akram Zaatari
Dance and the Vernacular
English with simultaneous translation into German

The development of online diffusion platforms and the advent of accessible technologies allowed people to make their own images without the need of a photographer. Nowadays, the vernacular theater that used to unfold in a photographic studio and was registered on silver sensitized gelatin takes place on YouTube. If in the past people’s attitudes in the studio left us with photographic records including fashionable, popular and even iconic desired poses, they present us today with more than just single snapshots. If the first capitalized on the stillness of a single moment, the second capitalizes on body choreography and a time-based narrative. Akram Zaatari reflects on the concomitant recurring narratives that are found in YouTube videos of people recording themselves as “scripts” or simply a form of dance: such scripts are at once, ways of imagining oneself, of communicating to others, and of reacting to dominant images, social codes, and politics.

Part of How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?, curated by Rabih Mroué

Fr, 06. Oktober 2017

How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?

Ahmad Beydoun
Discursive Management of a Paralyzed System: Communitarianism in Lebanon
Französisch mit Simultanübersetzung deutsch-englisch

Lange Zeit war die Spaltung der Gesellschaft entlang kommunitärer und konfessioneller Linien der zentrale Faktor im soziopolitischen System des Libanon. In seinem Vortrag erkundet Ahmad Beydoun den aktuellen Wandel in der politischen Ökonomie dieses kommunitaristischen Diskurses. Er betrachtet die Zeit unmittelbar vor dem Bürgerkrieg der Jahre 1975 bis 1990, in der die Unterdrückung jeglichen politischen Wettbewerbs das von tiefem Misstrauen und dauerhafter Institutionalisierung der verschiedenen Religionsgemeinschaften geprägte Klima im Libanon noch anheizte. Profitiert haben davon vor allem die Vertreter*innen der jeweiligen Gruppierungen, die gestärkt aus diesem Prozess hervorgingen, während die Macht des Staats geschwächt, wenn nicht gar paralysiert wurde. Zum Abbau der Rivalität zwischen den einzelnen Gruppen führte diese Entwicklung definitiv nicht. Welche Schlussfolgerungen lassen sich daraus für die Einheit einer Gesellschaft ziehen, die in multipler Zugehörigkeit gründet?

Lina Majdalanie
Do I Know You?
Französisch mit deutsch-englischer Übertitelung

Lina Majdalanie erkundet die Ursprünge und die politischen, sozialen und ethischen Implikationen der Prosopagnosie – der Unfähigkeit, Gesichter zu erkennen und zu erinnern. Auf der Grundlage ihrer eigenen Erfahrung hinterfragt sie die Bedeutung dieses Phänomens mit Blick auf eine Gesellschaft, deren politisches und historisches Vermächtnis mit den Metaphern und Narrativen des Gesichts eng verwoben ist: In der libanesischen Unabhängigkeitserklärung aus dem Jahr 1943 proklamiert sich die Nation als Land mit einem „arabischen Antlitz“. Erst später, in der Nachkriegszeit wird dieses Narrativ modifiziert und der Libanon zum „arabischen Land“ erklärt. In der Verbindung des Persönlichen mit dem Politischen erörtert Majdalanie die Frage, auf welcher Grundlage Strategien der Identifikation, Kategorisierung und Anerkennung entstehen oder umgesetzt werden.

Akram Zaatari
Dance and the Vernacular
Englisch mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung

Niemand braucht mehr Fotograf*innen, um Bilder zu machen und sie zu verbreiten. Technik für alle und Online-Plattformen machen es möglich. Das traditionelle Zeremoniell der Aufnahme, das einst im Fotostudio stattfand und auf Silbergelatineplatten festgehalten wurde, findet sich heute auf YouTube wieder. Hielten die fotografischen Aufzeichnungen früher lediglich einen einzigen Augenblick modischer, populärer oder gar ikonischer Posen im Atelier fest, wird dieser Moment heute abgelöst von durchkomponierten Serien von mehr als nur einem einzelnen Schnappschuss. Sie erfassen vielmehr ganze Körperchoreografien und eine Erzählung in der Zeit. Akram Zaatari diskutiert solche wiederkehrenden Narrative in den YouTube-Videos von Personen, die sich selbst filmen als „Skripte“ oder als eine Form von Tanz. Diese Skripte sind zugleich Varianten der Selbstwahrnehmung, der Reaktion auf herrschende Bilder, soziale Codes und Politik.

Teil von How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?, kuratiert von Rabih Mroué